We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis for Lunch, Great Daily Specials, Dinner ?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Downstairs

Downstairs
183 Jiaozhou Road, Shanghai 200040, China (Jing'an Temple)
021-51721300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #586 of 12,499 restaurants in Shanghai
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: International, Healthy, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Jing'an Temple
Description: Downstairs at URBN, like the city of Shanghai, is where the East and West converges. Its unique blend of international fare and local influences is backed by inspiration from the world’s cultures and true innovation. Staying true to the heart of URBN, Downstairs incorporates environmentally aware and healthy eating philosophies into the menu.Located on the ground floor of URBN, Downstairs boasts an outdoor courtyard surrounded by lush green ivy walls and verdant bamboo. An urban oasis far removed from the hustle and bustle of Shanghai, you’ll almost forget that you’re in one of the world’s biggest metropolises.As an all day dining venue, Downstairs is great for weekend brunches (one of the most popular spots in Shanghai!), quiet business lunches and intimate al-fresco dinner dates. Or our favourite of all, is to spend a day having afternoon tea in our charming outdoor courtyard with friends, during the glorious summer time.Keep your eyes peeled for our monthly drink and food specials, or choose to hold your next party at Downstairs for an unforgettable experience.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“An oasis for Lunch, Great Daily Specials, Dinner ?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Restaurant has a nice Garden is in a Street not far from Jing An Temple. Popular place by both locals and expats

It is a Great Place to go for Lunch, especially in Summer with a nice Seating Outside.
Daily specials at lunch are a recommendation. Great value for money.

I have been only once for dinner and it was very quiet.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
URBN_Hotel, Manager at Downstairs, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Reinardus v,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us. We are delighted that you enjoyed our Set Lunch. We also recently changed our menu to include some new salads and sandwiches.

Outside is indeed an oasis and with this outdoor summer heat, our outdoor fans with mist do help to keep you cool.

Hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,
Samson L
F&B Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    11
    7
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“welcome brunch in China”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Friends found this out of the way little place for brunch. Great service and a real brunch menu were complimented by some tasty Bloody Mary's.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
URBN_Hotel, Manager at Downstairs, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear dpaufler,

Thank you for your review of our Brunch at Downstairs with David Laris.

We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. I see you are from Bologna, next time your in Shanghai pop in for Sunday brunch as during this Summer we have a live band jamming out some cool tunes.

Hope to see you soon at the URBN Hotel.

Ciao,
Samson Li
F & B Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great setting - disappointing food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Fabulous setting with lovely courtyard and cool decor - We ordered a sandwich (we struggled to find a light bite on their lunch menu as we didn't want a heavy meal. We were hugely disappointed. Yes - it was a sandwich - and that was just about all it had going for it. Cold, boring presentation and even more disappointing in taste. REally felt the menu could do more to offer affordable, tasty lunch options - certainly other restaurants in Shanghai (and I mean really excellent restaurants such as Jean Georges, La Brasserie) manage to offer affordable lunches (with lighter options) which are just as exciting as their evening meals at highly affordable prices. Wont be going back - which is a pity as their setting is amongst the best in Shanghai for outdoor seating.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
URBN_Hotel, Manager at Downstairs, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear SwishfamilyRobertson,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience of Downstairs with us and we are sorry that we had disappointed you on your last visit.

I am pleased to inform you that David Laris with our new executive chef, Chris Hibbert, have taken your comments on board and recently changed the menu with creative, light and healthy dishes which are as good for you as they are tasty.

Hopefully you will be able to give us the opportunity to show you that we can be fabulous as well on all fronts apart from the setting. Please let me know if I could be of any assistance.

Best Regards,
Samson L
F&B Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Average, I wouldn't go out of your way for this one, sorry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Underwhelming menu, nothing on there that really interested me, sadly. Had the golden trout in the end which was very good.

Service was a bit irritating as others have mentioned. 2 staff chatting to each other and fiddling with the bread basket instead of offering me a drink while I waited for my better half to arrive. that was not a great start so not much was going to please me after that.

Sorry folks, not one I suggest making an effort for. But if you find yourself staying there or passing by it is a pleasant enough place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
URBN_Hotel, Manager at Downstairs, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Safemach,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are grateful that you have highlighted these issues and are sorry that you were underwhelmed on this occasion.

We have since been working on training our staff to be more attentive; also David Laris and our new executive chef Chris Hibbert have recently changed the menu with a focus on fresh and healthy ingredients served alongside your favorites including Australian steaks cooked proper

We have taken your comments on board and as a valued guest, we hope you are able to give us another chance. Please let me know if I could be of assistance.

Best Regards,
Samson L
F&B Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Top quality food served in a relaxed, atmospheric setting. A 'secret hideaway' amid the hustle & bustle of Shanghai. Recommend you book early.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downstairs also viewed

Shanghai, China
Shanghai, China
 
Shanghai, China
 

Been to Downstairs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downstairs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.