We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night Time 1-hr Huangpu River Cruise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Huangpu River

Huangpu River
Headstreams from Dianshan Lake, Zhujiajiao Town, Qingpu District, Shanghai 201700, China
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$20*
and up
Private Custom Tour: Shanghai in One Day
Ranked #9 of 806 Attractions in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 410 Reviews
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“Night Time 1-hr Huangpu River Cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The river cruise docks are a leisurely stroll down The Bund, where many boats are available for boarding both day & night from the Shilipu Wharf.
We took a evening 1 hour cruise for Y100. The evening cruises depart every half hour from 6PM till 830PM. Some also offer dinner for additional cost.
Once you arrive at the boat docking area, walk down the stairs on the street side of the promenade, which lead underground (under the promenade).
The 1 hour (no dinner) cruise can be purchased at window #4. Disreard the guy wearing a phony uniform who will attempt to lead you to the ticket window for which he is emloyed (which is more expensive).
If you are unsure of which cruise you want, an official tourist information ofice is immediately next door to the ticket windows (they speak english).
This is not something that requires pre-booking, we showed up 10 minutes prior. It is well worth it if the weather permits. You will get excellent views of both the Pudong business district & the Bund.
The longer cruises are not worth it and in my opinion, I would eat elsewhere.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    131
    48
    5
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sailing on the River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We took a night cruise and it was beautiful. The lights on the surrounding buildings made it a bit romantic, though it was crowded. Yes, the Huangpu River is brown and dirty but it was dark and we had no intentions of swimming in it! I would definitely recommend this one.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brown and dirty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Big river but wasn't impressed with it. I just remember the whole time thinking it was dirty and brown. I took a ferry across from the Bund side to Pudong which was nice.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Famous Huangpu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Huangpu river is a tributary of the Yangtze Kiang river (which is the longest river in the world) . We didn't see the latter as we came and departed at night. However, it was great to see such a big river as Huangpu. The view from the bund was awesome with the Oriental TV Tower and other giant buildings at the back. Guess it is one of the most photographed place in Shanghai. From the TV Tower, it was less impressive.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The cruise is for one hour and absolutely must do....the light in the buildings on both sides are Amazing. Best done in evening/night as the fun is with the lights on .The changing colours of the buildings.There are some dinner cruises also but we did one without dinner and simply enjoyed the view!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huangpu River also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Huangpu River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huangpu River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.