We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great night tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huangpu River

Huangpu River
Headstreams from Dianshan Lake, Zhujiajiao Town, Qingpu District, Shanghai 201700, China
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$20*
and up
Private Custom Tour: Shanghai in One Day
Ranked #8 of 806 Attractions in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 410 Reviews
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
Larnaka, Cyprus
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“great night tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

i recommend to all shanghai visitors not lost the opportunity to have this wonderful experience to go the night tour.is just brilliant is just great

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    131
    48
    5
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
349 reviews 349 reviews
138 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“"Huangpu" must See & Do!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We have been to Shanghai numerous times during the last two years and always found time to see the Huangpu river, but it is a must see during the evening hours.
Our last stay was amazing as we stayed on "The Bund" and were able to see this curving river during all different times of the day. The unique architectures along the river sides are simply mind boggling, from turn of the century to ultra modern buildings. I have always thought of the financial side as the "Las Vegas" style of architecture with all the lights & glitter! I would highly recommend taking the local ferry accross the river from the Bund to shopping areas(few Rmbs. each).

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A river as you have many”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The main attraction is the houses at both waterfronts
See reviews of the bund
Go at night, certainly on a fog less night and enoy thr citylights
Do not bother taking a boot, just stroll the bund

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Waste of time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

The trip was advertised as half day river cruise at 1.15 or 5.15 pm. Our guide took us on a cruise at 12 noon. It lasted less than an hour. It was a drizzly and misty day. Perhaps on a dry and clear day a night cruise would have been worth the effort.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Awesome views of the city at night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We took this cruise and were amazed at the night lights along the promenade. The cruise gives you a great view of the buildings along the promenade and the lights on the buildings are fantastic.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huangpu River also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Huangpu River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huangpu River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.