We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loving this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Hotel City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Hotel City Centre to your Saves list
Marriott Hotel City Centre
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.555 Xizang Middle Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #25 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loving this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

So here I am at the shanghai Marriott
Have been here on business and at a conference. both as a guest and conference attendee this hotel has been terrific . Conference amenities are excellent
The gym is great, the food is fresh fresh fresh
The staff are attentive and always happy.

After a long day out I find myself looking forward to getting back to the hotel- not something I have ever experienced before
Good one Marriott

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    149
    30
    12
    5
See reviews for
88
86
28
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

On business It is close to shops, no noise from the busy streets in your room, surrounded By very god restaurants. Staff are friendly and English is spoken. The one bad thing is the high prices of beer at the hotel bar.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Overall, it was really good. I am actually writing this review from the exec lounge where it is a good place to relax, have a cup of tea and rest. The location is fantastic and the room is very comfortable. The swimming pool is very nice too. Exec lounge was ok generally.

We did not have a pleasant experience during check in though. The guy named Gary took forever to locate our booking and was confused about the details of our booking. When we eventually had to give him a print out of our booking (which we never had to in other five star hotels), he wanted to keep it as a proof of our booking. Why? We asked if he has any record of our booking in the system. He said yes. Then what is the problem? Even with the print out, he had problem confirming the requirement of our booking. He said he needs to check with his manager about breakfast(which seems totally ridiculous to me as everything is clearly written in the booking). Of course, he did not get back to us as we had no idea what he needed to check in the first place. This is simply not good enough in a five star hotel. We were tired when we checked in. The hotel promised express check in for exec room but it did not happen. It was so different from the five start hotel we checked in in Beijing. We were in the exec lounge with drinks while checking in. Anyway, the only complaint is the check in process. We did not expect to have to tell the receptionist what sort of benefits we are entitled to. Not in a Marriot Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-CIty-Centre, General Manager at Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to share with us your recent experience at the Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre. We take all reviews very seriously and we'd like to assure you that we are investigating into your comments about your check in experience. Your feedback is highly valued and will be used to help us make improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I was in Shanghai for business, arriving on the day of F1 qualifying (Saturday). The concierge sorted me a ticket and a driver to take me within 1 hr of check-in, and the driver waited and returned me after the final track race! Nothing too much trouble, executive lounge excellent in choice and portions.i had an executive room, not cheap @ RMB1940, but well worth it! Negatives..... Not many, but a couple of bar staff needed to have better English language skills - but they tried at least! Hated the fact they charge for internet even in executive rooms, free for marriott card members. Will go back!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Fab location, most things are a 15 min walk, or a 15 RMB taxi ride. Room is perfect, ex lounge is gorgeous, plenty of free food & free drink( if you are an elite member of their program.) staff too nice, great gym & pool. Can't be any happier!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Love this hotel so much.
Service is great , club lounge was just what I needed after a long 2 wks working in china. Pool os beautiful, nice gym.
Walking distance to nanjing road and ppls sq train. I will definitely be staying here every time I visit shanghai.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very nice with hotel staff speaking English well. The location is convenient to People's Square, metro, restaurants and shopping. The only issue was that it took 20 minutes one morning at peak time to get a taxi.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Hotel City Centre

Address: No.555 Xizang Middle Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Hotel City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 18th and largest hotel from Marriott International in Shanghai has opened its doors in the heart of the city centre. The 720 guest room Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre stands out as a flagship hotel for the Marriott Hotels and Resorts brand in China. Offering unmatched hospitality, an unbeatable location and state-of-the-art contemporary amenities, the 39-storey hotel features five unique dining destinations and more than 2,000 sqm of dedicated event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Hotel City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.