We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shanghai Pathways-Private One-day and Walking Tours

Shanghai Pathways-Private One-day and Walking Tours
Jufengyuan Road Lane 188, Shanghai 200444, China
18917939860
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #5 of 112 activities in Shanghai
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: If you want unique & authentic tours to see the real Shanghai, come join us! We take you behind the scenes of a destination to reveal it's hidden gems and appreciate the Chinese culture. We believe this is the perfect style of travel experience for those who want to get off the beaten path and really connect with the destination. With English speaking Chinese guides who lives in Shanghai, you are assured a real local experience. The experience can be as short as a couple of hours, or a whole day, but in every case we will take you to interesting places to meet locals, and really see what makes the place tick.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I greatly enjoyed spending two full days in Shanghai touring with Janny. She came highly recommended by good friends and met or exceeded all my expectations. She tailored an itinerary to meet my interests including street food, dumplings, noodles, wedding market, bird and cricket market, wet market, tea room, archive museum, street market and more. Her recommendations for a hotel and evening entertainment were spot on. She commands several languages including English and relates well to natives as well as tourists. Doing business with her company was straight forward and easy. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    15
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Jewish Quarter Walking Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

When we arrived in Shanghai, i remembered that i hadn't made contact with the company regarding our meeting place so i called the company quite late one afternoon and the phone was answered immediately. They sent me very clear instructions by e-mail immediately. Our guide, Janny, was waiting for us at our meeting place as arranged. She spoke perfect English and guided us through a very informative tour of the Jewish Quarter, at our pace. She was so kind and was happy for us to stop and speak with locals and answered all our questions about life in China now and in the past. I would highly recommend Shanghai Pathways walking tours.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We had a lovely afternoon with Mary from this company recently. We booked a four hour tour. We were met at our hotel after a very professional booking service.
We were shown highlights like the Bund area, Peace Hotel, Old City, Confucius Temple, Peoples Square and the French concessions area. Also she pointed out some ideal shopping areas.
All in all she is a very competent guide with good English and knowledge of her city.
I would recommend this company based on my experience.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Tour Guide in China”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I recently had the pleasure of being guided by Janny, the owner of the company. She has tons of energy, speaks excellent English and understands exactly what you want and will deliver. I also went to great restaurants which she selected based on my preferences. While I didn't want a real dive, I did want to experience a high end Chinese place where locals go. She found two excellent places. The ambience was extraordinary.

She is smart, easy going, and sweet. You can't go wrong.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Jewish Quarter of Shanghai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had arranged to have a tour of the Jewish Quarter of Shanghai, unfortunately we could not find the meeting place and arrived 40 minutes late, we contacted Janny by phone and she assured us not to worry our guide Zoe would still be waiting and she was and more importantly with a big smile on her face. The tour was excellent and Zoe was a wonderful guide. We visited the Synagogue and the ghetto, she was very knowledgeable and made the whole experience very enjoyable.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shanghai Pathways-Private One-day and Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanghai Pathways-Private One-day and Walking Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Shanghai Pathways-Private One-day and Walking Tours to your Saves list