We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different in Jing'an” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shanghai Propaganda Poster Art Centre

Shanghai Propaganda Poster Art Centre
Rm BOC, Basement, Block B, No.868 Huashan Road, Shanghai, China
021-62111845
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 806 Attractions in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 203 Reviews
Type: Art Galleries, Museums
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Something different in Jing'an”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I was in Shanghai on business and unfortunately didn't have much time to see the city. I had half a Sunday free and was staying in the Four Seasons in Jing'an district so decided to make the most of the immediate area. I had done a little Googling and found some positive reviews on the propaganda art centre so decided to give it a visit. As other reviews have mentioned It's advisable to take a cab to this place, it's in a pretty obscure location and unless you have Google maps pointing you in the right direction it's easy to miss. It's located in the basement of a small set of apartments and has an entry fee of 20 RMB per person. Inside this den of Chinese history you will find an homage to China's revolutionary period and beyond. It will take you about 30 - 40 minutes to go through all the poster art and read all the captions as well as taking a browse through the merchandise that is for sale. A refreshing change from Asian temple mania and a cheap history lesson rolled into one. Definitely worth a visit if you're in the area.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    67
    17
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Take a cab, don't walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

It was amazing visiting this private own museum... The museography is amateur but you can discuss with the author! It's worth buying some posters (some of them copies, but you can find also very authentic jewels, the price will tell you the difference)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Propaganda poster art. A real surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had an individual wonderful guide in Shanghai. We asked her to take us to the propaganda museum, but she did not know it. All the more reason to go, so we took her! She will be going again with other clients as she enjoyed it with us. It was fun to have this experience. It is a wonderful, but small museum in the basement of an apartment complex. Beautiful artwork, and somehow it felt special. Our tour guide admitted some of her political beliefs with us after visiting this place. It was not what we expected

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Interesting detour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

If there was a 3.5, I would have given that instead. It was better than average, but only because it's an interesting aspect of the Cultural Revolution.

It is true that China is lacking in museums (and other things) that are self-reflective of its recent history but that is not to say this museum is that either.

This museum is a vast compilation of propaganda art spanning the past 60 years of Chinese history. It's great for examining the evolution of artistic style in propaganda, and the use of art in conveying political messages.

This museum does not provide an informative or comprehensive understanding of modern Chinese history, just glimpses. It does not have the resources to do that. Please also understand that while this museum is not publicly funded, it is publicly endorsed (it has an official museum license issued by the government), so please do not misunderstand its subject to be something that the Chinese government is attempting to suppress or silence discussion of. Most of these posters come from the Cultural Revolution period (including the Dazibaos), an era widely regarded as an embarrassment and failure within China (and taught as such in schools).

Last side note: I was born in China but was raised overseas. For the 1.5 hours I was in this museum, not a single other Chinese visitor was present. This is partially due to apathy and non-exposure, but also demonstrates that this museum is geared towards foreigners, and frames subjects in a way that is more palatable to foreigners/those with Western normative views. This isn't to say it's bad (because I often share those views) but rather something to keep in mind as you visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“#1 Activity in my Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We saw this gallery mentioned in the Lonely Planet guide to Shanghai, and I knew instantly I HAD to go. Many art projects about Communist propaganda and as a designer a general interest in political design.

We did get lost but a good kind of lost. We got off metro Line 10 at the Shanghai Library station, and wandered through the french concession area. Which was beautiful. Everything looked european in the architecture but with small chinese characteristics, very bizarre experience. The actual gallery is located in what seams like the basement of an apartment block. Go down the elevator to the bottom to walk through a strange meat locker-type doorway, and everything will be clear.

Entry 20RMB.

No photos.

Air conditioned.

The curation of the posters itself was very informative, arranged in a timeline-esque order displays an excellent portrait of the Chinese communist movement and rise to power. Lots of historical, political and social juxtapositions, comparisons and, surprisingly, comparisons (which could, in some contexts be interpreted as conflicted voices).

Lovely shop with one of a kind and rare zines and posters available. Exploring issues such as the vietnam war, korean war etc.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Propaganda Poster Art Centre also viewed

 

Been to Shanghai Propaganda Poster Art Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanghai Propaganda Poster Art Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.