We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.338 Hengfeng Road, Shanghai 200070, China (Shanghai Railway Station)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #28 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 428 Reviews
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Clean, value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights with the marriott's offer of 3 for 2, so it works out around 750RMB/night. The hotel locates 10 min walk from Shanghai train station, which is handy if you are going to travel to other city. Anyway we arrived from the airport and took the Maglev train, then changed for metro, as the hotel is also not far from the metro station. The location is not bad, and you are expected to commute out by taxi as taxi in SH is cheap. The service is superb and the room is really large and comfy. Highly recommended if you are staying at least 3 nights in SH.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    166
    35
    5
    3
See reviews for
52
90
47
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We were happy when we spent our stay at Marriot Hotel, the room was great , it had a big window and great view. The room was spacious and lovely furnitures,too. The location was excellent in city center, would recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi. I hope that you have enjoyed a pleasant journey onwards from our property and that this message finds you well!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding what you enjoyed during your stay.We look forward to your return!

With kind regards,

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at this property before, in 2011, and I was here for a few nights in January 2013. This hotel continues to impress me and I would hastily recommend it to anyone travelling to Shanghai – it is of good quality and usually has good prices to boot. I would definitely stay here again.

PROS:

- Very comfortable rooms, very clean and to a very good standard of décor and comfort. The beds were very comfortable, and the rooms’ noise insulation was very good, with little noise from the outside or from the corridor.
- Quick check in, and friendly staff with very good levels of English. The guys on the doors were very helpful in calling taxis for me when there were none outside the hotel.
- Location is great for the railway station and for the Hanzhong Rd subway stop just half a block away.
- Location is also good for eating and coffee options. Step out of the hotel and to the left just across the road are a coffee shop and a couple of eating options, and a block away is a Starbucks. Nearer the station there are the standard KFC, McDonalds, and Ajisen Ramen, as well as a range of other eating places. There is also the Evergreen mall two blocks away. There is a Watsons store next to the hotel (across the road to the left if you step out of the hotel) which is useful for bottled water, snacks (both packaged and hot), and toiletries.

CONS:

- If you like a more ‘touristy’ location this is not the place for you, since Hengfeng Road is a main road from the station into town, and there is little to ‘see’ in the immediate area.
- There is no sauna/steam room/hot tub at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi. I hope that you have enjoyed a pleasant journey onwards from our property and that this message finds you well!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding what you enjoyed during your stay.We look forward to your return!

With kind regards,

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Spent 3 nights here. Booked 2 rooms with Priceline no name biddding. Could not have asked for better. New, well maintained Hotel with friendly helpfull staff. Location not the best but metro staion a hundred metres away.
Tip : if you comming from the airport thake the Shanghai Railway station airbus. Hotel is about 300 metres walk from station.
For the amount i paid, this hotel offered full value if not more!! Will definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: ASk for an upgrade. They normally upgrade you to the premier rooms higher up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi. I hope that you have enjoyed a pleasant journey onwards from our property and that this message finds you well!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding what you enjoyed during your stay. I do appreciate for your compliment comments on our room、 location and restaurent as well as staff service. In fact, our location is also good,only minutes walking to Shanghai Railway Station and metro line 1, 3 &4. A number of city attractions are with easy access, only 10 minutes to Nanjing Road West, Jing An Temple and People Square. 30 minutes from Hongqiao International Airport and 60 minutes to Pudong International Airport.

We look forward to your return! Until then, please feel free to contact us with any further questions, comments or concerns!

With kind regards,

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communications manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had a deal on priceline wich allowed to stay here for 45dollar a night, wich we thought was a bargain. We had a really big room, with rain shower and nice view, very modern decor. The people at the front desk were very friendly, and helped really well. They even arranged traintickets for us. Beds are somewhat softer then the usual hard beds you have to sleep on, and when you want a simple but healthy meal head over (on the same street) to Wagas, loved there food! location is somewhat out of the way, but with a taxi this is simply solved! would stay here again.

Room Tip: The higher your room, the nicer view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities、food and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

I was able to spend a week in this hotel and I personally think it is one if the most cost convenient of the Marriott chain in Shanghai. I went there for business purposes and I prefer this hotel instead of the Courtyard Xujiahui (where I went a year before and which by the way is more expensive and pretty close to this one).

The traffic at peak hours can be really awful but this happens in all Shanghai, so there is pretty much nothing you can do.... Just take the subway which by the way is very close to this hotel!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi. I hope that you have enjoyed a pleasant journey onwards from our property and that this message finds you well!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding what you enjoyed during your stay.We look forward to your return!

With kind regards,

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I'm very disappointed. Actually this is my first time in Courtyard hotel, and after this horrible stay, I highly doubt if I would stay once more in any Courtyard around the world.

When I checked in, everything seemed nice. Someone would get you a cup of hot tea at the front desk, and then take you to the elevator. The room is very spacious and almost clean, and it's not noisy at all since the hotel is not located at the busiest block in town.

However, at the second day, everything went wrong. First my door key didn't work. I had to reactivate it. If someone had told me earlier, I wouldn't have to go up and down to the 25th floor twice. Then the scale didn't have batteries in it. The housekeeping lady could not speak fluent Mandarin. This is not a very cheap Motel 168, so I assumed she could be more polite. This was not the issue though. When I wanted to shower at around 11:30 pm, I found out that someone had obviously set my shower. Maybe this was my fault because I was just too stupid to figure out how to use it myself. I could not understand the instruction by the lady at front desk on the phone either. Why don't they just put a sign at the shower to avoid questions from an uneducated guest like me? And if they do have only one repairman at night, which is totally understandable, why don't they explain at the first time that I have to wait for a little bit longer? I had to pretend I was furious so that I could know why.

The place you put your shower gel has super wide slots. Everything you place in there will fall on the floor. So notice that. There's no good place for breakfast around the hotel. I didn't try the restaurant on the second floor because people say it's bad on Tripadvisor. So buy some bread and milk at Lawson next door.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We appreciate your feedback on this website during your stay with us. At Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectation on some parts and for this we extend our apology. Please feel free to contact with me if you have anything would like to share to hotel managment. We valued your comments and hotel are committed to providing you with the highest level of servcie.
Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi

Address: No.338 Hengfeng Road, Shanghai 200070, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#25 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#28 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#50 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#176 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Puxi Marriott Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.