We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.59 Siping Road, Shanghai 200086, China (Sichuan North Road)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Early Bird is coming!
Ranked #28 of 3,734 hotels in Shanghai
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very comfortable hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Although I don't rate the city of Shanghai itself highly as a tourist destination, the hotel itself was very good. Spacious rooms on high floors overlooking the city, interesting design (picture attached), 2 Metro lines around the corner and, yes, wi-fi in he rooms. People mentioned that the pool/spa in the hotel were very good, but we didn't get a chance to try it. The Japanese restaurant on the top floor offered a nice panoramic view of the modernistic skyskrapers of Pudong. A benefit of being closer to the river and away from the center of Shanghai (Old French Concession, etc) was that the air quality was a lot better near the hotel than in city center, where on one of the days it was truly awful. There is a 1930s Bauhaus slaughterhouse converted to a collection of art galleries, restaurants, etc within walking distance - but it proved to be a disappointment compared to its review in my guidebook.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Yanik,

Thank you for your comments and I am delighted to see that we were able to WoW you.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind regards

Nitin Abbi
Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Guest Relations &
Sheraton Club Lounge Manager

nitin.abbi@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    341
    141
    38
    10
    5
See reviews for
54
94
43
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We arrived in Shanghai before flying back home and I must say it was the best hotel stay! We were in Chongqing for 10 days and coming to the hotel was great the welcome was as if we are a guest who comes every week. The ladies and gentlemen( I lost their card a German Indian manager and his Dutch assistant) were brilliant!
The food was en par with any 5* in the Uk or Us! Amazing! Can't wait to be back !
To the managment I congratulate you on such a team.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Aysinghlondon,

Thank you so much for your review and it is good to see that you had a wonderful stay! As well thank you for outlining Paul and myself!

Please do let me know if you ever plan to visit us again.

Kind regards

Nitin Abbi
Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Guest Relations &
Sheraton Club Lounge Manager

nitin.abbi@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My new husband and I are on the last leg of our honeymoon. We have stayed at all Starwood properties through Thailand and China. While we were pleased with our stay at the Westin Resort in Phu'ket, Thailand, most of our hotels in China have been below par. However, from the moment we arrived at the Sheraton in Shanghai, everything has been amazing. We began with an amazing dinner at the Japanese restaurant. We then headed the next day to the Club lounge where the manager there treated us to wonderful personal service hilighting the hotels committment to superior customer experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Alana S,

Thank you for your comment and it was wonderful to meet you in our club lounge. I still do remember you and I hope that we will meet here again or maybe somewhere around the globe!

Take care

Kind regards

Nitin Abbi
Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Guest Relations &
Sheraton Club Lounge Manager

nitin.abbi@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed 4 nights in October 2012, apparently was the 2005th customer, and thus was upgraded to a suite by the very nice manager. Fantastic room, huge, great view of the bund. 2 bathrooms, 2 TV's, everything you can ask for and more. I could have played football in the room. Staff was awesome, patient, nice, and knowledgeable. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Austin B,

Thank you for your review and it is good to see that you had an enjoyable stay.

Please let me know whenever you are back in Shanghai!

Kind regards

Nitin Abbi
Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Guest Relations &
Sheraton Club Lounge Manager

nitin.abbi@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

As soon as you arrive the courteous and helpful front desk staff makes you feel welcome. The rooms are clean and spacious. The hotel is in a very good location close to the Bund. The club lounge is a great place to be; serving cocktails and appetizers every evening and a super made to order breakfast in the morning. But most of all it is the friendliness and the service of the staff that makes it feel like a Home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear A D,

Thank you so much for the comment and I hope we will have the chance to welcome you back in the near future!

Please let me know if you ever plan to visit us again.

Kind regards

Nitin Abbi
Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Guest Relations &
Sheraton Club Lounge Manager

nitin.abbi@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Really don't know where to start from & though i only stayed there for one night, it was one of the horrible experiences ever!!! First, given i am a spg gold member, i wasn't given the room on the spg floor. I had to remind them and it took me some time to explain to them because the girl's English was very poor. After settling my dad in another room, i arrived in my room and started to unpack and started taking some pics. When i went inside the bathroom, i didn't realize the glass door for the shower area had cracks on it and as soon as i finished washing my hands, i heard a huge bang and the entire glass just came on top of me and all over the floor. Frightened with this incident, i called the guest services and explained the issue and asked them to change my room. I got the call back from the guest services after two minutes and rather that asking me whether i am ok or not, he started blaming me that i have broken the glass because i was checked in 30 minutes ago. After couple of minutes of heated conversation, i asked the person to prepare my bill and i am going to checkout right away. I went down at the reception and while talking to check-in person, the manager came and apologized and give me the key of the club room (which by the way wasn't that different). I wrote to Starwood twitter feed and got immediate feedback on the issue. While the issue was resolved and they even sent me a fruit basked, i am just never going to stay in that hotel in the future. Location wise too, there is nothing around the hotel. Avoid at all times!!!

Room Tip: Higher floor have better views..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were so spacious and beautifully decorated. The lobby was so beautiful. The staff made me feel like a million bucks. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. The staff would go out of their way to get me whatever I needed!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Mikaakim,

Thank you for the comment and we all are really glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Looking forward to welcome you back very soon!

Kind regards

Nitin Abbi
Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Guest Relations &
Sheraton Club Lounge Manager

nitin.abbi@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel

Address: No.59 Siping Road, Shanghai 200086, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai > Sichuan North Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 3,734 hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel.Our local neighborhood has it all. Our hotel is close to the Bund, considered the city’s symbol since the 1920s, and the People’s Square. We are also near the Nanjing Road, Lujiazui, and Huaihai Zhong Road central business districts, as well as the North Sichuan Road shopping area and historic Duolun Road.Enjoy your stay in one of our 471 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites, featuring river, city, and Bund skyline views. Relax completely in our famous Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed, with a pillow-top mattress, cozy duvet, and goose down blanket. Our hotel’s unique outdoor garden and riverside setting make it the perfect place to get away from the fast pace of Shanghai.Complimentary wireless High Speed Internet Access is now available in all of the hotel’s public areas and guest rooms to meet the needs of business and leisure travelers alike. When you need a retreat from fast-paced city life, we have many options. Indulge yourself with a treatment at the Shine Spa. Sheraton Fitness Programmed by Core® Performance features state-of-the-art cardio and strength-training equipment, and our 30-meter swimming pool is illuminated by natural light through the ceiling.We offer a variety of event facilities that are ideal for weddings, dinners, product launches, and meetings. Our dedicated professionals are ready to assist you with any requirements or requests.Let the Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel be your home base when visiting Shanghai, one of Asia’s most vibrant cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.