We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new hotel, okay location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Hotel City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Hotel City Centre to your Saves list
Marriott Hotel City Centre
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.555 Xizang Middle Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #26 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 566 Reviews
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great new hotel, okay location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Hotel is new and impressive as a 4 start hotel in Asia (not really 5 as they claim). The staff is eager to assist from front desk to concierge to lounge staff wi.th the exception of the restaurant, which is just terrible. As Gold member, I was upgraded to very nice large corner room and given lounge access with the option of breakfast in the main restaurant too. The lounge is very large with excellent staff ready to assist with whatever you need with very good English skills. The variety and quality of food was excellent particularly compared with a U.S. Marriott lounge, which I usually find worthless. The front desk staff jumped through hoops without me asking when they couldn't find my reservation. Again, all had excellent English skills (avoiding any communication frustrations) and were there to assist and solve problems, not create problems. There was more than enough staff everywhere to assist guests, which I was surprised to find at other properties was not always the case given that where wages are low, additional staff seems to be the norm. The health club was very good with a great indoor pool and jacuzzi and separate locker rooms with sauna and steam rooms. What I learned on this trip is that when the Chineese say something closes at say 10pm, what they mean is they will try and lock the door at that and thus will need to be cleaning up and getting you out prior to then. Although this was true in the health club, the restaurant was the worst. I think breakfast allegedly ends at 10 or 10:30. They will seat you if you show up 15 minutes before this time, but half the food will have been taken away, the guy making eggs may have already cleaned and vacated his station, and those items are just not available to you. Most appalling to me was that they charged nearly $30 and still treated guests this way. Mentally I understand that stems from communism, but within an American hotel charging these prices I would have thought management would retrain staff who wish to work here as they have in the rest of the hotel. If you show up early enough, there is an extensive offering of food especially if you want to try a huge variety of Asian breakfast items. If you're looking for American fare, it is sufficient, but no better than any 3 star hotel breakfast with cold waffles or french toast, a few pastries, cereal and an egg station. The hotel is very close to the pedestrian zone and is walkable, but a bid of a distance to the bund. We found ourselves taking a cab almost everywhere and never tried the subway as we had limited time. Cabs are cheap and we never experienced a problem w/ one not wanting to use the meter or having a tampered with meter that charged us more than we thouht was normal. Most rides will be well under $10 even if 20+ minutes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-CIty-Centre, General Manager at Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback about our hotel. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and our hotel facilities. We highly value all feedback and your comments will be used to help us make improvements in our service.

We look forward to your next stay at the Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    150
    30
    12
    5
See reviews for
88
87
28
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our family of six (mum/ dad and four kids) just finished a 16-day China trip with three nights here. We had two rooms on levels 29/30. Hotel location is absolutely perfect. 2mins walk to Nanjing Rd, 20mins walk to Bund, 7min cab to French Concession. Hotel facilities and rooms were sparkling clean and luxurious. Staff was very helpful. Beautiful indoor pool and lovely breakfasts in the Cafe Bistro. Only less than perfect comment is that the dinner buffet which we had on our last night was expensive though the meal was just average.

Room Tip: Go high as the views are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My family and I stayed are currently staying here for a total of 6 nights. We booked our rooms (one twin and one king config) online about 3 months ago through the Marriott website and are also reward members, which allows you to access wifi for free.

We arrived at the hotel at 12pm and was told our rooms were not ready, that check-in was normally at 2pm, and recommended we have lunch nearby. This was fine for us as we were all hungry. We got back at 2pm and our rooms were ready at 230pm.

Pros - The rooms and bathrooms are nice itself - clean and comfortable bed (however they use odd shaped square-ish big pillows). Good location, walking distance to shops and public transport, english speaking staff, nice gym and quiet pool (apparently because there was an accident last year as it is unmanned).

My room (twin config) - we were put on level 31 next to the elevator which makes a ridiculously loud noise every time someone comes up (very often). The a/c had a strong rotten musty smell which was the worst problem, so we requested for a change the next morning. We requested for a room away from the elevator and said they would try. At night we moved up to level 32, next to the elevator. Again the room's a/c had a very strong musty smell (the bellboy and concierge agreed) and requested for another change. We talked to the manager, she apologised and tried to find another room for us, but said all rooms were booked out. She asked if we want fruits or a bottle of wine for our inconvenience. She also said we would get free wifi, i told her we were Marriott reward members, she said we were getting charged for wifi previously and would waive it.

We've complained about the a/c problem still but haven't heard back from the manager, and have been staying in the same room without a/c for the remainder of the 4 nights (uncomfortable when the meter says it's 27.5 degrees Celsius).

We also complained about how other guests were playing music extremely loud at 3am in the morning, and arguing in the elevator waiting area, but staff failed to act promptly and attentively - problems were solved itself and by us intervening after waiting some time.

Other room (king config). Similar problem, room was fine until 3rd night when a sulphurous smell (rotten egg) was let off on the entire floor and rooms. My parents requested for a change and got put on a smaller room on the 18th level.

Overall, terrible experience we have had staying here. Has really put me off staying at the Marriott group hotels for now. Service and quality has been well below standard for a 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-CIty-Centre, General Manager at Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you very much for taking time to share with us your recent experience at the Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre. We take all reviews very seriously and we'd like to assure you that we are investigating into your comments. Your feedback is highly valued and will be used to help us make improvements. We will be in touch with you separately by email on our findings.

Again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicenza
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I spend 5 days in this hotel and i really enjoyed. Fantastic view By night! The swimming pool was open till 11 pm and the SPA till 2 am: great for jet leg! Breakfast was really delicious and international. The Only negative thing was that my no smoking room smell like a smoking room.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Me and my wife stayed for 3 nights. Got cornered room (26th floor), king size bed and can view two side of shanghai. Hotel front desk are totally helpful especially when i need help for advice and to write certain places in chinese word. As for breakfast, i didn't take any as its may not halal food. Wifi is free for the guest room. I didn't try any spa or swimming pool or gym as my daily schedule are packed. The price may not cheap but its payoff.

Room Tip: Ask for corner suites, as higher as you can afford to
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The first thing I'll write about this particular hotel is that their breakfast is great. If you have status with Marriott, definitely go up to their Executive lounge to partake in their breakfast. The lounge has great views of the city with food that will get you ready to go for the day.

The room I received was your average Marriott room, so I can't say much on that front. It was quiet, comfortable and I couldn't hear the sounds from next door.

The massage in the spa wasn't the greatest and I found it to be a bit on the pricey side. I would probably check out some of the other Marriott locations the next time I'm in Shanghai.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Could not ask for a better located hotel in Shanghai. Impecciblely maintain and staff very friendly. The only downside is at breakfast there doesn't seem to be enough staff to manage the volume of guests. Adequate service is hard to come by. We usually grabbed a coffee cup and found the coffee decanters and served ourselves. Otherwise great services.

Room Tip: Get to breakfast before 7 or after 9. Take time to go to the pool area, nice as any hotel pool I hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Hotel City Centre

Address: No.555 Xizang Middle Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Hotel City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 18th and largest hotel from Marriott International in Shanghai has opened its doors in the heart of the city centre. The 720 guest room Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre stands out as a flagship hotel for the Marriott Hotels and Resorts brand in China. Offering unmatched hospitality, an unbeatable location and state-of-the-art contemporary amenities, the 39-storey hotel features five unique dining destinations and more than 2,000 sqm of dedicated event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Hotel City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.