We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Ibis Shanghai Yuyuan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden to your Saves list
Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   No.85 Zhoujin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200011, China (Yu Garden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #426 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    110
    81
    31
    14
See reviews for
38
57
51
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
india
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Went to shanghai for one night. I needed the cheapest, most decent room and hence I booked this. I liked it because it is the generally reliable Ibis brand name and has a certain standard to it. The reception staff were friendly and spoke good english.

But what I didn't like were:
1. The room had no windows.
2. The next day morning the corridor got too noisy. when I left the room, I realised the room opposite to mine was being used by Chinese traders to display some gem stones etc and customers were visiting them. They were making so much of noise and using a hotel room (With the door open and people spilling into the corridor) to conduct business. And they were all weirdly ogling at me which I hated.
3. The breakfast was far from fresh. I have never seen such dried out watermelons.The toast was the only saving grace.

But yeah, it was safe and did not burn a hole in my pocket.

Room Tip: Get a room with a window, so you can breathe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Hotel's service and the location were excellent. However, it must ensure security of guests and get rid of pimps whom sent cards under the room doors to advertise sex service. This is the second time it has happened in my stay with your hotel in Shanghai, and the same with Ibis in Hangzhou.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Check in on Dec 12 and Check out Dec 13.

First time in Shanghai. Cannot compare to other hotels. Here is my take on it.

Decent hotel for the money. room was spacious and clean. view very nice (except for smog). In room safe and slippers were nice touch. Good location. Cab ride was on average 17-20 RNB to S and T centre markets. Subway about a 5 minute walk to the #4 line.

Cab ride from hotel to Pudong airport was RNB150.00 in a larger cab (3 people and 3 large and 3 carryon bags. Took about 40 min.

Nice / helpful staff. Communication difficult at times but not a huge hurdle. Would consider staying there again.

Compared to other hotels around the world I've stayed in for the same price, I would say this is in line or slightly better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodenheim, Germany
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed 3 nights, the location is quite good, not too far abway from the subway. The breakfast-buffet was allright for 3 days, after that it would slowly get boring. A good detail is that the hotel is situated in a rather quiet street and has a small terrace where you can sit down and have a coffe or a beer while usming the wifi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden

Address: No.85 Zhoujin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200011, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Yu Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #426 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.