We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service and standard” 1 of 5 stars
Review of GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL to your Saves list
GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.330 Meiyuan Road, Zhabei District, Shanghai 200070, China (Formerly Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya By ACCOR,Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya) (Shanghai Railway Station)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Holiday Saver 欢乐假期
Ranked #80 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 1,003 Reviews
singapore
1 review
“Poor service and standard”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have been an accor member since 2007, but this is the last year I am signing up. They are really bad at keeping up with points/etc. The Accor group hotels have their gems but the hotels in China really need some training in customer service. They are generally rude, and do not give a hoot to your needs. Am very disappointed, when I stayed here three years ago, the staff was fantastic. Now, they are a bunch of grouchy people. To make matters worse, the room was not properly cleaned up when I checked in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibaud G, Manager at GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear goongunner:

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya by Accor. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for all service shortfalls you have experienced during your stay with us.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Your comments have been discussed with all department heads that have been instructed to implement appropriate corrective measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Thibaud Geffroy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    424
    120
    28
    12
See reviews for
122
287
150
323
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Exceptional Hotel, but just a bit out of town, so taxis were needed each night, good thing is taxis are easy to get and are very inexpensive. Room was very large and comfortable. Bathroom had everything you could wish for and an amazing, refreshing rain shower, Brilliant! Breakfast was good with an excellent choice of hot and cold food and drinks.. Would totally recommend, but it is a bit out of town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibaud G, Manager at GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Gerryire:

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya by Accor. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Thibaud Geffroy
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

we stayed for 4 nights ( well 3 1/2 as we left on the last morning at 5 am. )
The hotel is well situated right above the Shanghai Railway station tube which is really easy to navigate.
No problems with hotel except the three lifts run really slow and we were late one morning as it took nearly 10 mins to get from 12 floor to ground floor.
They took a credit card depsotit of 1000 y which we struggled to get back so ensure you get a receipt and keep it until you get your statement.
No bath in our room but the shower was huge as was the bed

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibaud G, Manager at GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear wandawoobucks:

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya by Accor. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Thibaud Geffroy
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown,Bucks Co.,Pa.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Highly recommend the Club / Exec level the benefits were worth while.
The accommodation was very nice as the hotel was recently renovated ,the only issue that I think non Chinese speaking guests need to understand,is the staff speaks marginal English.
Some of the executives are relatively conversant but most of the regular staff are not.In all fairness this property is not in the major tourist area.
One needs to be accepting of failed communication and less than perfect service
It is an above average property at a reasonable rate-it is at best a4 star hotel
I would stay here again as it is a value and the Guest Service Mgr,ChristyTian is excellent

Room Tip: High floor necessary as noisy area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibaud G, Manager at GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Dr.JAB:

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya by Accor. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Thibaud Geffroy
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

flew to shanghai after yangtze cruise arrived evening just went out for a curry at night not very good. why i mentioned the loo was we have seen some horrible loos the squat ones well some were ok always tried to get a normal one. had to keep openoing the doors andd shutting fast if they were orrible. hotels all good though and most restaurants fine. this one in the lobby I walked in and heard a funny noise the lid was lifting and the seat was warm I didnt try any of the other buttons on the loo but very impressed. hotel very good again food nice but again couls have been warmer. there was a smell outside the restaurant that wasnt very nice. room and everything with it excellant comfy bed again. ate out one night Mcdonalds just as nice as the british not as fast but nice to eat british again.Our tour group took out tour manager for a meal before we all went home. Went to the holiday inn. good meal. went to qiandeng on a tour but should have gone earlier in the day not many westerners go there and it was dark and bit spooky would have enjoyed better through the day.humbe administrators garden would have enjoyed better if quieter it was the chinese holidays and it was heaving.silk workshop interesting and some lovely things to buy. pingjiang traditional quarted good, pudong district and the ride to the top of a skyscraper in 47secs bit expensive at £12. former french concession lovely but again busy.shanghai old quarter and yuyuan bazaar again very busy and would have appreciated more at a quieter time shanghai acrobatics show is brilliant

Room Tip: lovely hotel but as shanghai is so big i dont know where would be a good place to stay. this hotel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibaud G, Manager at GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear honky2:

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya by Accor. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Thibaud Geffroy
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

You room may look out directly over Shanghai Rail Station. The hotel is immediately above a Line 1 Metro station. Very convenient and only three stops (10 minutes) from Peoples Square.
Because of this sometimes the traffic noise can be a little disturbing.

You get great value for money if you are in a standard room, (but they are very small). I went for a suite. These are great rooms, with a wonderful large bathroom. Nice traditional Chinese furniture, but in a ultra modern setting. I had two vases with sweet smelling lilies (not sure why I deserved these, but they were a very nice and memorable touch).

Like many hotels in China, the service quality is not excellent, but staff in the Executive Lounge are really very helpful.

I found the breakfasts a little limited, with not sufficient fruit. Surely they can provide pineapple or passion fruit, as least in the executive lounge?

Often you do find the internet takes time to sort itself out, but by day three or four, all the Chinese filters will have settled down and you can surf reasonably well most of the time.

The reasons I have not rated this hotel as very good are:
1. The poor variety of food (and lack of fresh fruit), and unlike last year when I stayed here now there are no cakes or afternoon tea, or orange juice in the Executive Lounge.

2. The Business Centre simply refused to print one sheet of paper without charging. This is a disgrace when you are paying Executive Lounge prices.

So its really just poor quality in the little things that the managers should sort out that brings it down from the higher rating I gave it last year.

Room Tip: I recommend the suites on the 28th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibaud G, Manager at GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Nemo149:

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya by Accor. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Thibaud Geffroy
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

68 Yuan (£6.80) for a bottle of water placed by the kettle so when we arrived, thirsty! we used the water with NO WARNING of the price. Why should a hotel like this which is superb stoop so low to increase their revenue On the second day the replacement water had a ticket around the top so they are well aware of this malpractice as others must have been caught out by this and complained. Maybe they felt if we made the same mistake again we would complain too vigourously, too right we would have. What a great shame to spoil what was otherwise an excellently priced stay. I shared the room with a friend so the water cost me a quater of the room rate! BEWARE. Excellent stay if you take your own water. We had one breakfast free and paid for the other 88 Yuan. Average 44 Yuan. OK at this price but worth no more.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibaud G, Manager at GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Blair226:

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya by Accor. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Our Executive Housekeeper has been instructed to ensure that all price tag are placed accordingly on all minibar items in order to address the problem and prevent future occurrence..

Our Executive Chef and Food and Beverage Manager are reviewing the breakfast offering to ensure that a valuable product is offered every morning

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Thibaud Geffroy
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL

Address: No.330 Meiyuan Road, Zhabei District, Shanghai 200070, China (Formerly Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya By ACCOR,Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#41 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#70 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#76 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#85 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL is a brand new designer hotel ideally situated in a convenient city center location: guests can enjoy quick access to People's Square, Nanjing Road &the Bund. The hotel is only 12minutesaway fromboth Yu Garden or Xintiandi by taxi; 25 minutesaway from Shanghai Hongqiao Airport and 40 minutesaway from the Shanghai Pudong International Airport. With guest comfort and well-being as its priority, each of its well-appointed rooms & suites is a haven of comfort featuring full length glass windows;37-42 inch LCD TV screen with full laptop connectivity; internet and WIFI access; the finest in bathroom accessories with rainforest shower as well as luxury Pacific Coast bedding with 400 thread-count linen.At the GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL Dining at both the Chinese and all day dining restaurants will be a delightful culinary experience, while relaxing at the chic lifestyle lounge-bar could well be a 24-hour indulgence.For leisure and entertainment, a range of facilities located on Level 6 includes a gymnasium and chess room.Keeping fit with the gymnasium's latest equipment will be a joy, as guests take in the panoramic view of the city and the natural light by day, and city lights by night.The Spa beckons with 11therapy rooms. Well known for its special spa treatment menus,pamper yourself and rejuvenate your mind and body with oils, aromatherapy or other beauty treatments.For events, meetings, conferences and weddings, a full complement of versatile meeting and banquet facilities include an elegant Ballroom that can cater up to 350 guests, four meeting rooms. A professional team of experts are on hand to tailor every occasion to the guest's requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.