We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.338 Hengfeng Road, Shanghai 200070, China (Shanghai Railway Station)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Breakfast Deal
Ranked #27 of 3,559 hotels in Shanghai
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We were very impressed with this Courtyard property during our three-night stay. The service is excellent. The front desk and concierge people spoke English and were very helpful with cabs, subway directions, flights, etc.

The rooms are moderately sized. Loved the shower--with a nice bench so you can sit while you bathe. There is also a good size desk in the room.

Breakfast buffet is outstanding with a good selection of both Asian and western foods. We upgraded to the executive level lounge, which got us both breakfast and happy hours (which were substantial enough to be dinner). Had no problems with wife.

Hotel is a five-minute walk to subway station and a quick (two stops) ride to People's Park and other centrally located attractions. We found it to be very convenient.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities、food and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    129
    28
    5
    3
See reviews for
41
70
38
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

A good hotel but slightly away from the city! The Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi is excellent by all standards. The hotel is relatively new and near the largest park in the city. The facilities are superb including super speed internet. The two airports are about half an hour and an hour away. The executive lounge on the 30th floor is great with views of the skyline. The places to visit which are accessible easily are Jing An Temple, Nanjing Road West and People’s Square. The Shanghai railway station and the Metro are also close by. The two restaurants MoMo 2 Go and MoMo Café serve excellent cuisine throughout the day. The indoor pool is a boon for me as I am allergic to the sun. for some strange reason, I liked the fitness room as usually I abhor them.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Standard new courtyard room, the lobby is nice but small. Staffs are friendly and try their best to assist me for directions, restaurants, etc. My wife and I wanted to see the old side of Shanghai but staffs were not able to provide me the information (may be language barrier). Nice city view on high floor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hlinsko
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I spent four nights in the hotel and was very satisfied. I was using the cafe in the lobby as an "office" for several business talks and all the staff there was very polite and helpful. It disturbs a bit that smoking is allowed there in the cafe but ventilation works very well and it wasn't a big problem. Breakfasts have great choice, western as well as Asian food. For dinners very good buffet available at reasonable prices. Mainly the seafood buffet on Friday was excellent. There are nearby within a walking distance at least 3 right Chinese restaurants for them who don't want to eat the hotel food adapted to western tastes. The hotel is located close to a railway station and that was important for my guests arriving to see me. Rooms are spacious, with new and good quality equipment.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

It was just a short stay but room was comfortable enough. I arrived late in the evening and was flying out the very next morning. Staff at reception was very professional despite having a visibly upset guest shouting very loudly and rudely nearby. He was attending to me but the other guest butted in and spoke very angrily in Chinese which I don't understand. The staff very calmly asked me if it was ok for him to help the other guest first to which I consented. A less well-trained staff would have been flustered by this unreasonable guest. Breakfast has a good selection - make sure you fully explore both sides of the breakfast area. The staff seem unable to cope with the high no. of guests and people ended up walking in to search for tables on their own. There is a Starbucks across the street.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi. I hope that you have enjoyed a pleasant journey onwards from our property and that this message finds you well!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding what you enjoyed during your stay. I do appreciate for your compliment comments on our room、 location and restaurent as well as staff service. In fact, our location is also good,only minutes walking to Shanghai Railway Station and metro line 1, 3 &4. A number of city attractions are with easy access, only 10 minutes to Nanjing Road West, Jing An Temple and People Square. 30 minutes from Hongqiao International Airport and 60 minutes to Pudong International Airport.

We look forward to your return! Until then, please feel free to contact us with any further questions, comments or concerns!
With kind regards,

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communications manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Room was spacious, with all the necessary amenities. Convenient location as well, with cabs standing by along the roads outside. We happened to get a trainee at the front desk (checked in around 1 in the morning), who was noticeably under-trained. She bungled our reservation and ended up charging us twice, following which a more senior front-desk staff member came along to sort things out -but not before we wasted about 35 minutes trying to check in. We also had to wait till the next day before the hotel could confirm that the refund for the charge was coming in. Nothing else really stood out though. Probably a good hotel for business travelers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities、food and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed at the Courtyard for 3 days and found it to be a excellent hotel. Rooms were large, clean and well supplied. Bathrooms were enormous and completely stocked. Buffet Breakfast was complete with a good selection of western and Chinese foods. The desk personnel were very helpful and extremely knowledgeable. In the neighborhood, were many fast food and full service Chinese restaurants and local transportation was nearby. If you are visiting Shanghai, The Courtyard Puxi would be a very good pace to stay.

Room Tip: The only downside is the lack of a pedestrian entrance from the street. The only way to enter is to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi. I hope that you have enjoyed a pleasant journey onwards from our property and that this message finds you well!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding what you enjoyed during your stay. I do appreciate for your compliment comments on our room、 location and restaurent as well as staff service. In fact, our location is also good,only minutes walking to Shanghai Railway Station and metro line 1, 3 &4. A number of city attractions are with easy access, only 10 minutes to Nanjing Road West, Jing An Temple and People Square. 30 minutes from Hongqiao International Airport and 60 minutes to Pudong International Airport.

We look forward to your return! Until then, please feel free to contact us with any further questions, comments or concerns!
With kind regards,

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communications manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi

Also Known As:
Courtyard Puxi Marriott Hotel
Courtyard Puxi Marriott Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.338 Hengfeng Road, Shanghai 200070, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#45 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#205 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.