We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“U.k.Travellers beware” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lee Gardens Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lee Gardens Hotel Shanghai to your Saves list
Lee Gardens Hotel Shanghai
4.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   No.255 Dong'an Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200030, China (Formerly Xuhui International Executive Suites Shanghai) (Dapuqiao)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 118 Reviews
glasgow.scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“U.k.Travellers beware”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Having spent 4 days at this hotel,2 at the start of a 16 day holiday and 2 at the end,firstly I have to say, I cannot fault the actual hotel..It is beautiful,well placed and very clean. My problem arose when I first arrived and needed to change English notes into currency.Having been in China previously I had no problem changing money in any of the hotels,but in this instance, although the exchange rate is clearly shown at the desk, they refused point blank to change my £50 note.My tour guide suggested perhaps to try a smaller note, but as we were on our way out I left this until later.I tried again later with a £20 note but was still refused...result being I spent 1.5 days with no cash, fortunately none was required, as the tour director went in his own time to stand in the 30minute queue in the bank of China for me.On returning 14 days later....still very disgruntled, I noticed that in the room the booklet of information clearly stated that All major currencies could be exchanged.With said information book in hand I headed back down to reception,with the intention this time of requesting the manager.However whether it was the blue leaflet in my hand I will never know,as when I presented my notes I had them exchanged with no problem....Upshot is, take some local currency with you to avoid this problem.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    63
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
18
16
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel. The location is very convenient, subway is just few steps away. There is also a convenient store next door. Besides this there is a bakery store and 2 other restaurants next to the hotel. The room was clean, equipped with all the necessity that the 5 stars hotel used to provide. The room size is not big, but we just came back for sleep, so it is ok with us.
When we came to the hotel by taxi, there were 2 men who dressed in black suit and stand in front of the hotel. We have 5 luggages, my husband start to unload them while these 2 men just stand there and watch without giving any hand. I have to ask them to give us some help, then one of them went back to hotel to ask the bell boy to come out and another one still stand there watch my husband unload the luggage by himeself. The service is not good.
Beware that this hotel does not exchange Canadian dollar, you have to carry US dollar.
Overall this hotel is good to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed at this hotel 7 nights. The rooms were clean, however it is not an ideal location for sightseeing or shopping. The subway is around the corner, if you can navigate your way around, which is not easy, no English signs and difficult to know direction and platform changes. We stayed at the beginning of our trip around China and were given a standard double room, on the 4 floor. The room was quite noisy as the hotel is on a main road. The second time we were given a suite on the 24 floor, which was very comfortable and no noise penetration. Suggest you ask for a room on the higher floors. Breakfast is so-so. Mainly caters for the locals, with very little choice for the Westerners.

Room Tip: Request floors 20 and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed at this Hotel for a few nights. The rooms were clean and well furnished with good sized beds. . Meals were plentiful, well cooked and presented nicely . The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Historic Southern Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This Hotel is located a bit off the beaten path re "tourist" spots, but is less than a 2 min walk to the MRT which goes everywere. The room is very nice with a great bed. I booked this hotel because of reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and as usuall was very happy that "I found" this hotel. It was a nice place to stay for 5 nights while taking the metro to the Expo Center.The Satff was pleasent and easy to deal with. I never ate in the hotel resturant but FYI just another minute walk past the MRT entrance is a nice Coffee & Pastery shop!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We were visiting some folks nearby and our host booked this hotel for us. Since the location seems a bit out of the way for most Shanghai visitors, we were surprised at the quality and comfort of the room. Ours was large, had two good size comfortable beds, a nice sitting area, and a mini-bar area with microwave (but not the kitchenette that some of the other reviewers got). What we especially liked, after uncomfortably hot rooms in Jiuzhaigou and Chengdu (and later Beijing), was that the room air conditioning worked exceptionally well. There are computers on the ground floor for guest usage, but we didn't try them since the Internet in the room worked well.

Our included breakfast had a modest selection of Western and Chinese dishes, but nothing to rave about. There were cook-to-order eggs and on one of the days the cook also made pancakes, the other day he made waffles. Because we speak Chinese, we had no problem communicating with the staff. However, beware of the difference in elevators getting to the restaurant at breakfast time. We were staying on one of the upper floors, and there is an express elevator that serves just those floors. The other elevator(s) serve all floors and are incredibly slow during the breakfast rush. It seems like they stop at just about every floor and either there is something wrong with their programming as most floors had no people waiting, or the guests simply gave up waiting and used the stairs.

If you are looking for a good restaurant in the area, it will be hard to find. A relative did take us to the Shanghai Peninsula Shark's Fin Seafood Restaurant at 518 Lingling Rd. a few blocks away and we enjoyed it. But in the immediate vicinity, there isn't much. I tried a so-so fast food noodle place a few doors down from the Family Mart convenience store and the 85 Cafe. The 85 Cafe does have good pastries (though the selection is far smaller than the 85 Cafe we've tried many times in the U.S.), but it has very little seating. Fortunately, the comfy sitting area in your room suffices for take-out. The center of Shanghai (e.g. the Ritz-Carlton/Portman) seemed about 15- 20 minutes away by taxi. The hotel is very close to a subway stop, but we did not have a need to use it.

We found the breakfast and front desk staff to be courteous and professional. I would certainly recommend this hotel if you have a need to stay in the Xuhui District like we did. But if not, you may be better off finding a place more centrally located, with more restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Get one of the upper floors so you can use the express elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

The reception was very good, and like most of China, the english was basic. The room was fantastic, I stayed on the 13th floor. The view wasn't anything special, but I ended up getting a decent deal. The bed was very comfortable, and the overall room size was excellent. Bathroom/shower were very spacious as well. The two annoying things about this hotel were the 'Haier' TV standby light would shine into your face at night (I had to cover it with a towel to get some sleep) and the elevators were very slow and not connected (i.e. 4 lifts were available and each switch corresponded to each lift). The transport is fantastic, within 60m of the Line 4 and 7 Metro lines, and some local shops for eating and shopping were nearby.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lee Gardens Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lee Gardens Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.255 Dong'an Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200030, China (Formerly Xuhui International Executive Suites Shanghai)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Dapuqiao , Xujiahui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#65 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#79 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#128 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lee Gardens Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lee Gardens Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xuhui International Executive Suites Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lee Gardens Hotel Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.