We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Brunch in the City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Save Saved
You added Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2 Zhongshan Dong Yi Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China (The Bund)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #3 of 3,738 hotels in Shanghai
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Best Brunch in the City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Last Sunday partner and I had brunch at the Waldorf Astoria on the Bund. Everything was just perfect!

We started at the Long Bar with champagne, very good oysters and a very nice and refined selection of canapes.

Around 12:30, their staff roomed us to the restaurant Grand Brasserie where we found the most amaizing buffet with everything that you can dream of... Pastries, sushi, sashimi, caviar, seafood, chinese & western appetizers, fruits, all type of amaizing desserts... Plus this time, and as a difference to highlight, three choices out of their a la carta brunch menu that were incredible, such as Duck confit omelette with truffles!! Delicious!

Apart from the food, the service was exceptional (something very difficult to find in China, even in 5* Luxury hotels...). Very helpfull and friendly! Linda, the person who was in charge of the Brunch that morning was very nice! She even explained the history of the Long Bar and their Heritage Building! An amaizing place and an incredible experience!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
It is such a joy to receive such nice compliment on our Sunday Champagne Brunch quality of cuisine and service. We do agree with your comments in every aspect. Our brunch is very popular, particularly because, in addition to the buffet spread, our guests could also select multiple choices of gourmet dishes from a special Brunch menu. The selections are then prepared a la minute and served at the table. We hope to serve you again and thank you for recommending our Brunch to others.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    557
    81
    20
    8
    5
See reviews for
102
192
30
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Amboy, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I've been in every high end hotel chain, as well as a no. of independents, but have never had such a wonderful experience. Rooms are spotless, the beds - sleep-inducing!, the view is spectacular and the bathroom is like visiting DisneyWorld.(I won't give that little surprise away!) Staff are friendly and helpful, moreover, they don't miss the tiniest detail. Book an upper level room actually on the Bund!

Room Tip: Views facing the Bund can not be missed! If it costs more, it IS worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for staying at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund and for your compliment on the beautiful view from our guest rooms, our facilities as well as our service. We are glad that you had a wonderful experience and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Shanghai.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOSCOW, RUSSIA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

in my first visit to Shanghai we stayed in two hotels - JW MERIOTT APPARTMENTS and WALDORFASTORIA. Maybe I'm too strict, but as the best hotel in Shanghai Waldorf, I compare it with the best hotels in the big cities of Asia. in particular with the Kempinski Bangkok and Mandarin in Chiang Mai. Any special service is not felt. Room service very inattentive. cleaning untidy. the maid could enter the room, even if there is a stop icon. The rooms are equipped with the latest technology. Smart home! However mattresses substandard. when your partner turns on the mattress you feel every movement. Breakfast at Meriott was interesting and better. Concierge does not work closely. To a request for restaurant recommendations once got an answer - I do not know what you like, go and see for yourself ... In general, despite the criticism, it is a good five-star hotel. with the history and quality service. Other than that, probablya guilty the legacy of the recent past in China.

Room Tip: The most important river views .. Starting from the 10th floor, we lived on 15 ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for staying with us recently, we are disappointed to learn that you did not have a good impression of our overall service. We take your remark very seriously and immediate steps had be taken on the areas which you have highlighted. We trust you will find the improvement on your next visit.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed in Shanghai for 5 nights, 2 nights spent at the Waldorf. River view room was amazing. The lobby and facilities top class. Taxi drivers had a few issues knowing where to drop us off (it is around the corner not on the main road) but other than that great experience.

Checked in at 3pm and our room wasn't ready so they upgraded us!

Service only second to the Peninsula Shanghai!

Room Tip: River view room definitely
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai. We are appreciative of your nice comments of our hotel facilities and services. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The service and attention to detail at this hotel are excellent. We arrived to be greated by name at the door after a seamless pick up at the airport by the hotel limousine. Even though our booking was partly done using Hilton honours points we were upgraded to a Bund view room. Check in happened personally in our room with a minimum of fuss.
The use of technology here is fantastic, from swipe cards on doors and lifts, to automatic night lights that come on when you get out of bed. The bed was fantastic and last night I had the best sleep I've had since leaving home a week ago.
The long bar is like a trip back in time and a special treat for pre dinner drinks. We dined in the Chinese restaurant last night enjoying the excellent hairy crab set menu.
Overall I can't find anything to complain about at this hotel, unfortunately it is very expensive but you do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comments of our comfortable beds, our service, the Long Bar as well as Wei Jing Ge. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Shanghai.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Waldorf=Astoria on The Bund in Shanghai overlooks the Huangpu River and the magnificent Shanghai skyline. What China has achieved in the last few years in fantastic buildings is extraordinary. The hotel room was tremendous and "Toto" if you have used one - well we really wanted to kidnap and bring home :)! The room devine and pillow selection superb and the staff in the hotel were just perfect. In particular the breakfast and evening staff in the general restaurant and in "The Alley" simply lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. We are so proud as well as most appreciative of your nice comments of our room view, hotel facilities and services. We look forward to having you back at the Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is a nice but very expensive hotel. Rooms are spacious. Free wi-fi. But Room Service breakfast could be a lot better. Love the in-room Nespresso machine in the suites.

The hotel still doesn't have spa.

Room Tip: Room with The Bund view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and nice comments on our hotel accomodation and amenities. We also noted about the In-room service menu, and with our Waldorf Spa, this facility is at the final finishing stage. The opening is scheduled for the early part of Q1 2013. It is located on the 3rd level of the hotel with 12 treatment rooms including a well designed space for relaxation. We hope you will be able to experience a spa treatment on your next visit.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Address: No.2 Zhongshan Dong Yi Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#347 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the history and culture of the celebrated Shanghai Bund with a taste for 21st century sophistication, Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund offers a heritage ambiance, legendary service and timeless amenities to make your stay truly memorable and distinct. Housed within the two-building complex in phases are 260 well-appointed rooms and suites, stylish environments for dining and lounging, extensive banquet facilities with stunning views, luxury spa, fully-fitted gym ,free WiFi and more, all crafted onto a picture perfect setting that speaks volume of the grandeur and finesse that is uniquely ours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao and Otel so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai On The Bund Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.