We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel, good food, lovely room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.338 Hengfeng Road, Shanghai 200070, China (Shanghai Railway Station)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 4
Ranked #25 of 3,792 hotels in Shanghai
Lowestoft, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Modern hotel, good food, lovely room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of a tour of China which finished in Shanghai. The hotel reception area is clean and modern and the whole hotel was nicely decorated.

The bedroom we had was lovely, nice and large, good size bed, desk, chairs, tea / coffee making facilities and a decent sized shower. As we had a corner room we had excellent scenic views across a large part of the city. You could even see the Oriental Pearl Tower in the Bund area of the city (about 3 miles away) from the room.

The hotel facilities were good and modern, no free Wi-Fi in the rooms but the complimentary Wi-Fi in the foyer was good and worked very well. The hotel has a small pool, which was ok, although it was compulsory to wear swimming caps (which they sold at a reasonable price).

The hotel location is a good distance from the Bund area but is close to Shanghai Railway Station and in that area there are plenty of dining options, including western options such as McDonalds. There are some pretty walks in Mengqing Park just north of the hotel and there is a Jade Buddha Temple just a block or two away. Dining in the hotel restaurant was good although a little pricey. We dined there in the evening twice and all meals were very nice. Cocktails were around £6. Breakfast menu was the same each day but there was plenty of choice and the many fresh fruit juices available were gorgeous.

Overall we were very impressed with the hotel and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi. I hope that you have enjoyed a pleasant journey onwards from our property and that this message finds you well!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding what you enjoyed during your stay.We look forward to your return!

With kind regards,

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    145
    30
    5
    3
See reviews for
46
80
40
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just got back from a 17-day tour of mainland China and Hong Kong, and this was by far, the best hotel we stayed at!! The staff is friendly and competent, and this Courtyard Marriott was more like a regular Marriott. The room and hotel facilities were more high-end, and the breakfast was terrific. The location of the hotel was quite good, and very close to a railway station, a corner store, and some good restaurants. Wi-fi was in the lobby, but if you are a Marriott Rewards member, you could also get it in your room. You could sign up over the phone to get on the rewards program. Tip: To swim in the pool, you need a swim cap--no problem if you don't have one though--you can purchase at the desk near the pool. I highly recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are better. Some members of our group were on a lower floor and heard co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities、food and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here in June 2013 for two nights part of a group of 18 people touring China. The Hotel was comfortable, very clean and the service was good. The breakfast though catered mainly for Chinese people. Western food was not ample enough. The room was large and the bed was a luxury. I liked the shower which has a see-through glass panel towards the main bedroom There is also a nice workplace in the room to do your computer and other work.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi. I hope that you have enjoyed a pleasant journey onwards from our property and that this message finds you well!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding what you enjoyed during your stay.We look forward to your return!

With kind regards,

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights during recent business trip in Shanghai. This is my second times staying at this hotel, the room still as comfort as before, but a bit dissapointed with the breakfast menu as the menu is the same for whole entire 3 days during my stay.

This time round they also didn't provide the paper bag in room as before until we make a special request, and there will be rmb5 each if we request more than 1pc...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a quantum leap from Courtyard Hotels that I've experienced in the US. I stay here every time I visit Shanghai and can't imagine staying anywhere else. The rooms are large, clean, beautifully designed and appointed. Great bathrooms with all the extra amenities. The upgrade for breakfast is well worth it, especially if you can also get upgraded to concierge level. The concierge level on the 30th floor has great food that provides a very satisfying dinner and lighter meals throughout the day. The hotel is right next to the Intercontinental Hotel (a landmark for taxi drivers, with many street signs pointing the way). It's also just a couple of blocks from the teeming train station. The subway is within two hundred yards and will take you anywhere in the city for next to nothing.
The staff are always helpful and courteous and most speak excellent English.
Overall, I cannot recommend this hotel enough. The price is less than $100 per night (pricey by Chinese standards,m but well worth it). I have seen the Holiday Inn nearby and this hotel is worth twice the price, even though the room rates are comparable.

Room Tip: Upgrade to concierge level, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed for one night during a recent stopover in Shanghai. The hotel looks quite new.
My non-smoking room which I booked several days ago was not available, so they gave me a smoking room which is closed to the elevator even at a higher floor.
The lounge was closed due to the Chinese Dragon Festival, so the receptionist suggested me spending some time in the lobby bar and I clearly rememberd she told me that it will be still free for the elite member. But after I freshed myself up and get downstais, surprisingly I was told by the bartender that "you are welcome to sit here, but you are gonna have to pay for everything on your own." Moreover, the entire lobby bar was like a noisy and smoky waiting room in a train station. A lot of local people chatted and laughed loudly.

It was raining the next morning, which made quite a view while have breakfast in the Cafe. Standard quality buffet, nothing special.

The swimming pool is really small.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We appreciate your feedback on this website pertaining to your positive feedback on facilities during your stay with us. At Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectation on some parts and for this we extend our apology. Please feel free to contact with me if you have anything would like to share to hotel managment. We valued your comments and hotel are committed to providing you with the highest level of servcie.
Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Marriott Courtyard Puxi's location near the Shanghai Railway station and the Hanzhong Road Metro Station (Line 1) is convenient for access to Shanghai and Shanghai area locations if you're adventurous enough to take the public transportation (the Metro is a great deal, 7 RMB in from the airport, but at rush hour can be quite challenging, particularly if you're carrying your luggage). The hotel does seem to have a lot of tour groups, but the Executive Lounge is free of them and offers a quiet oasis to work, read, or enjoy breakfast or appetizers in the evening. The appetizer selection is good - I had duck, dumplings, sushi, and other tempting dishes. The hotel and Lounge staff is proactive and helpful. The rates are good for the quality and service offered - this has become my place to stay in Shanghai on business.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities、food and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi

Address: No.338 Hengfeng Road, Shanghai 200070, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#24 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#50 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#192 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Puxi Marriott Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.