We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want Affordable Luxury at End of Day? Stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.338 Hengfeng Road, Shanghai 200070, China (Shanghai Railway Station)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
50% off suite Offer
Ranked #27 of 3,926 Hotels in Shanghai
Hawaii
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Want Affordable Luxury at End of Day? Stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

After many considerations taking into account location, price and TA reviews, I selected Courtyard by Marriott Puxi. I have no regrets at all. As others have noted, the physical condition of the property is new and not representative of a typical Courtyard in the US. It has an upscale atmosphere from lobby to rooms. The rooms are very comfortable and modern with highlights including they Marriott comfort found in the bedding, flat panel tv with multiple channel options and large bathroom with separate bath tub and shower which includes bench inside shower-a nice touch. Lobby Lounge was very comfortable and the bar/lounge was roomy and prices for drinks were reasonable. Free wi-fi available in lobby - in fact Marriott properties in Asia currently have promo for free in-room internet to all level Rewards Members (!) - good move Marriott!
My rate included breakfast which was very complete with many selections. Considering the rate that included breakfast and internet, this was a steal. Yes, the only slight downside was the location was not in the thick of things but as many have also mentioned taxis in Shanghai are so cheap and no drivers i encountered had difficulty in getting me back to the property.
The staff were very helpful and English was communicated with little challenges. They arranged a tour, helped me with use of gym facilities prior to my late night flight back to the US - everything was assisted without a problem and they had a terrific attitude and were very friendly.
Overall, this was an incredible value - you will not be sorry. I debated extending my stay but prior engagements back home called for my departure to my sadness. Courtyard by Marriott Puxi - a great place to call home at the end of a day of enjoying the great city of Shanghai!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    158
    34
    5
    3
See reviews for
50
88
44
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

The atmosphere, design and decor of the hotel is good. Rooms are decent, clean and comfortable, however the towels are very ruff and smells funny and unfortunately the rooms do not have dressing gowns either.
The staff needs more training especially in the cafe, however they do speak decent English. We were very disappointed with the food, they had a choice between an a la carte menu and a Buffet. Food from the buffet did not look very fresh and there was not much choice, dessert however looked appetising. From the menu itself the food was not impressive and kind of tasteless, my husband ordered a chocolate browny which were rock hard and he could barely put his fork through, it was as if it came fresh from the freezer......
The area itself is very impersonal and we would much rather recommend the French Concession area. Value for money - well you can definitely find better quality elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

I have slept in this hotel for four nights with access to the executive lounge. The hotel is really comfortable, the room was nice and with enough space for three people. No internet for free (100 CNY per day) except in the executive lounge. The big problem of this hotel is represented by the employees: they were absolutely rude and impolite in all the occasions and they speak a very poor english. At the very end of our stay, the concierge also offered to call a taxi and he called a °black taxi° which asked us the triple of the normal price to go to the airport. Stay away from the employees and you can enjoy a nice stay here. But do not ask them any information if you dont want to get in troubles.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The hotel is very nice, very clean since it is fairly new. We stayed in the executive floor which is on the same floor as the executive lounge which became our extended living room. We had a great time relaxing there after a tiring day of shopping and sightseeing. The staff were very friendly and very helpful to us. The only drawback is the location since it's not really within walking to distance to anything. Even the nearest convenience store is a bit of a walk especially after your feet are already tired from a full day of walking. But overall, we were very impressed with the hotel and the service.

Room Tip: Go for the executive rooms, it's worth it!
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

We bought a package with this hotel. This hotel is quite new with modern design. Everything is clean and compact. As it is a business hotel, it is equipped with a small swimming pool and a gym which can satisfy the clients. Also, the printer, scanner and computer is free of charge at the lobby, though they charge money for internet and wifi at room.

The location is quite convenience as it is only 5-7 minutes walking away from the underground train. Or you can take a taxi to most of the scenic points within RMB30.

Although this is a not a luxury hotel and provide supreme services, I believe it is a great hotel for everything you need for a city trip!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011 via mobile

We stayed for three nights at the end of a very busy week in China. I am a MR Platinum so it impossible that non elites will not have as great of an experience, but I doubt. Whe we checked in we (my wife and I) were given a room on the 29th floor. Whe. We arrived we heard a lot of noise from the construction project across the street. When I inquired with the receptionist at the lounge about the hours of construction she immediately had us moved to a suite on the opposite side of the hotel. The new room was very nice with ultra modern amenities and was very clean.

I had some business papers that needed printing/scanning and the lounge staff was amazing. We also enjoyed excellent evening snacks and drinks nightly in the lounge.

We opted to eat breakfast in the MoMo Cafe and we were very pleased with the qualify and variety.

We were concerned about some of the comments on here about the hot water and inconsistent service but found non of it. We almost stated at the JW but could not justify the increase in price. We found the hotel to be on par or exceed almost every stateside Marriott.

I rarely give hotels 5 stars but this one gets it for the value and quality of the property.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

This is a relatively new hotel. The facilities are good and clean. Room size (standard room) is quite good and acceptable, and decor is light wood which adds to the feeling of spaciousness. There is no free in-room broadband (quite unusual for China hotels of this standard). However, guests are able to use the restaurant workstations during breakfast for no charge (seems if you spend on food the rules are relaxed, even if the breakfast is included in the room package and you've paid no extra!). So queue up for e-mail in the mornings - there are just two monitors available. Location is very good with a rail subway entrance just 5 minutes walk away (Hanzhong Road Station) with the next stop at People's Square just a couple of munites away which provides access to most of Shanghai. There is also a Pacific Dept Store nearby with Starbucks (free internet, ask for the code if you don't have a China mobile), McD, KFC and numerous other restaurants. There's a nice garden/tree lined river walk along the Shuzhou Creek (Wusong River) to the rear of the hotel. I had two rooms booked for four nights. Only gripe is that the hotel failed to upload Marriott points to my account despite confirming that my number was in the system.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi

Address: No.338 Hengfeng Road, Shanghai 200070, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#28 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#55 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#186 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip DaoDao, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Puxi Marriott Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.