We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Friendly Staff, 5 Star cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai to your Saves list
Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1388 Huamu Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 201204, China (Shanghai New International Expo Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #8 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Location, Friendly Staff, 5 Star cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Kerry Hotel is located next to International Expo Center. I love this hotel for several reasons:

a. most spacious and sophisticated gymj
b. really friendly staff
c. nice cuisine - various counters for dinner
d. bills can be settled in foreign currency by credit card
e. special treatment to golden circle members

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    122
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
52
20
9
400
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

This was a very good hotel. Room was good and the fitness center might be the best I have ever used. Nice choice of restaurants--excellent breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011 via mobile

The Kerry Shangrila Pudong Shanghai is truly one of the best business hotels in Asia. The facilities are what one would expect from the Shangrila brand hotels. Would strongly recommend this hotel to business travelers visiting Shanghai.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

staying in kerry hotel is best if you're going to sniec to attend an exhibit. the hotel is just beside the entrance of the sniec so you don't need to take a taxi or subway to reach the exhibit. the hotel itself is 1st rate. just like any shangrila hotel. our room was very clean and quite new. the breakfast buffet is also very good with a wide range of food to choose from. the mall beside the hotel is also nice. there are many restaurants inside the mall as well. i will certainly stay at this hotel if ever i come back to attend an exhibit at the sniec.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Located very close to the new convention center and to a new western style shopping center, the hotel will appeal much more to business travelers looking for convenience than to tourists looking for oriental charm.

Easy access from pudong airport by taxi, very close to a subway station.
The hotel is brand new, clean and offers all amenities expected from a 4-5 star. Rooms are large, comfortable and very quiet. Breakfast buffet is excellent though crowded at rush hour.
Lobby is design, trendy style and bathed in a permanent lounge music that has no local flavor. It is rather small in comparison with your typical imposing luxury Chinese luxury hotels but that is a good thing if you are there for efficient business and not for a wedding! Western style bars and restaurants on the ground floor.

Efficient, free wifi accessible all around the hotel . Free mini bar juices and other details that make your business stay great, but again I would not spend holidays there for you could be anywhere but in China....

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Travelled to Shanghai to attend a 3 day conference at the SNIEC. If you are going to attend this magnificent venue, you simply have to stay at this hotel.

Time for a small complaint - I was put in a smoking room when I think a non-smoking room was requested. The hotel was very busy when we checked in, so I didn't say anything, maybe I should have. But regardless, 3 nights at this hotel was till very enjoyable.

The free mini bar was great and the choice of food in the hotel is magnificent. I doubt it is in a good location for tourism, which is kind of a shame.

I will definately go back to this hotel for work. For a business trip I simply couldnt fault it.

Room Tip: Perhaps call in advance to ensure you get non-smoking room if so required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAKARTA
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
476 helpful votes 476 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

This is the 2nd Shangri-la in Shanghai, and the second one located in the vibrant business distract of Pudong. It’s a business hotel, with good rates and packages. It has just been opened for 6 months. I tried it for 4 nights on a week long business trip.

Arriving

My room rate includes among other perks round trip airport transfer. I was picked up by a Mercedes E Class. As I am the last passenger that they picked up, the airport attendant asked to follow the car back to the hotel. A strange request which I find inappropriate but nevertheless, I agree. On arriving at the hotel, I was escorted to the room for in-room check-in. The hotel staff that escorted me to my room further inform me that the minibar is also free ( but no alcoholic stuff ). Good to know.


The Room

The room has a basic layout, which is the bathroom, the working area and bed/sleeping quarters. The verandah like design enclosed the window area with a mini-bar area that I think is a great idea as an impromptu meeting space and having a drink to chill out.

The hotel room is clearly designed with the business traveler in mind. Wireless Internet is not only free but blazingly fast and very convenient to setup. Basically, all Shangri-la have free internet property-wide and there is no login or registration process to bother with. Also a boom for business traveler is that there is a large, well lid working desk and lots of plugs around the room, including both at the workdesk and also at the bedside, and for added convenience, they are all multi-interface plugs that fits lots of different plugs. I just hate hotel rooms with limited plugs.

The bathroom is basic, with a deep soaking shower and a shower stand enclosed in a wet room. Water pressure is adequate and bathrobes are fluffy. L’occitene toiletries provided for club room. Air condition works well and the room is very quiet. The only drawback of the room is the bed. I find the bed hard and the quality of the linens lacking, more 4-star than 5-star.


Common Areas and location.

There isn’t much to differentiate this hotel common areas from the numerous 5-star offerings in Shanghai. Shanghai is a city where new hotels seems to multiply by leaps and bounds.

I booked a club room and have access to the club lounge. The club lounge is large and covers one side of an entire floor. There are numerous sitting areas for impromptu meetings, a large area for serving food and a wide selection of food and beverages. Quality and portions of food are generous. There are also many work stations featuring latest PCs and Macs for guests to access internet or print documents. I had most of my business meetings in the club lounge.

The gym is a real surprise. It the largest and most well equipped gym I have ever seen in any hotel. Almost every conceivable exercising equipment is here. There is also a large indoor swimming pool complete with Jacuzzi pool. There is also a Jacuzzi in the changing room which is very relaxing.

The café at the ground floor is “The Cook” which serves a huge selection of breakfast goodies, in particular the pastries were excellent. For dinner though, I find the food is over-priced and food quality mediocre.

The hotel is right opposite the large Century Park and both the new Shanghai Exhibition Centre and subway station are a short walk away. There is a mall connected to the hotel with some restaurants and shops. Basically, as many here have already pointed out, the location caters to the business traveler more than leisure travelers.


Service

Service in general is attentive and quick and as a newly opened hotel, most staff tried to do their best to make guest feels comfortable. I do find the club lounge staff to be a bit indifferent. Another annoying issue that keeps popping up is laundry service. Housekeeping staff will literately scrutinize all clothing and any small defects will be rejected for laundry unless I signed an “indemnity form” acknowledging that the item was defective prior washing. While I can understand the hotel is trying to indemnify itself against guests complains, this can be quite irritating at times especially my stay was quite long.

Also, I booked an airport pickup from train station with the hotel on my return trip and again the attendant insist to follow the car. Since there were three of us, including myself and two colleagues, end up we have to cram 3 persons at the back which makes the ride uncomfortable. A small issue but the hotel I think should avoid doing this again.

Other than that, there is nothing much to find fault with.


Conclusion

The Shangri-la is a mid-level 5-star hotel which delivers exception value for the price, especially when bundled with the club access. I recommend to book the Value Package which include round trip airport transfer and unlimited laundry along with perks like club lounge access, free daily use of meeting room, free minibar and of course free internet. I don’t mind coming back again and am pleased to rate the hotel a 4 out of 5.

Room Tip: Book the value rate package
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai

Address: No.1388 Huamu Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 201204, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 574
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flowing seamlessly within the new Kerry Parkside complex, integrating the hotel with an office tower, serviced residences and lifestyle retail mall, Kerry Hotel Pudong, Shanghai is located in the heart of Pudong, opposite Century Park, the largest eco-park in Shanghai. While directly connected to the Shanghai New International Expo Center (SNIEC), the hotel is easily accessible to the rest of the Shanghai metropolis via the underground metro within the complex. Pudong International Airport is 30 minutes away by car and 15 minutes away by Maglev train. The hotel's 574 rooms and suites, most with expansive Century Park views, are designed for optimum ease in work rest and leisure, with complimentary broadband and wireless internet access. For those seeking a more personalised experience, The Club offers seven floors of exclusive accommodation, access to the Club Lounge, complimentary daily breakfasts, evening cocktails, express check-in and check-out, butler and concierge service and host of other privileges. Anchoring the hotel's lifestyle experience is an innovative three-in-one integrated destination for dining, entertaining and socialising: The COOK (international ala carte with open kitchens and gourmet deli), The MEET (steakhouse and grill) and The BREW (craft brewery). Kerry Sports, spanning 6,000 square metres across three levels, comprises a 24-hour fitness centre, an indoor swimming pool, a wellness spa, outdoor tennis court and basketball court, studios for yoga (including hot yoga), pilates, spinning, boxing and aerobics, and the Adventure Zone, an indoor children's playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.