We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delivered Again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.338 Hengfeng Road, Shanghai 200070, China (Shanghai Railway Station)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #34 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Hawaii
Level Contributor
62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Delivered Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Another stay with excellent value and service. Courtyard Puxi provided just what i was looking for once again: comfortable accommodations, excellent value and added feature of outstanding Executive Lounge. I was familiar with the location, having stayed there before, but metro access if just a quick 5 minute walk from hotel and you have all the access to major parts of Shanghai that you need via Line 1. Rooms are spacious with comfortable Marriott bedding, high-speed internet with good connectivity, and modern bathrooms with excellent facilities. Having Gold Elite status for lounge access only increases the value as breakfast at Momo Cafe or lounge is included, as well as all-day access to lounge with constant F&B presentations, including evening cocktails. Staff at the hotel, especially at Front Desk and Executive Lounge, is exceptional. I left behind a pair of expensive Bose headphones and with the help of PVG airline lounge staff was able to have Courtyard staff expedite to my next destination (though at an very costly price for express shipping - lesson learned!).

Room Tip: Executive Lounge rooms provide great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi. I hope that you have enjoyed a pleasant journey onwards from our property and that this message finds you well!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding what you enjoyed during your stay. I do appreciate for your compliment comments. In fact, our location is also good,only minutes walking to Shanghai Railway Station and metro line 1, 3 &4. A number of city attractions are with easy access, only 10 minutes to Nanjing Road West, Jing An Temple and People Square. 30 minutes from Hongqiao International Airport and 60 minutes to Pudong International Airport.

We look forward to your return! Until then, please feel free to contact us with any further questions, comments or concerns!
With kind regards,

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communications manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    195
    36
    9
    3
See reviews for
58
100
51
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here the first week of September, fantastic room! Comfortable double-bed, lovely showers & toilet with a free bottle of water each day, very friendly and helpful staff from the cleaner to the concierge. The hotel has everything needed, a large lobby and bar area, swimming pool, gym and sauna with easy access by metro, taxi or bus to Shanghai's main areas.

As expected with these hotels, food and drink are not cheap (£5-£5.50 for 500ml of beer) but is of high quality and the breakfast is definitely recommended!

Overall a fantastic stay with no problems at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities、food and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
107 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here two nights. As other ,have posted, we opted for the upgrade to a suite with access to exec floor. The room was large with two toilets and a sitting area.. Great bed, I agree it was on the firmer side but fine. AC works well so you can get it comfortable.

We came in via train to Hangqiao and had no problem getting there in a taxi othewr than traffic - was about 80 RMB

The exec floor is great.... on a par with the higher end Marriotts. There is less table service but is is completely adequate. The breakfast buffet at the hotel is 158 RMB so the upgrade is well worth the 400 RMB charge when you consider the "happy hour" in the evening which can easily suffice as dinner. We had a simple lunch at the hotel when we arrived and it was 300 RMB...

Getting around for the hotel is easy - about 15 minutes to the Bund, ditto Yu Garden, no more than an hour to Hongqiao

We found catching taxis much easier here than Hangzhou and Beijing and everyone used the meter - definitely have wriiten down where you want to go and use the hotel card to return

As this was my first stay in an Asian Coutryard I was very impressed with the service level, friendliness and comfort. Would definitley stay there again!

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi. I hope that you have enjoyed a pleasant journey onwards from our property and that this message finds you well!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding what you enjoyed during your stay.We look forward to your return!

With kind regards,

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

During the period we stayed, the hotel was running a special on suites that was too good to pass up, so this review specifically relates to the one-bedroom suite product. The special included access to the Executive Lounge on the top (30th) floor, which was a major benefit for us. Breakfast in the lounge was also included. One morning we tried the buffet breakfast in the MoMo Cafe, but much preferred the ambience of the Lounge. For Marriott Reward members, in-room wi-fi is free. Although slow, it was mostly adequate. We were never able to access Facebook, but that may be a regulation of the Chinese government. Wi-fi was also available in the Lounge, plus two nice desktop computers with printers. Other nice services of the lounge were free coffee, tea, and soft drinks,along with small dessert-type items all day. Happy hour runs from 5:30pm to 9:30 pm, with heavy hors d'oeuvres between 5:30 and 7:30. The free happy hour includes a generous selection of beer, wine, and hard liquor.

Our room was extremely quiet, except for some construction noise during the day. We were facing the back (away from Hengfeng Rd.) and being on the 29th floor was helpful in blocking most noise from the outside.

The suite was very nice, but the layout could have been better. For example, the closet was just inside the entry door, not very convenient to the bedroom. My wife and I had different feelings about the bed, as she tends to like an extremely firm mattress. I would say just that this was firmer than the beds typically found in higher end hotels. The duvet spread was very nice, but it's going to keep you extremely warm, so keep that in mind when setting the thermostat at bedtime.

We decided to take the MagLev train from Pudong airport. It was amazingly quiet, fast, very clean, and plenty of room to store your luggage. But keep in mind that it only goes to the Longyong Road Metro Station, which is still a pretty good distance from this hotel. Being a first-time visitor to China, and arriving after dark, I thought we'd be better off taking a taxi from Longyong Rd. The problem was that the taxi driver in the queue outside the station claimed his meter wasn't working and wanted to charge us 300 rmb (about $50). An uncomfortable argument ensued, and we agreed to pay 200 rmb. Remember, it was dark, the driver spoke almost no English and of course we didn't speak Chinese. They told me at the hotel the fare should have been closer to 50 rmb. At any rate, we used taxis several more times, and were always impressed with the reasonable prices compared to other places we've been. But do be prepared with a "taxi card" from the hotel concierge, because the drivers probably will not be able to speak English.

All in all, a very nice stay at the Courtyard Shanghai Puxi. (Pronounced something like pu-SHE, means "west of the river.")

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi. I hope that you have enjoyed a pleasant journey onwards from our property and that this message finds you well!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding what you enjoyed during your stay. I do appreciate for your compliment comments on our room、 location and restaurent as well as staff service. In fact, our location is also good,only minutes walking to Shanghai Railway Station and metro line 1, 3 &4. A number of city attractions are with easy access, only 10 minutes to Nanjing Road West, Jing An Temple and People Square. 30 minutes from Hongqiao International Airport and 60 minutes to Pudong International Airport.

We look forward to your return! Until then, please feel free to contact us with any further questions, comments or concerns!

With kind regards,

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communications manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

When I checked out, I left my laptop computer behind in the hotel room.

By the time I realized it and called the hotel, they had already collected it and put it in a safe place. Over the next few days they did everything possible to sent it to my next hotel (a Marriott Renaissance) in Beijing. Needless to say, I am very appreciative of their help and this is one of the reasons I stay at Marriott properties far more than any other brand.

Leaving things behind in the room is easier to do than you think when you travel as much as I do. Something like this seems to occur about once every year or two. The laptop was right there in plain sight on the desk but I saw right past it. Last year I left valuables in the room safe.

I've tried various things like putting fluorescent tape on things like computer power supplies which are usually black and easy to overlook. Since last years debacle of leaving things behind in the room safe, I now include something in the safe that you can't leave without--like a dress shoe. This works for me because I am always wearing a uniform when I check out and its pretty hard to walk out with only one shoe on!

Hope this helps.

Room Tip: View out the back side is a construction site if that matters to you. Shanghai is not that pretty f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities、food and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
152 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here for two nights while on business in Shanghai. This is a newer property and is very nice. The rooms are very clean and the bed was comfaortable. Also, no lingering smell of smoke in a non-smoking room as you often find in China. The breakfast was very good with many selections. Recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi. I hope that you have enjoyed a pleasant journey onwards from our property and that this message finds you well!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding what you enjoyed during your stay.We look forward to your return!

With kind regards,

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel a couple of times, and we're back again. Friendly staff, great buffet breakfast choices, and only a 2 block walk to the Metro. The price makes it a good value. And there are some coffee shop type restaurants nearby, so if you just don't want to make the trip to central area, you have some decent casual choices.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi. I hope that you have enjoyed a pleasant journey onwards from our property and that this message finds you well!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding what you enjoyed during your stay.We look forward to your return!

With kind regards,

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi

Address: No.338 Hengfeng Road, Shanghai 200070, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#32 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#37 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#50 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#104 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Puxi Marriott Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.