We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to brilliant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maya

Maya
No.568 Julu Road,Shanghai Grand Plaza Club House 2F, Shanghai, China (Jing'an Temple)
021-62896889
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 12,564 Restaurants in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 172 Reviews
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Jing'an Temple
County Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Back to brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

This was a regular haunt of mine when I lived in Shanghai but my last visit was a touch disappointing. The management replied with an apology (always a good sign) so I made a point of going back during my last trip to Shanghai and the meal was fantastic as was the service. If you are looking for Mexican food with a twist this is the place to go in Shanghai!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    57
    20
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best South of the Border in Shanghai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We miss Mexican food the most while living in Shanghai. This nearly hits the spot. Tacos are good, nice happy-hour but the coconut flan is worth going for!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I honestly wish I would find one extraordinary place to eat in shanghai. Went there for brunch. Got there at 10:50 but they open at 11 so we were told to wait outside.The food was ok. The pictures of the food in one of the magazines looked much better than the actual food.. Do not recommend the churros.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Amazing Mexican Food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Went here with a group of friends on a Saturday night. Was busy but we had a reservation. The actual restaurant is in a housing compound and seems rather strange at first. Would be hard to find if you had not been there before. Thought we were walking into a hotel or something. However once in the restaurant the deco is very warm and welcoming. We ordered a number of different dishes to share but I only had the chicken and cilantro quesidillas as a starter. These were AMAZING. Could be the nicest I have ever had! Would go back to Maya just for them. As a main we had the Mexican meat balls and rice. These were ok not too special but enjoyable. The service was very good and the staff were very attentive. I shared a jug of the mango margarita which was very nice too. You can get 3/4 glasses out of a jug costing 300rmb so quite good value. I really enjoyed the meal at Maya and for sure will go back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
“Consistently great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I've been to maya maybe 6 or 7 times over 3 or 4 years and it's ALWAYS a great experience. The food is top-notch - the spicy cacerola must be one of the best winter food dishes in the world, certainly in Shanghai. The manager Rob is a great host and runs a great team with many faces familiar on each visit (no mean feat in Shanghai). The jugs or margarita are good and seem to have no cheapo tequila used (based on the next morning). Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.