We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and worth to see” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zhujiajiao Ancient Town

Zhujiajiao Ancient Town
No.36 Meizhou Road, Zhujiajiao Town, Qingpu District, Shanghai 201713, China
021-59240077
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$90*
and up
Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour from...
Ranked #23 of 1,285 things to do in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Zhujiajiao is an ancient water town also known as the "pearl stream." Best known for its bridges, built during Ming and Qing Dynasties, the various spans are built of wood, marble and stone.
Ankara
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice place and worth to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

There are tours to here.
But if you went with a city bus, it is possible to buy a tour.
Boat trip is recommended. I couldn't, but I wish I could.
I took a tricycle and the driver (he couldn't speak English) accompanied with me.
Don't forget to take your camera.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Evrim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very nice little town, worth the detour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Like any other nice place in China it is crowded with chinese tourists but it is very nice. Small little streets all along the canal, many little souvenir shops and cafes with awesome views. Have a tour, it takes between one and two hours depending on how many shops you stop by. It is nicely decorated, and even if it's not genuine, it really feels like china. =)
To go by bus, it's 12Y each way (1euro) for one hour of bus. You take the best east of people square, in pink buses, the only ones with a huuuge line of chinese toursits. So if you want to avoid the line, go early!
Look at my pictures for more info!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lalarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Level Contributor
853 reviews
248 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Nice place alternative travel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The tour bus charges HK$200 for a half a day trip.
We checked the postings and took the underground number 2 to the end of the line past honggiad airport station. name: east xuing this is away from pudong international airport. Exit number 4 and taxi stand to the left around 130HK$ one way including toll road charge to the center of the attraction. We walked around the river banks and had a nice lunch at one of the many restaurants located on the water.
There is also a supermarket next to kfc the boats charge a flat rate 65 or 125 depends on the length of the trip up to 6 people. Lots of shopping most stuff is overpriced. Return we took a bicycle ride for HK$10 for 2 people to the bus station and the bus ride was 2 hours back to people's square for 9 yen per person. Nice strawberries where for sale at the station too. It was a nice trip if you stay at least 3 nights . MeuterMedia

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MeuterMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
140 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Worth the trip but a little commercialized”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

An alternative way to get there instead of the bus is to take metro line 2 , to the end 3 stops passed the airport, then take a cab ride . These are cheaper than in Shanghai. Although more expensive than a bus this is a quicker way if you have not got much time ( an hour each way). Remember to get your destination written in Chinese for the taxi driver ( as always !!) Personally there is not that much in Shanghai to visit as a tourist but this is a good trip to take and if you have the time go to the torist office for a guided tour. If not (or both) hop on a boat and drift along the ancient waterways. Admittedley nearly all the buildings are tourist shops but it has charm. You can still see some local flavour in the food shops and the restaurants over the water are nice.
So if you are in Shanghai on business and have an afternoon to spare this will give you a real flavour of China. If you like pearls or want a present they are cheap hear , a natuarl pearl necklace is just 120 RMB and yes they can prove they are real ! Just look for the shop with the oysters in water tanks outside.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KWokB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Interesting but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We came to the village with a guide in the afternoon, in the evening. There was no crowds of tourists and we were able to calmly walk over bridges and streets, ride on a boat. In the evening we sat in the empty cafe on the canal and drinking green tea. Villagers continue a normal life without the tourists. The old ladies were talking in front of the house, residents preparing food in balconies
The place is fun, but expensive tour. High prices in the cafe. Simple green tea from 80 to 100 yuan for a small kettle

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rika59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zhujiajiao Ancient Town also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Zhujiajiao Ancient Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing