We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not ideal for business traveler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Hotel City Centre

Save Saved
You added Marriott Hotel City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott Hotel City Centre
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.555 Xizang Middle Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #33 of 3,845 Hotels in Shanghai
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not ideal for business traveler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel is very modern and clean since it is relatively new (built in 2011). However, as a business traveler, I would not be recommending it because it failed on one very important thing: to provide adequate Internet access to its customers. Although the hotel provides free Internet access, the access is so slow that I had a really hard time just doing emails. Internet access is the lifeline for all business travelers. You can skimp on a big TV, but you need to provide fast Internet access.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-CIty-Centre, General Manager at Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel facilities and your feedback about the internet speed during your recent experience at the Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre. Your comments will be used to help us make improvements in our service and we are investigating the reason for the slow internet service you experienced during your stay.

We look forward to your next stay at the Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    131
    28
    11
    5
See reviews for
81
69
27
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I ended up staying at the Shanghai Marriott City Centre recently on a business visit. The location is very good. quite close tot he Bund area and within easy taxi distance to most places that I had to visit in Shanghai. Service levels were good and the restaurant options are diverse and good. The gym is of high standard as seems to be the pool even though I did not use it. A bit on the pricier side. The club facilities left somewhat to be desired.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Marriott Hotel City Centre Shanghai is a very new hotel, when I visited the hotel it had just opened; rooms are spacious and well equipped. The only problem is language not all speak English or can understand you well. The best way is to call the concierge who are well spoken and will help you translate the requirement to other departments in the local language.

When you step out the hotel don’t forget to take the hotel address and location in Chinese, the hotel has a card printed for this purpose which is a really great thought.

Location is quite central and is close to shopping areas

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Excellent hotel in a terrific location. The hotel is new, having only opened in November 2011. Staff were very helpful and courteous. Hotel room was spacious, clean, well equipped and had a great view of the city. English is generally well spoken and the Concierge will help with local information, maps and ordering larger taxis (if you have a lot of people or luggage). The hotel is close to the Nanjing Pedestrian shopping precinct, the Metro and the Big Bus Tours stop. The gym is adequate with a good sauna and steam room. The Executive floor breakfast was far more than the "Continental" breakfast advertised. So, if you have Marriott status or pay extra, take advantage of this.The Executive lounge was well stocked with breakfast food (including eggs cooked to order), soft drinks and juices all day long and heavy canapes in the evening. Happy hour there is from 5:50pm to 9:30pm! In the adjacent newly opened mall, there are some good restaurants, good food and good price, on the second and third floors.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

While this hotel has some strengths, it is not my favorite in Shanghai so far. No one con was a dealbreaker, but overall it was not my best hotel stay.

Pros: The location is good if you want to be near to People's Square.
The room itself was clean and generally comfortable. The bathroom was a good size, and the shower and tub were nice.

The spa had a great special when I arrived - aromatherapy massage, facial, and body scrub for 588 yuan - for about 2 hours of relaxation I thought that was a good rate!

I booked airport transfers through the hotel - my driver on the way to the airport was fantastic, very friendly and professional.

Cons:

The design of the hotel is rather tall and narrow, so everything is stacked on top of each other -this means there aren't any really grand/striking areas or places to congregate. There is a lounge but it does not really create a warm environment. The lifts get very busy (I was staying on a high floor, there was often a wait.

When I arrived, one of the night lights under a nightstand would not turn off. I had to request an electrician to come and fix it, which was looked after quickly.
The health centre is quite small for the size of the hotel, and variety of equipment is limited (but it is clean).

The doorways to the corridor were not well insulated, so you could clearly hear guests having loud conversations if they were in the hall - same for when housekeeping was making their way up and down the hallway announcing themselves to guests.

The breakfast had a fairly good variety of items, but the service was not that great - I sometimes had to wait to get seated (even though tables were not full) and when I did I did not always receive a placemat/napkin/cutlery, so I'd have to go get them from other tables

I am a Marriott Rewards Member and provided my number at time of booking- however they tried to charge me for internet on my bill until I queried what the charge was- then it was quickly removed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Hotel is new and impressive as a 4 start hotel in Asia (not really 5 as they claim). The staff is eager to assist from front desk to concierge to lounge staff wi.th the exception of the restaurant, which is just terrible. As Gold member, I was upgraded to very nice large corner room and given lounge access with the option of breakfast in the main restaurant too. The lounge is very large with excellent staff ready to assist with whatever you need with very good English skills. The variety and quality of food was excellent particularly compared with a U.S. Marriott lounge, which I usually find worthless. The front desk staff jumped through hoops without me asking when they couldn't find my reservation. Again, all had excellent English skills (avoiding any communication frustrations) and were there to assist and solve problems, not create problems. There was more than enough staff everywhere to assist guests, which I was surprised to find at other properties was not always the case given that where wages are low, additional staff seems to be the norm. The health club was very good with a great indoor pool and jacuzzi and separate locker rooms with sauna and steam rooms. What I learned on this trip is that when the Chineese say something closes at say 10pm, what they mean is they will try and lock the door at that and thus will need to be cleaning up and getting you out prior to then. Although this was true in the health club, the restaurant was the worst. I think breakfast allegedly ends at 10 or 10:30. They will seat you if you show up 15 minutes before this time, but half the food will have been taken away, the guy making eggs may have already cleaned and vacated his station, and those items are just not available to you. Most appalling to me was that they charged nearly $30 and still treated guests this way. Mentally I understand that stems from communism, but within an American hotel charging these prices I would have thought management would retrain staff who wish to work here as they have in the rest of the hotel. If you show up early enough, there is an extensive offering of food especially if you want to try a huge variety of Asian breakfast items. If you're looking for American fare, it is sufficient, but no better than any 3 star hotel breakfast with cold waffles or french toast, a few pastries, cereal and an egg station. The hotel is very close to the pedestrian zone and is walkable, but a bid of a distance to the bund. We found ourselves taking a cab almost everywhere and never tried the subway as we had limited time. Cabs are cheap and we never experienced a problem w/ one not wanting to use the meter or having a tampered with meter that charged us more than we thouht was normal. Most rides will be well under $10 even if 20+ minutes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-CIty-Centre, General Manager at Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback about our hotel. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and our hotel facilities. We highly value all feedback and your comments will be used to help us make improvements in our service.

We look forward to your next stay at the Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our family of six (mum/ dad and four kids) just finished a 16-day China trip with three nights here. We had two rooms on levels 29/30. Hotel location is absolutely perfect. 2mins walk to Nanjing Rd, 20mins walk to Bund, 7min cab to French Concession. Hotel facilities and rooms were sparkling clean and luxurious. Staff was very helpful. Beautiful indoor pool and lovely breakfasts in the Cafe Bistro. Only less than perfect comment is that the dinner buffet which we had on our last night was expensive though the meal was just average.

Room Tip: Go high as the views are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Hotel City Centre

Address: No.555 Xizang Middle Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 3,845 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Hotel City Centre 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 18th and largest hotel from Marriott International in Shanghai has opened its doors in the heart of the city centre. The 720 guest room Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre stands out as a flagship hotel for the Marriott Hotels and Resorts brand in China. Offering unmatched hospitality, an unbeatable location and state-of-the-art contemporary amenities, the 39-storey hotel features five unique dining destinations and more than 2,000 sqm of dedicated event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Ctrip DaoDao, Orbitz, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Hotel City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.