We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome dumplings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yang's Fried Dumplings

Yang's Fried Dumplings
97 Huanghe Road, Shanghai, China (People's Square)
021-53751793
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 11,640 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: People's Square
Mountain View, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Awesome dumplings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We went to 2 locations of Yang's dumplings. This one was located a few blocks north of Peoples Park (supposedly original shop). Ordered (menu has English descriptions under Chinese names), given receipt, walked over and got in line to pick up dumplings. Can also order other things made in the kitchen for which they will give you a number to put on your table. Dumplings are pan fried and sprinkled w sesame seeds. Very juicy and moist and excellent soup once you bite into them. Liked it so much, the next night went to the Ningbo Road shop and had more dumplings even though we were full!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    80
    16
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“XLB is the star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

You'll find it by their pink and white sign. They serve lots of stuff, but their soup dumplings are the star! Ordering was easy, service was fast and the dumplings were delicious. It's my number one rec for Shanghai XLB.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great pork and shrimp fried dumplings - close at 8pm!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Small hidden local joint amidst the busy side street makes these great dumplings. Fried and cooked with shrimp or pork.... Really great value for the price.

Please take into account that the place shuts down a bit after 8pm!!! Don't miss out!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan / London
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“I dream of these dumplings!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I never tire of these dumplings whenever I come to Shanghai.

Forget the restaurants themselves, the service (both below average), and the long queues, the dumplings are some of the tastiest street food I have ever tried. They are large balls of happiness: crunchy dumpling skin on one side, soft and sprinkled with sesame seeds on the other. Smother it with vinegar, bite into the skin and slurp some of the delicious soup inside before attacking the little meatball in the dumpling. And they are so so cheap: from memory you can get 4 large dumplings for just over £1.00.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Must try!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We visited the Yangs in Pudong, which is right next to the Aquarium...... Read good reviews about this place, and I must say the dumplings are delicious. They seem to churn our thousands of them, and there is good reason that this place is so popular. Definitely a must try if you are in Shanghai.... Tip : wait a little for them to cool down.... Between using chopsticks, and eating super hot dumplings, the people around must have been quite amused at my attempts....

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yang's Fried Dumplings also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Yang's Fried Dumplings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yang's Fried Dumplings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.