We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet apartment, well-placed for all visits” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skiline World Union Service Apartment

Skiline World Union Service Apartment
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Skiline World Union Service Apartment to your Saves list
Skiline World Union Service Apartment
3.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   Room 1912, No.199 Urumqi North Road, Shanghai, China (Jing'an Temple)   |  
Ranked #561 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quiet apartment, well-placed for all visits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Our first time to Asia & a memorable holiday. So many different attractions: gardens, temples, skyscrapers , museums, old parts of a city with plenty of history...
Don't miss The Bund, by day & also by night, visit some temples: the Jade Buddha Temple (over-commercialised), Jing'An Temple -on the door-step!- was more impressive as was the temple at Longhua which is a good example of a place of worship in daily use. Fabulous pagoda nearby & an interesting memorial park.
Enjoy the YuYuan Gardens,very peaceful despite being close to a bustling bazaar (also worth a visit, especially if you like bargaining!)
Visit the old parts of town -Dongtai Antiques market (sells more than antiques, silk, silver, jade...) & the Bird, insect & flower market on Xizang South Rd.
Worth a visit too:the Shanghai Museum near People's Square, a silk factory & shop at 289 Aomen Rd & M50 on Moganshan Rd.
Sample the local cuisine such as filled dumplings, often sold at the roadside but be careful of hygiene. Good selection of eating places other than those suggested in guide-books. Near the apartment, you'll find a basement eating mall in the '1788' complex. Quibao is also worth a visit for its main street of gift shops leading on to a vast selection of food stalls. Wonderful smells & a pleasure to look at.
Take a stroll in the French Concession & visit Fuxing Park, Xintiandi & Tianzifang & admire the French style buildings.
Beware of scams- decline having tea after friendly offers to take your photo

Close to Metro lines 2 & 7,easy access to all areas. Jing'An Temple is 5 minutes walk away. Plenty of shops (food and general) and places to eat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

located in the same place as the World Union Serviced Apartments and therefore, not too much else to say about the location etc, it is very close to Jing an Temple and the area is great place.

The apartment I have i stayed in here seems to be a little bit more per night than World Union and also a little bit smaller so once or if you have stayed in the latter maybe you dont think this is as good however in terms of value for money this is still a great choice and that is not a second choice either. Service is good too. I forgot something and called the office after i had checked out, the staff kept it for me for a week until i could come and collect it, which i thought was a very decent thing to do. Would recommend this as an option of affordable, quality acommodation in Shanghai.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Good location, really nice attentive staff, not familiar with standards for a western traveler - bathroom surfaces not clean, certainly not disinfected with cleaner, shower floor also felt grimy. Floor in living area not clean either - hair and other. Towels leftover from communist era. Bed exceptionally comfortable, but metal footboards and I am tall. Furniture very cheap, no central cooling.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vladivostok, Primor'ye, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed there for a week and were very satisfied. Our room was large with big windows and a good view. Small kitchen was very usefull for us. Wired and wireless Internet was provided for free. Hotel is located very close to Jing'an temple subway station. The was a big supermarket and a lots of small restraunts in the neibourhood that we enjoyed exploring.

The only minus was room temperature: we had a large room with only one working heating unit and a slight draft from one of the windows. Since we stayed in early April the room was cool for a first couple of nights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

i stayed 1 night at skiline serviced apartment. impressed with the amenities and the view. the management was particularly accommodating. its location is in a quaint little area, across an internet cafe and ktv i think. 5minute walk from the nearest train station. would stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Skiline World Union Service Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skiline World Union Service Apartment

Address: Room 1912, No.199 Urumqi North Road, Shanghai, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an Temple
Hotel Style:
Ranked #561 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Skiline World Union Service Apartment 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Skiline World Union Service Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skiline World Union Service Apartment, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.