We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleek and New” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Hotel City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Hotel City Centre to your Saves list
Marriott Hotel City Centre
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.555 Xizang Middle Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #25 of 3,933 Hotels in Shanghai
Long Island, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Sleek and New”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This was one of the nicest Marriotts that I have ever stayed at. Being brand new definitely helps. As a platinum elite member, we stayed using points and were upgraded to a suite. The room was beautiful with stylish furniture, decorations, fresh flowers and fruit. We had a nice view although we did not face the Bund. The bathroom has a glass wall into the room, a design that we also had in the Beijing Marriott City Wall. A thoughtful touch in the room was a leather box filled with assorted varieties of digital cables. We also had two emergency escape gas masks in our closet. I've never seen that before and hope that they are in more rooms than just the suites. We only ate in the concierge lounge, so I can't comment on any of the hotel restaurants. The view from the concierge lounge was amazing looking out onto the interesting Shanghai skyscraper architecture, the food was decent, and the staff helpful and polite. As others have mentioned, the location is convenient to the walking street and subway. The Bund was about a 25 minute easy walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    149
    30
    12
    5
See reviews for
88
86
28
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NNJ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This is one of the best located hotels in Shanghai. The Shanghai’s central subway station, People’s Square Station, is less than 5 min walking away. Within 2 min. walking, one can find Pizza Hut (two), KFC (two), BBK, McDonald, Starbucks and many local restaurants.

The hotel is the newest in Shanghai. Actually it’s too new that the “new car smell” made my wife worried (about residual solvents). The room size is decent. We had a double room and felt a little tight. Bath room has a large glass window to the room (a very good design!). The towels’ size and thickness are better than many other similar Marriott’s. The health & spa fallibilities are roomy and bright (the Jacuzzi’s water temperature was not hot though).

The services we used, from checking in, luggage handling, spa treatments to arranging express receiving and delivery, were good to excellent.

As usual, we didn’t use any on-site restaurants. We did get deserts from the Java+ coffee shop, which was very good (but expensive).

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and it will be one of our top choices for our future stays in Shanghai.

Room Tip: Get a room on > 15th floor for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is a fresh new property in Shanghai and well located as its a 5 minute walk to Nanjing street pedestrian road.
The lobby is bright and big and our check in was done in the executive lounge on the 37th floor with fantastic views of the city.
The rooms are of a good size and well equipped too.
However the elevators are divided into rooms until the 22nd floor and then for those from 23-38 floors.
This can be an issue of you need to access the lounge and have a room on a lower floor which then means you need to change elevators which can be cumbersome for many.
The lounge has a great display of food for breakfast, afternoon tea and evening snack as well as desserts.
We also took breakfast in the restaurant which was fantastic and had a huge spread of food although almost everything had pork in it including the croissants had pork floss draped on it!!!
However the staff were more than happy to prepare anything we required as vegetarians.
The staff , specially those in the executive lounge and concierge , were really one of the best you will ever find anywhere.
The hotel does have a few "teething problems" which we encountered but I am positive these will be sorted out soon with the management.

Room Tip: Chose rooms on higher floors and go for the executive floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

It has a very nice lobby and lobby bar. Excellent hotel hotel rooms and big.
It is located in the central of shanghai, The lobby bar is very expensive and there is so so service. The service people are not well trained. They are confused all the time. for the example, I want to check in but they send me to the garage to park my car instead of assisting me to unload my luggage and check in. I have to go to lobby to check in then i could not find a bellman to go to my car to get my luggage. It took me more than 30 minutes. Besides that, everything went well.

Room Tip: Rooms are nice and well layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed 5 nights at this hotel. We have been to a few Marriott hotels and this would rate as one of the best. We love the size of the rooms and the amenities. There were lots of pillows, cables for the TV, ipod dock to name a few. Everything was nice, new and clean as this hotel is very new.

The AC was virtually silent and controlled the room temperature perfectly.

We also love the location. The Nanjing Road pedestrian mall is one road away and the Metro (People Square) is across the road. Taxi fares to most places such as the Bund and Xintianti barely go above the flag charge of RMB14.

Most of the staff at the front desk spoke English and they are very helpful. We asked for information all the time.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a big luxurious room and great location.

Also, the Hotel was in contact with me a few times after my booking with information and reminders which I thought was a nice touch.

Room Tip: We chose a high floor (level 31) which is always good and a King Size room. Also choose a non smokin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Nothing wrong with the hotel and the service.
Stayed 3 nights traveling with my mom.
We enjoyed the clean nice room with everything we needed available (Room 1123).
Cleaning was good, all hotel staff was very nice and friendly. We tried to tip but they did not accept any.
Location is perfect - close to Nanjing street and subway (People Square).
I'm a gym freak and was pleased to see that the equipment was sufficient for my 3 workout during the stay (most often I need to chase up outside gyms when traveling). Free bottled water at gym was also a plus.
Sauna (steam and regular) was very nice as well as pool and jacuzzi (this plus gym are free of charge). Mom enjoyed a 1,5 h massage at the hotel spa. As all hotel spas this is quite pricey but she was happy with it.
Complimentary WiFi in lobby and if you are a Marriott rewards member it is complimentary in room too.
Had a bad experience with the hotel restaurant "Shanghai City Bistro" - dinner buffet was not fresh and hotel breakfast did not look fresh either. Suggest to go somewhere else to eat... I'm writing a separate review about the restaurant experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I had a great stay at the Marriott Hotel City Centre. The location is terrific to subway lines 1 and 2, People's Square and Nanjing Rd. The staff spoke very well English and made sure I had an excellent stay. They were always willing to help with any questions and excellent service in the restaurants and Exec Lounge. Rooms are very modern and very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Hotel City Centre

Address: No.555 Xizang Middle Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 3,933 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Hotel City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 18th and largest hotel from Marriott International in Shanghai has opened its doors in the heart of the city centre. The 720 guest room Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre stands out as a flagship hotel for the Marriott Hotels and Resorts brand in China. Offering unmatched hospitality, an unbeatable location and state-of-the-art contemporary amenities, the 39-storey hotel features five unique dining destinations and more than 2,000 sqm of dedicated event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Hotel City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.