We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL to your Saves list
GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.330 Meiyuan Road, Zhabei District, Shanghai 200070, China (Formerly Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya By ACCOR,Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya) (Shanghai Railway Station)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% off + RMB100 voucher
Ranked #82 of 3,987 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Modern and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Room is clean and modern. Stayed in the superior room but unfortunately there is no wifi internet access and internet(LAN) is not free. They shutdown the air conditioning during winter, we requested them to turn on the aircon as it is quite stuffy in the room, but they said the aircon is centrally controlled and they are unable to turn on. They suggested us to open the window to circulate the air and we did open the window but it is noisy due to constant "honking" of vehicles below. Overall we still have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibaud G, Manager at GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear tkc24:

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Thibaud Geffroy
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    485
    146
    33
    16
See reviews for
148
332
158
375
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Clean Hotel, very helpful people, one was always around, that spoke english.
You can buy a 3-daypass at the metrostation.
Wifi is only in the loby available. In the room fast internet by wire. I boght a wifi-transmiter fot 10$. So we had a very fast internetconnection in ouer room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibaud G, Manager at GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Roland R B:

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Thibaud Geffroy
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydcool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were very impressed with the room, and would rate this hotel as a 4.5 star property. The location is excellent near Shanghai Central Railway Station, and the subway is just around the corner. You can get pretty much anywhere in the city by subway, or a taxi takes you for a few dollars to e.g. the Bund. You can take a direct Airport Bus from the International Airport to Central Station, which is a 2 minute walk from the hotel. The only thing that is lacking is proper Customer Service at the reception desk. Some members of staff were not very helpful, and often ended up needing assistance of a colleague for very basic questions. Not a big issue, but this certainly needs to be improved in an international hotel like this. Overall a very good stay and I can recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibaud G, Manager at GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Sydcool:

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

On the meantime we will ensure that level of english and customers service is improved urgently to enhance delivery of service excellence to each and every of our guests.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Thibaud Geffroy
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Grand Mercure is really a great hotel!

I´ve choose a room at Premier Floor which provides great facilities as access to Premier Lounge (exclusively breakfast and daily happy-hour from 5:30 to 7PM), free laundry service and internet etc.

The room is not so big because I´ve asked an extra bed, but it was ok for my needs. The hotel is very charming and clean.

The beds (extra and regular) are very comfortable and you can choose the best pillow for your dreams. The bathroom (thank God) the is no bathtub and great variety of amenities.

The bad points is the English spoken by the staff at Premier Lounge, that we suppose people there might be more qualified to the service offer. I´ve faced a lot problems there but as soon as the manager (a French guy) knew, invited me to have a coffee, to understand what happened, to apologize. It was differential.

The hotel is close to the subway, restaurants, stores… a great option in Shanghai!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibaud G, Manager at GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear JMFF:

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Thibaud Geffroy
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Located directly on Subway line One, three and Four and a foot step from The Main Railway station make this hotel a distinction.

Food and services are of Excellent value as are the hotel rooms and bath room and on top of that a very clean design and welcoming atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibaud G, Manager at GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear aj7878:

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Thibaud Geffroy
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Located right at subway station & Shanghai railway station which gives you access to a few more subway lines. Good food nearby also. Rom was fantastic & bed very comfortable. Separate shower. Breakfast excellent. Booked flights & train tickets through concierge which worked well. Definiteley recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibaud G, Manager at GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Kathy1256:

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Thibaud Geffroy
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and receive very good deal by buying online as Accor Le Club Advantage Plus Gold member. On check-in I was being offered for free upgrade to Deluxe room but only to find out what supposed to be a non-smoking room has a very strong cigarette smell inside, Hence I was asking to change to other room and was being moved to other room but no longer a Deluxe. after a long flight I just took the room and settled.
Other than above experience, I found the hotel is very nice, new and well-maintained

Pros:
- Excellent location, only 3 mins walk to Metro Line 1 (Shanghai Railway Station)
- Plenty food options nearby
- free internet access, with decent speed
- Nice room and VERY VERY comfortable bed. I think one of the best I ever had. I can compare the bed with the one used by Sofitel

Cons:
- Service from the front office and concierge staff quite indifferent but I guess it is pretty standard with hotel in China
- Food quality in the bar/restaurant not so good
- Food quality for Lunch and Breakfast Buffet at the Chinese restaurant quite standard and boring

Overall, for the price I paid , I will stay at this hotel again

Room Tip: Ask for room not facing toward the station otherwise you will hear the noise from the station's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibaud G, Manager at GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear verdims:

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Thibaud Geffroy
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund
Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund
#46 of 3,987 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 628 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
#131 of 3,987 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caoyang / Zhenru
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai Hong Quan
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#64 of 3,987 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#43 of 3,987 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL

Address: No.330 Meiyuan Road, Zhabei District, Shanghai 200070, China (Formerly Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya By ACCOR,Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#46 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#72 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#79 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL is a brand new designer hotel ideally situated in a convenient city center location: guests can enjoy quick access to People's Square, Nanjing Road &the Bund. The hotel is only 12minutesaway fromboth Yu Garden or Xintiandi by taxi; 25 minutesaway from Shanghai Hongqiao Airport and 40 minutesaway from the Shanghai Pudong International Airport. With guest comfort and well-being as its priority, each of its well-appointed rooms & suites is a haven of comfort featuring full length glass windows;37-42 inch LCD TV screen with full laptop connectivity; internet and WIFI access; the finest in bathroom accessories with rainforest shower as well as luxury Pacific Coast bedding with 400 thread-count linen.At the GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL Dining at both the Chinese and all day dining restaurants will be a delightful culinary experience, while relaxing at the chic lifestyle lounge-bar could well be a 24-hour indulgence.For leisure and entertainment, a range of facilities located on Level 6 includes a gymnasium and chess room.Keeping fit with the gymnasium's latest equipment will be a joy, as guests take in the panoramic view of the city and the natural light by day, and city lights by night.The Spa beckons with 11therapy rooms. Well known for its special spa treatment menus,pamper yourself and rejuvenate your mind and body with oils, aromatherapy or other beauty treatments.For events, meetings, conferences and weddings, a full complement of versatile meeting and banquet facilities include an elegant Ballroom that can cater up to 350 guests, four meeting rooms. A professional team of experts are on hand to tailor every occasion to the guest's requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, ACCOR and Ctrip TA so you can book your GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.