We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Shanghai JinshaJiang

Save Saved
You added ibis Shanghai JinshaJiang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
ibis Shanghai JinshaJiang
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1111 North Kaixuan Road Putuo, Shanghai 200085, China (Changshou Road)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,419 of 3,559 hotels in Shanghai
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Solid value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel based on price and location. It is a typical Ibis with clean rooms and good amenities. Internet access consist of Ethernet cable in your room or WiFi in the lobby. The surrounding area is bit rundown but the subway station is only 200 m away and it has a sign pointing you to the hotel. The staff spoke little English so check in and out was smooth. There is a brand new shopping mall on the other side of sunbway tracks that has some food places as well as partially finished Tesco for your shopping needs. While my room was OK, I had mixed luck with the breakfast service. It had some good Asian dishes but for most part it was underwhelming. On my second day, most of the dishes were empty when I got there at 8 am and the staff just shrugged when I asked them to refill. Coffee, and other drinks were unavailable, rather ironic since Ibis is a French company. The breakfast room was rather dirty and the staff was slow with cleaning. I still recommend this hotel as a good budget choice when visiting Shanghai.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    25
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
2
8
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Internet available only at the lobby, all T.V channels at the room are Chinese, close to JinshaJiang metro station but hard to found by taxi.

Staff doesn’t speak English, so it's not easy to communicate with them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Im currently traveling China, its a 01 month trip, first step in Shanghai I have been in a little hostel called LE TOUR in the same street of IBIS, so I told to myself I have one more step in the end of the trip in Shanghai so I can stay in IBIS at least is the same price $38 US and for sure I will have a little better confort because is IBIS but is always a brand.
I did my reservation for 5 nights using ORBITZ.COM where I prepaid the 5 nights using my AMERICAN EXPRESS card.

Once I get in the hotel with my ORBITZ confirmation the hotel did not recognize it like a valid website (?) and continous the recepcionist said that THEY DONT ACEPT AMEX cards and I should give to then a cash deposit or another credit car to garantee my stay otherwise I will be not acepted in the hotel or something like that (no english at all, this was said using the google translate from reception desk).

This was around midnight, I was already super tired so P paid the same amount in cash for the 5 nights as a deposit for the 5 nights, I was thinking that will be easy to explain to a manager next day that I already prepaid it by credit car using the ORBITZ website.

Next morning I went to reception to explain that and I got a NO, always using the google translate, NO WE CANT GIVE YOU THE DEPOSIT CASH BACK ONCE YOUR PAYMENT WAS NOT CONFIRMED, we have not records, nothing that confirmed your payment so we need to keep your deposit to pay your stay.

So I called ORBITZ who confirmed the payment and called the hotel, they spent 40 minutes talking due the language issue, after the call ORBITZ agent said that they understood...NO THEY DONT, manager in a very bad way after talk 40 minutes with ORBITZ agent said that he will not give me my cash deposit back once he did not understand what the man on the phone was saying...

I called my bank who sent an email with the transition confirmation, once I got the email I showed it to the man and nothing, he did understood and did not believe...so now I have 01 more day here in this hotel, trying every day at least 3 hours with different agents and this man called manager explaining and showing then the same emails etc and nothing, they still have my cash deposit.

I tried to call the police...never mind they dont speak English....

I tried to make my friend who does speak Mandarin with then to explain everything again...never mind they dont understand...

I called ACCOR QG to send a communication to the hotel, and believe me the ACCOR CONFIRMED my payment, THE QG of ACCOR confirmed my payment and this man here doesnt believe that I paid ahahah

Well, now is 3.54am and Im waiting the email from ACCOR QG to this hotel copying me confirming the payment, so hopefully I will get my cash deposit back before I leave on the 28th.

This big issue apart, lets talk about the room, things to impress...

The towels everyday with yellow spots on it, not sure if was some product or dirty, so I found towels in the carrefour and never used those from the hotel, looks very dirty.

Room super dirty, HK never cleaned it, just made the bed in 4 nights so far.

02 BOTLES OF WATER EXPIRED since 01 month available in the room.

Mosquitos in the room.

From the 03 TV channels available just 01 works.

Furniture and strutucture of the room very old.

Bathroom has a leak that never stop so you can hear it the whole night

All this issues were reported using google translate to the reception without any feedback.

And to finalize, every night after that Housekeeping made the room the cleaner left 02 cards with huckers numbers, names and photos, CAN YOU BELIEVE IT?

OF COURSE I have photos of all this amazing things and I will be posting as soon I get home, I just cant believe that this hotel can put a flag up saying that is an IBIS from a big company as ACCOR.

WHATA SHAME.

THE WORST EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE, if perhaps you will be in this zone go straight to a little hostel call LE TOUR, little hostel, but you can get a private room, the reception speaks perfect English and they are so kind, just loved then I want to kill myself to have changed then to this horrible hotel with this horrible manager or wherever he is...no nametag and not uniform...he never gave me his name as well.

Hope this review can help you. DONT STAY THERE.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

difficult to find this hotel, the towel was not clean too old, we can't sleep well because many mosquito, the breakfast very bad not recommend for this hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel is not located in a 5 star area but it does give you a better idea of what life is like for most Shanghai people. It is located next to a metro station only 1 stop from line 2 which is the metro line that connects the two Shanghai airports. Breakfast is also great value and has a great range of food to suit any taste. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget, it is great for value, location and cultural awareness.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ibis Shanghai JinshaJiang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Shanghai JinshaJiang

Address: No.1111 North Kaixuan Road Putuo, Shanghai 200085, China
Location: China > Shanghai > Changshou Road
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,419 of 3,559 hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Shanghai JinshaJiang 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip DaoDao, ACCOR, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your ibis Shanghai JinshaJiang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Shanghai JinshaJiang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.