We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay - great upgrade, good location but patchy service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL to your Saves list
GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.330 Meiyuan Road, Zhabei District, Shanghai 200070, China (Formerly Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya By ACCOR,Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya) (Shanghai Railway Station)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Holiday Saver 欢乐假期
Ranked #78 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Tasmania
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Second stay - great upgrade, good location but patchy service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was our second stay and a combined business/leisure trip for 6 nights. The hotel is located close to Shanghai Railway station, metro line 1 (and a short underground walk to 3/4) and is modern and new.

Last time we stayed in an executive floor room, but this time had decided to book a Deluxe King (great value at about USD90 per night). The check-in was efficient if somewhat cold and we were given an upgrade to a suite. The room was amazing and had two huge windows, electric curtains, marbled bathroom, massive TV, comfy bed and lots of space. Nice toiletries and clean everywhere. The included buffet breakfast was comprehensive most days (see below) and many staff were pleasant with acceptable English.

Three issues:
- some staff in key roles had zero English; for example we asked the concierge to reconfirm flights for us, but he had no idea what we wanted. So we asked for help in the business centre, but the guy there just walked us back to the concierge who had no idea
- we assumed that the upgrade included access to the executive lounge and went up there the first night (the room key allowed us to access the lift to the lounge); on entry we gave our room number and got a paper and my partner was filling a plate with food. The staff member rushed over and said that we did not have this benefit and had to go immediately... Bit embarrassing and not well handled
- on the days I worked, we woke early and breakfast was great; on leisure days we went down at 945am and the buffet was not being replenished; they ran out of bacon, donuts, juice, glasses etc. The buffet closes at 10am - happy we were not paying for breakfast. There was even a European background staff member on duty - so no excuse about Chinese culture. No 4.5* international hotel should run out of basic things like bacon and juice glasses

Overall, we would stay again, but in spite of the upgrade we were not as happy with the hotel as the first stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as some noise in evening from station
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Sales Coordinnator at GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear wombatdavid,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Guest comfort and well-being is our priority. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and thank you for another opportunity that you give us to better serve you in the near future. We look forward to your next stay.

Best regards,
Michelle Tao
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    422
    120
    26
    12
See reviews for
122
285
150
320
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed at this hotel a few weeks ago and have to say the location is second to none. If you are after a beautiful view its probably not the best choice but if you are here on business and nee,d to get to a range of destinations quickly, this place is perfect. After staying in Kangqiao and having to taxi to a subway station, staying here was a considerable saving in travel expenses and (most importantly) time. There is very quick access to Line 1 and only a short walk underground to other lines for Shanghai Railway Station.

The room decor and finishes are excellent and the staff are helpful.

It is handy to a great little hotpot chain in the underground subway if you go outside, take a left, go down Exit 5 (to line 1) and take your first right. Within 150m there are also 3 McDonalds, KFC, Starbucks and a very popular Japanese noodle chain.

Suggest booking online and paying in advance if you are sure you will stay here... saves a considerable amount for a long stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Sales Coordinator at GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear mtsaus,

Thank you for your good comments and recommendations to Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. Your satisfaction is the best encouragement for our work . We sincerely hope you would choose our hotel as your permanent hotel in Shanghai. Looking forward to your revisit and wish you enjoy every moment in Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya.

Best regards,
Michelle Tao
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel is right next to the train station, metro station and a number of shops and restaurants, including Mcdonalds and KFC, the breakfast in the hotel was very nice with plenty of choice.
The rooms were nice and comfortable and quiet.
It is however a bit too far from the attractions, you will need to either get a taxi or use the subway, we used the subway which is so easy to use, you simply select English, where you want to go and put your money in, very easy to change lines although very busy.
We visited the bund, Nanjing road, financial centre skywalk, the maglev and zhouzuang water village.
The only problem we had was when we were leaving we had 6 hours to wait before our pickup, it was lashing down with rain outside and the hotel wouldn't loan an umbrella without leaving a deposit, now as we were leaving china that night I didn't have any Yuans left so they let us go out and get soaked, also we were not allowed to sit in seats that were too near the bar as they are for consumption only...we had to sit in a seat a bit further away from the bar, although there was no one in the bar! a little basic customer service would help.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Sales Coordinator at GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear goafishing,

Thank you for your good comments and suggestions to Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. We will continue to work hard toward a better service. Looking forward to your next stay.

Best regards,
Michelle Tao
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Good standard Mercure hotel with convienience to railway station.
Good value and excellent appointed rooms.
The toilet bench tops need to be creaned properly, otherwise toilets clean with well appointed rooms.
Friendly reception. Concierge needs improvement.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Sales Coordinator at GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear rlsyu,

Thank you for your good comments and suggestions to Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. We will continue to work hard toward a better service. Looking forward to your next stay.

Best regards,
Michelle Tao
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel exceeded expectations for a hotel during our stay in Shanghai. Great service and rooms where everything worked perfectly. All the small details where in place. very good breakfast, nice gym and nice personnel. Location is almost perfect, only two metro stops away from Peoples Park but the hotel is only 50 meters away from the metro. From a frequent traveller I can only recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Sales Coordinator at GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear 14JohnDK,

Thank you for your good comments and recommendations to Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. Your satisfaction is the best encouragement for our work . We look forward to your revisit and wish you enjoy your every stay in our hotel.

Best regards,
Michelle Tao
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had an enjoyable two night stay in a very comfortable modern stylish room with all you require on holiday - comfortable bed and efficient shower. Very clean room and a good city view but with no traffic noise on 7th floor. Wifi and breakfast included. The hotel is a long taxi drive from the French Concession area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Sales Coordinnator at GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Ladywholunches,

Thank you for your good comments and recommendations to Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. Guest comfort and well-being is our priority. We look forward to your revisit and wish you enjoy your every stay in Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya.

Best regards,
Michelle Tao
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on our honeymoon.. Big mistake.. Awful service!
Ordered food & drinks in restaurant on first night, after 2 cocktails on menu were out of stock and no sparkling water in stock either..ended up with a beer (which took 15 minutes to arrive)
Food worse however..ordered a steak and it had to be defrosted first so we waited 45min.
When it did come but before we could even take a bite ,the forgetful waitress earlier came over with the bill immediately to sign. Totally unacceptable as its wasn't a cheap meal where you can forgive poor service..(80gbp for 2 steaks)

On second night, ordered room service..no menu was left in the room so after calls to get one we ordered. Food came and all was fine, until 15 minutes later a knock came to say we needed to pay there and then for it. My husband asked for it to be charged to the room..but this didn't suffice. He had to get up and head down to reception to increase the deposit they take from you on check in.
To sum up this hotel and china..they are only happy when westerners are been ripped off..if they think they could be out of pocket (despite having your credit card info) they come knocking for payment!!
Very happy to be checking out.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Sales Coordinator at GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear karen1945,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best regards,
Michelle Tao
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL

Address: No.330 Meiyuan Road, Zhabei District, Shanghai 200070, China (Formerly Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya By ACCOR,Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#42 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#69 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#85 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#91 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL is a brand new designer hotel ideally situated in a convenient city center location: guests can enjoy quick access to People's Square, Nanjing Road &the Bund. The hotel is only 12minutesaway fromboth Yu Garden or Xintiandi by taxi; 25 minutesaway from Shanghai Hongqiao Airport and 40 minutesaway from the Shanghai Pudong International Airport. With guest comfort and well-being as its priority, each of its well-appointed rooms & suites is a haven of comfort featuring full length glass windows;37-42 inch LCD TV screen with full laptop connectivity; internet and WIFI access; the finest in bathroom accessories with rainforest shower as well as luxury Pacific Coast bedding with 400 thread-count linen.At the GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL Dining at both the Chinese and all day dining restaurants will be a delightful culinary experience, while relaxing at the chic lifestyle lounge-bar could well be a 24-hour indulgence.For leisure and entertainment, a range of facilities located on Level 6 includes a gymnasium and chess room.Keeping fit with the gymnasium's latest equipment will be a joy, as guests take in the panoramic view of the city and the natural light by day, and city lights by night.The Spa beckons with 11therapy rooms. Well known for its special spa treatment menus,pamper yourself and rejuvenate your mind and body with oils, aromatherapy or other beauty treatments.For events, meetings, conferences and weddings, a full complement of versatile meeting and banquet facilities include an elegant Ballroom that can cater up to 350 guests, four meeting rooms. A professional team of experts are on hand to tailor every occasion to the guest's requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.