We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My oasis of calm in the chaos that is China.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai to your Saves list
Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1388 Huamu Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 201204, China (Century Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #11 of 3,987 Hotels in Shanghai
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“My oasis of calm in the chaos that is China.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I'm not going to lie, I'm in love with the Kerry. We live a few hours outside of Shanghai and when we need to venture into the city we stay at the Kerry and we are finding more and more excuses as to why we need to go into the city to justify yet another stay.
As I'm writing this I am here for our 5th or 6th stay in a two month period.

What they do well is everything.
Check in is quick and efficient both at the lobby reception desk and also in the club lounge.
The rooms are beautifully decorated in subdued tones (beige/blues/gray) and very comfortable with large beds, wonderful arm chairs with well placed reading lamps, iPod docking station, a lovely dining table and well stocked desk.
The amenities are L'Occitane and in ample supply.
We have ordered room service several times and every order has been delivered quickly and most important-delicious.
We have also tried BREW and COOK and were happy with both. There are also many other dining options in the Kerry Parkside Mall which is actually attached to the hotel so if you are here on a longer stay you will not get bored with what is available within a 2 minute walk.
We are lucky enough to stay on the club level and the club lounge serves a fabulous breakfast and a well stocked happy hour selection of food and cocktails. I must metion that there are gluten free baked goods available at breakfast which was cause for celebration for our family as our son does not eat gluten and typically we have to pack his food and bring from home but not when we stay at the Kerry!
My husband and I did try the spa which, while truly enjoying the massages, we found to be overpriced. Don't get me wrong, the therapist was fantastic but in Shanghai there are so many spas within walking distance to the hotel that it is difficult to justify paying 10 times the price for the same treatment you can get elsewhere. My husband likes to remind me that we are paying for the entire experience, the ambience. I have noticed that they are running a buy 1 get 50% off a second service so maybe they realize just how much competition is next door.
For us the piece de resistance is the Adventure Zone because when the child is happy the family is happy. And I have to admit, the adults love it too for two reasons, you can sit back and relax and watch your kid go crazy for a few hours or you can join in the fun and go down the massive(seriously) slides. The Adventure zone is a two story play area like nothing I've seen in Shanghai.
The pool is also great because there is a children's pool as well as an indoor lap pool and huge jacuzzi.
This is all typical of a 5 star hotel but where the Kerry really shines is it's staff. They are by far the nicest and most professional hotel staff we've come in contact with in a long time.
During our first stay we accidentally left our iPod on the docking station when we checked out and the Rooms Division Manager, Henry, had it personally delivered within the hour, to the opposite side of Shanghai to where my husband was in a meeting. We love Henry. We've since stayed several times and he is always helpful and genuinely gracious.
Another stay we forgot a diaper for our son(just in case of the overnight accident) and again within minutes they delivered one to our room at 8PM. Headache tablets-no problem, delivered to us at breakfast in a matter of minutes(speaking of, fantastic margaritas in BREW).
The staff in the Club Lounge are superb. Our son left his favorite teddy bear there and Monica brought it up to our room as soon as she spotted it. Myline arranged a fresh watermelon juice for our son at happy hour even though the staff were obviously very busy and watermelon juice was not an option. Laura is lovely and always helpful with our requests about what movies are showing or local events. I don't want to leave out the male staff members because they are just as delightful but I fail to remember their names!
To be fair I'm trying to come up with what they could work on and the only thing I can think of is more help from the porters upon arrival. We are typically dropped off on the curb at the front door and only sometimes are we met by a porter. Typically I am stuck dragging in luggage and a 4 year old (through a revolving door) but as soon as I get into the lobby the porters rush to help.
We are leaving tomorrow and I'm already thinking about the next visit!
I highly recommend the Kerry for both business and pleasure.

Room Tip: We are now staying on the 31st floor and there is a loud intermittent mechanical noise that I have n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    151
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
61
23
10
491
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aoyama Dori and San Jose
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed her on business and couldn't be more pleased with the location and convenience to my office and the customer's site. Taxi fare is very cheap in Shanghai compared to other major cities so getting around is not a problem. The room was quite large and very well furnished. The only top-tier amenity missing was a washlet toilet seat which frankly surprised me for a hotel of this class in Asia. Everything else about the facility was top-tier. The upscale mall on the first and lower levels has many convenient dining choices.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Positives first- hotel staff are terrific and have had excellent training. Very friendly and willing to help you any time you ask. Limited mini-bar in each room with free snacks, sodas and juices, nice touch.

Fanstastic gym, you can not do any better anywhere.

Location is not central but if you are going to the convention center this is the most convenient hotel. Subway is in the basement of the shopping mall which runs through the building on level 2 and convenient enough once you know. The staff ask you to exit the hotel on the ground floor and walk through a construction area which is less obvious.

Less than positive- steak restaurant is very expensive but most of our food was quite ordinary, especially sides and salads. One of us ordered the cod which was absolutely excellent and the best choice, the steaks were greasy as if they were pan fried. We ordered a bottle of white wine for the cod and very oddly they did not wrap it in a linen napkin. Every time it was poured water dripped on the food! We unsuccessfuly pointed this out twice and wrapped it ourselves. At over 700 yuan per person they could do a little better.

Breakfast was good, no issues but also not outstanding in any way.

Room was comfortable but pretty simple, bed was very nice. However having stayed at 20 or more Shangri-La properties, I was not that impressed with the room or the bathroom amenties.

Unless your business is in the vicinity, you can do much better in Shanghai for the same money. Otherwise it is fine for a short stay, but no great bargain for what you get.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Since opening I am nearly every month a few days in Kerry hotel.
I prefer a quiet location and best service, both I find there. The staff are very handsame and friendly, and the free use of the minibar articles is unique. Also the size and cleanness of the rooms is excellent.

Room Tip: Get Golden Circle member before you stay in a Shangri La Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I have had the opportunity to stay at the Kerry 4 times now and each time I discover more. From the state of the art Fitness Center, Child activiity center, to the Mall conected to the hotel, all you need for a great stay in Shanghai is here. The hotel staff is remarkable. The food & beverage locations are dynomite within the hotel, as is the access to other f&b locations in the mall and surrounding area. Having a metro hub right at the hotel is a HUGE plus and makes getting around Shanghai very easy. I look forward to my next trip!

Room Tip: All rooms are great, some of the corner rooms offer additional windows and broader views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Spent a week at the Kerry Hotel on Business. From when I checked in until I checked out the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was very nice with lots of room. The view from the 23rd floor overlooking Century Park was very nice when the weather allowed. Breakfast was very good with a large variety of food choices. My favorite place was "The Brew", an onsite microbewery with 6 beers and live music. A very nice place to relax.
It is conviently located at the end of Metro line 7 and a short walk to Meihua street. It was a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Request a high level room overlooking Century Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Our first experience in Shanghai was delightful, and the Kerry Hotel was no stranger to this. From the moment we stepped out of the airport arrival lounge to our farewell to Shanghai, the hotel has covered all our desires.. The airport transfer, the greetings from everyone in the reception area every day, the comfortable room with a view of the skyscrapers, the wonderful restaurants and shopping boutiques, the very efficient personnel on our floor, all this combined created an unforgettable experience. Without a doubt, a 5 star performance for the Kerry Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor with a view on the Pudong financial district and Century Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Century Park
Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#5 of 3,987 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#114 of 3,987 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai

Address: No.1388 Huamu Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 201204, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Century Park , Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 3,987 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 574
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flowing seamlessly within the new Kerry Parkside complex, integrating the hotel with an office tower, serviced residences and lifestyle retail mall, Kerry Hotel Pudong, Shanghai is located in the heart of Pudong, opposite Century Park, the largest eco-park in Shanghai. While directly connected to the Shanghai New International Expo Center (SNIEC), the hotel is easily accessible to the rest of the Shanghai metropolis via the underground metro within the complex. Pudong International Airport is 30 minutes away by car and 15 minutes away by Maglev train. The hotel's 574 rooms and suites, most with expansive Century Park views, are designed for optimum ease in work rest and leisure, with complimentary broadband and wireless internet access. For those seeking a more personalised experience, The Club offers seven floors of exclusive accommodation, access to the Club Lounge, complimentary daily breakfasts, evening cocktails, express check-in and check-out, butler and concierge service and host of other privileges. Anchoring the hotel's lifestyle experience is an innovative three-in-one integrated destination for dining, entertaining and socialising: The COOK (international ala carte with open kitchens and gourmet deli), The MEET (steakhouse and grill) and The BREW (craft brewery). Kerry Sports, spanning 6,000 square metres across three levels, comprises a 24-hour fitness centre, an indoor swimming pool, a wellness spa, outdoor tennis court and basketball court, studios for yoga (including hot yoga), pilates, spinning, boxing and aerobics, and the Adventure Zone, an indoor children's playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.