We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund to your Saves list
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2 Zhongshan Dong Yi Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China (The Bund)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 4 nights, pay for 3!
Ranked #4 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 785 Reviews
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Flawless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Flawless does not even begin to describe this hotel.

A old charming building in the Bund district of Shanghai, which is then connected to a newer part of the hotel that is the tower.

You go through the peacock alley (typical of Waldorf hotels), and this one is HUGE. The hotel furnishings are luxurious and rich.

I had a junior suite, and it was simply perfect. The bed, room layout, bathroom, amenities, the nice little touches with cookies, etc.

The service in the hotel is exceptional.

It is a pricey hotel, which is what you would expect from a hotel in this caliber.

A must try hotel, even if once in a life time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    92
    24
    9
    9
See reviews for
122
228
38
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We had 2 wonderful days here. The hotel is beautifully furnished, very grand and impressive but tasteful. The flower arrangements are exquisite. Our suite was luxurious, with everything one could wish for. We found the staff pleasant, helpful and charming. The catering manager proudly offered to give us a tour of the various restaurants and ballroom. He said most of the hotel was recently refurbished, and it certainly looked clean and new. There was tea, coffee and biscuits in the library for the use of guests. The breakfast was amazing, each dish beautifully presented. We had room service at night which was efficient and easy. The location was excellent, the concierge helpful and the reception desk staff excellent. This was a real treat.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is a delightful hotel. Service was extraordinary w/o being obsequious as can happen w/ 5 star hotels. Beautiful space, although a bit spread out ( it reaches from the riverfront to the back of the block ). Concierge desk was very helpful w/ the usual recommendations and obtaining taxis... Terrific view from our room of the Pudong area across the river though you probably do need to request the right room. My vote goes to 2007. All in all a wonderful experience for a first time visitor to Shanghai.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

A wonderful welcome which was a surprise considering I have never stayed here before, Just have patience at the initial check in and you will be very pleasantly surprised throughout your entire visit, will have to stay here again,

Thank You, ...

Room Tip: Definatly a corner suite Higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

This was my first stay at the Waldorf in Shanghai and having read very good things about it was looking forward to my stay. The hotel is, true to its pictures, very beautiful. The lobby is large, grand and strangely empty of people. After check in I was escorted to the room and it definitely had the wow factor. Very large rooms and bathrooms that they've managed to really give a luxurious feel to with the quality of the finishes (often not the case in China). The room seems to be wearing well and was clearly maintained to a high standard. Super comfortable bed, great sheets and towels, really can't fault them room wise. What surprised me was the impersonal feeling of the hotel. From the empty lobby where I was rarely acknowledged to the door people who didn't seem very bothered about guests taxi needs. The main entrance to the hotel is at the back side and the taxi rank is hidden from view of the entrance, while I had a driver organized I would stand watching as most people went ignored while waiting fo a taxi. Breakfast was good, but far from great, I usually stay at the Hyatt on the Bund and they far exceed the Waldorf's breakfast offer. And while there were a couple of very friendly restaurant staff most seemed to just be wandering around aimlessly. Drinks and service at the long bar were very good.
All in all it's a very good hotel, it could be a great hotel if they get service details ironed out.
Would I stay at the Waldorf again? Maybe, but I'd probably chose the Hyatt....



-Impersonal service
-Taxi's
-

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Returned after a stay in october and very disapointed
From arriving with no one to collect bags and waiting in a disorganised check in counter for 20 minutes
To a pitiful lunch service at the brasseri
Same slack service at breakfast
The hotel is beatiful
But the service standard is poor compared to what we experienced previously
Feel really embarassed as have been pushing this hotels to friends to stay there
Not any more !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay. We were very disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction this visit however, appreciate your feedback. We receive your constructive review well and will use this to further develop our services.

Should you have the time to discuss this with us in more detail, kindly reach out to us on shawa.info@waldorfastoria.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

There is a separate hotel entrance on the side street that I was not aware of. Anyway, there were two doormen that quickly radioed my name from the luggage tags to the front desk. This is really how it should work in five star hotels. By the time we got to the front desk, everything was ready and I was just escorted to the suite where the check in formalities i.e. scanning of the passport was done.

The suite was absolutely stunning. Even though it was called just a junior suite, it could have been as easily classified as an executive suite as well. In addition to the spacious bedroom there was a separate half sized room with a work desk as well.

The fruit display with cherries was the most impressive I have ever received at a Hilton property. In addition there was some hard candy on the other room and selection of desserts on the bedroom next to the television.

I was surprised to find Salvatore Ferragamo Tuscan Soul bathroom amenities.

Fitness center had modern equipment, but was quite small considering the size of the hotel. Same for the pool. The workout facility was not busy when I was there.

The breakfast was very good that is complimentary for Diamond, and most likely for Gold members as well. You had a selection of items that you could order from the ala carte menu and rather extensive buffet.

This was really a very good Hilton family hotel. The service is typically not so great even at “better” hotels in China. My stay at the Waldorf-Astoria Shanghai on the Bund was as perfect as it could have been, however. Wouldn’t hesitate to return and most certainly will.

Room Tip: Try to get a room/suite with a Bund view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Address: No.2 Zhongshan Dong Yi Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#316 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the history and culture of the celebrated Shanghai Bund with a taste for 21st century sophistication, Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund offers a heritage ambiance, legendary service and timeless amenities to make your stay truly memorable and distinct. Housed within the two-building complex in phases are 260 well-appointed rooms and suites, stylish environments for dining and lounging, extensive banquet facilities with stunning views, luxury spa, fully-fitted gym ,free WiFi and more, all crafted onto a picture perfect setting that speaks volume of the grandeur and finesse that is uniquely ours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai On The Bund Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.