We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manhattan Jinling Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Manhattan Jinling Hotel to your Saves list
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.58 Henan South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China (Yu Garden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #224 of 3,974 Hotels in Shanghai
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

It is all positives for me in this hotel. The staff is really friendly, helpful and responsive as long as you are the first to greet. A staff member came with me to the convenience store to help me recharge my mobile phone.
The location is amazing, so close to everything, on foot or by public transport.
My only negatives for the hotel are the lack of private safes and bar fridge in the room and the noise. Although I was changed to a back room, it is still noisy
There is a good street corner noodle shop just in the corner of Renmin Rd and the little alley beyond the hotel. They hand pull the noodles in front of you. Very convenient and the food is delicious. If interested, contact me for translation of menu. Their speciality is braised beef with noodles although they have two types of fried rice as well. Take a picture of the menu and ask at the hotel for someone to translate it for you. The price is very affordable at max 20 to 30 yuan for a bowl of noodle soup. The small one is big enough. Average price 12 rmb

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    22
    15
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
10
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel is a 4 storey old building with elevators. Yuyuan Metro station just around 200m away (or less). We took the metro train to get to the hotel directly from Pudong International Airport, it takes about 1 hour 20mins and the cost is just only RMB7.
We booked a Deluxe room. It is small but clean and comfy especially the bed. The room has a 2 panel-doors but they can’t open fully and a balcony but it is not accessible. The plastic-like toilet is a little shock to me fortunately the water pressure is fine and the hot water is working good.
Kettle and hair dryer are provided in the room and 2 bottles of complementary drinking water will be replenished daily.
Front desk staffs are not friendly. During our 3-nights stay we have never been greeted by the hotel staffs nor a smile. In 2 occasions, we saw a senior staff scolding the junior (loudly) in front of the guests, making us quite nerve-racking to talk to them.
There is no free travelling maps or broachers in the hotel but you can borrow the map from the front desk and return it upon check-out.
A 24-hours convenience shop is just next to the hotel. Yuyuan and ChengHuang Temple is walking distance. You can also walk to The Bund just about 1km. Can’t find good food around the hotel instead, many musical instrument shops.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed here after coming back to Shanghai to look for a new apartment for about 6 days last month (end of February). The lobby smells of smoke (as most Chinese lobbies do at mid range priced hotels). The decor a bit busy with flower wallpaper in the rooms and maroon color carpet, but the location central and convenient just a two minute walk from line 10 Yuyuan metro stop, and the price: decent, if just passing through. Not the worse or best in Shanghai, but certainly clean, comfortable bed and very kind staff.
Upon arriving without my wallet, the owner paid for my taxi ride (after the police were called by taxi driver himself), offered me money for dinner, and asked if there was anything he could do until I located my wallet on the flight over. Very kind, helpful staff and owner. Let me borrow money without knowing me, or me having to ask. Blown away by his level of perception and unsolicited helpfulness. Not the best around, but for price, comfort, and service, definitely recommend this hotel. Slept super well on the comfortable bed! Other pro's: hot water all day, everyday, replenished 2 bottles of water each day, water boiler to make instant coffee or ramen noodles in the room. Con's: cigarette smell, internet connection a bit slow or dropped at times (but this will be the case with almost all hotels in Shanghai at this price range!)

Room Tip: Stayed in the deluxe because they had no standards, but I think the standard is definitely ok for pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

+ Plus +
Great location near The Bund and Yuyuan Garden
Metro station within 200 meters.
Good value for the money (220 yen/night). Usable WiFi available in the room.
I would stay there again.

- Minus -
Not shiny clean but since it's a quite old hotel that's expected.
When the SH outdoor temperature were below 0 degrees at night the room got a bit cold at night
Some staff/cleaners(?) talked a bit too loud in walkie talkie in the corridors in the morning
Some of the staff had problems to understand and speak english, but they were friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This hotel is small & is in a need of a make over. The bathroom is small & it feels like you are in a portable toilet. There is not much ventilation & the hot water doesn't get too hot. There wasn't much wardrobe space to hang clothes. We had a window by the main street so it was very noisy & you can hear the beeping of cars at night. They do provide Wifi but it is very slow. The hotel does provide 2 free bottles of water but there is a 7-11 & another convenience store just downstairs. The staff are friendly & do speak English.

In terms of location it is fantastic. As soon as you exit the hotel, turn right & cross the road & you will be at a subway station. Walk a further 5-8 minutes & you will get to Yuyuan Garden. Plenty of shops & great places to eat. Best place for dumplings is there as well! If you turn left when exiting the hotel & walk 10-15 minutes you will get to the famous "The Bund". This is the strip where you can see the river & the famous Shanghai cityscape. A lot of the old colonial buildings are here too & you can even catch the hop on - hop off tourist bus which will take you around to all the best places of Shanghai. As the name suggests, you can hop off at any of the destinations & then hop back on. Depending on your ticket, you can do this within a 24 or 48 hour period. Also in this direction (on the same road as the hotel - about 12 minutes walk) is Nanjing Road Shopping District. Closed to cars it is a very long street consisting of shops & restaurants.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing the main street if you want a quiet sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located at the centre of the city.From entrance of hotel turn left to reach the Metro in less than 3 minutes.Convenient to use Metro to travel to different tourist attractions if you don't feel like walking too much. To the right of the hotel, you can walk to Nanjing Road,the longest Pedestrian Street in China.People's Square is nearby.24hr mini supermarket is 2 doors away from the hotel and a bank is next door on the right.The service at the front counter
is good and prompt.Staff are courteous and helpful. The free wifi is surprising fast and the best thing is you can get connected to the web in yr hotel room too. A real bonus.The room is small but sufficient.All facilities of a 4 star hotel can be found here too!The only drawback is you can't get to the hotel from the front. Make sure to get the hotel contact number and call the staff when you ask the taxi driver to drop you at the back of the hotel.Then, you call the front desk staff and press the door bell. They will open the door for you.This must be the only hotel where you carry your luggage to the back door. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Greece
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We moved to this hotel for our final night in Shanghai basically for the location& for the low price. OK for 1 day's stay.

The photos look actually much much nicer than what you actually get. Barely fitted our luggage in the room. We got a very old-fashioned room with ripped/holed bed sheet and pillowcases. I was shocked.

Kept scratching all night (probably because of the old bedsheets). I refused to shower in the airplane plastic cabin-like showers, and preferred to shower at the next destination.

Staff were smiley and friendly, although they did not speak much English. We have been in other hotels during this trip, and most reception staff were not as friendly or smiley as the staff here.

It's old and cold. Heard traffic noises all night. The closet has got to be 50 years old. Needs new bed set. This hotel needs a complete makeover.

Room Tip: Maybe higher floor and away from traffic because the traffic noise did not stop until the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Manhattan Jinling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Jinling Hotel

Address: No.58 Henan South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Yu Garden
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 3,974 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manhattan Jinling Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Manhattan Jinling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manhattan Jinling Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.