We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.338 Hengfeng Road, Shanghai 200070, China (Shanghai Railway Station)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #29 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 428 Reviews
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Nice spacious and clean hotel. Excellent staff. Good location for Shanghai Railway Station. Decent gym and nice pool.

Very good Club Lounge. Served excellent breakfast that was far better than that available at Mo Mo Cafe

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    166
    35
    5
    3
See reviews for
52
90
47
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, KS
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed here 3 nights with a tour group. Beautiful, modern hotel with a great breakfast buffet. The breakfast buffet consists of many different food stations with something for everyone's taste. Walking distance to local restaurants including a few American fast food chains such as KFC ... for those uncomfortable using a local restaurant as not much English is spoken. One of the nicest hotels we've stayed in. Would highly recommend to anyone planning on staying in this area.

Room Tip: Chinese enjoy a very firm mattress. If you find that bothersome, ask for a mattress topper. They a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I stayed at this Marriott with a tour group, so I was expecting a slightly-less than elegant stay. I was surprised with glamorous decor, 5-star rooms, an all-you-can-eat breakfast. Not only did this hotel meet my tour expectations, but was probably one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in!

I would definitely stay at this Marriott again and I would bring my whole family as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
312 helpful votes 312 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Visited as a couple in March. Booked and confirmed directly with the hotel just two days before our trip. Our stay was punctuated with a three day gap in between. We stayed a total of 5 nights at the Club Rooms on the 28th floor.

Service/Rooms: Brilliant. Kelvin helped us with our bookings and everything was spot on when we arrived. Check in was fast everything was explained. The Club Rooms come with use of the Executive floor (30th floor) where breakfast is served (although one has a choice of more variety at the coffee house but with the crowd of course), free flow of drinks and cocktails from 5pm-9.30pm and hot food from about 5-7pm. We must give special mention to the people at the hotel from the check in to the Executive floor, in particular Ingrid at the Executive floor, who was genuinely helpful...and concerned when we decided to go to an out of town destination with local buses. The concierge was also very helpful and knows their stuff. The staff we encountered all spoke English.

The room was big enough and very clean. Everything was fairly new. Bathroom was clean with everything you need. I remember someone saying that the clear glass panel separating the bedroom and the shower meant that there is little privacy if one was not travelling with the spouse or partner, However, one can turn down the automatic blinds from a switch in the bathroom - not a problem at all.

Location and getting from place to place:
Much has been said about the less than favourable location of the hotel. We were sceptical at first but we found it not to be the case at all. In fact, it turned out to be ideal for us as I will explain, although this was not planned.

Firstly, this hotel is only two stops away from the centre of Shanghai Puxi area, which we take it to mean People's Park/Square. The Hanzhong Road tube station is just a 2-3 minute walk from the hotel and a RMB3 ticket will bring you to People's Square station. All ticketing machines have English as an option. The metro line here is Line 1.

To get to the Pudong side (opposite the Huangpu River) to view the Oriental Pearl Tower, etc, and to view the Bund from the opposite side of the river, change at People's Square and change to Metro Line 2 and stop two stations away at the Lujiazui station - cost is also RMB3 for the entire trip.

Secondly, there is a McDonalds across the road (ha!) and most places downtown is just a short taxi ride away. For example, for about RMB25, we got from the Yuan Gardens back to the Hotel. A taxi ride to/from the middle of the Bund costs about RMB20+-

Part of our trip this time was to Hangzhou and it turned out to be ideal. The Shanghai train station is about 15 minutes walk away and as it turned out, there are two trains per day to Hangzhou (i.e. to Hangzhou station - the older station, as opposed to 'Hangzhou East' station) from this station. Trip time was about 1.5 hours and the morning train leaves at 8.08 am. This was ideal and it meant that we did not have to go to the other train station on the Pudong side to get to Hangzhou (although trains from the other station is much more frequent). nevertheless, make sure you book your train tickets in advance. The concierge can help for a small fee of about RMB15 I think although we bought it ourselves).

Note: The Shanghai train station has an 'English' counter, so no worries for non Mandarin speakers.

The taxi ride from the Pudong Airport to this hotel costs about RMB180 on a metered taxi.

Food:
Food was sufficient and ample and there was a good selection of spirits/alcohol at the Executive floor. We did not eat at the main coffee house and so we cannot comment.

Would we return? For sure, if we go back to Shanghai. For the price you pay (and I shouldn't even say this), this place is top notch. Everything is certainly within easy reach and in our case, it turned out to be ideal. In fact the nearby Shanghai train station nearby could be used for out of town excursions.

Thanks to the staff!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, pay a little extra and get an upgrade to the Club Rooms. You won't regret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights recently and find quite good value for the money I paid. Rooms were simply fantastic just like any JW Marriott hotels.

The only downside was that there wasn't many places nearby to go. So for business, this would have been perfect. It's 5-10mins walk towards the Shanghai railway station.

The front desk staff were very helpful.

The breakfast was reasonably ok for a Marriot hotel. I would definitely return to this hotel in future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Arrived at 12:00 after 8 day cruise from Singapore, accessed room immediately which was welcome. Accommodation was situated on 25 th floor, 2 double beds and plenty of space, no noise from the street at this level, room immaculate. Hotel situated 5 minute stroll from underground (very cheap and easy to navigate) however taxis also cheap and readily available. Not on the Bund? Not really an issue as you are only 15 minutes away by aforementioned means of transport. Booking included breakfast which was varied and of excellent quality. Free Wifi in lobby areas but 100Y per day in room which is my only criticism.

Staff were really helpful and able to provide you with mandarin translation of address you were looking for if you were hailing a taxi. Excellent value and I would definitely return.

Shanghai amazing and people fantastic well worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Will echo once again on everything that has been written so far. I stay at this hotel every visit and this is just another one of my positive reviews.
Although with this review I want to compliment the executive lounge staff on another great job. Excellent guest service and they go out of their way to take care of you.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi

Address: No.338 Hengfeng Road, Shanghai 200070, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#25 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#28 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#50 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#169 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Marriott, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Puxi Marriott Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.