We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trouble to find this place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Shanghai JinshaJiang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added ibis Shanghai JinshaJiang to your Saves list
ibis Shanghai JinshaJiang
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1111 North Kaixuan Road Putuo, Shanghai 200085, China (Changshou Road)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2,420 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Worth the trouble to find this place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This fairly new IBIS in Shanghai is difficult to find as it's set on a pedestrian/cycle only street and Taxis have no idea where it is. It's about 100m from the Jinshajiang MRT staion, and about 200m from the Caoyang MRT station, and sits just next to the MRT track between the two stations. It's worth locating because it's a short walk to Jinshajiang station, and then connects by line 4, then 2 to People's Squre, mid Shanghai.

Line 2, comes in from Pudong airport to Zhongsan then line 4 to Jinshajiang (1hr 10min ride) and the same line comes in from Hongqiao Airport and train station. Very convenient.

If you're lost, ask the taxi to drop you at Jinshajiang staion, and walk the 100m plus to the hotel.

Hotel is a 5 storey building with good clean creams (IBIS standard), typical IBIS lobby, with small cafe. A Karaoke lounge is by the side of the hotel with poor singing, so do remember to ask for a room at the back, facing a housing complex. The front rooms also face the MRT track and you can hear the rumble of the train in the background.

Rooms are small, two bed rooms larger than the one bed room, small table, one chair, open closet. I always like the IBIS shower booth as it is usually in white, clean, glass shower enclosure and no musty smell from the drainage system. Small shower gives you just enough room to shower and dry yourself without extravagance. IBIS beds in China are very comfortable, for non China people. They are soft and firm, whereas hotels like 168, 268, Home Inn only have one standard for beds - extra hard.

A reviewer remarked about the wifi. There is free wifi in the lobby for all to use but the internet connection in the room is by wire (they provide the wire). We carry a small netbook, hook it up to the wired LAN, and then use a hotspot software to broadcast wifi within our room. Broadband has a good speed.

We did not try the food at the hotel but their breakfast is 20Yuan, China style, as we prefer eating out and it's a short 30m walk to the right of the hotel where there are street hawkers, a fruit stall, and a restaurant that serves very good rice porridge, noodles and the Shanghai specialty - steamed soup dumplings. Try them for a very low price. The street hawkers sell crepe with egg, charcoal cooked bread (sweet and saltish) and a wheat pancake with chives. All are delicious.

Prices are also low.... I suspect because the place is so difficult to find !! Ha ha.

Happy travel.

Room Tip: 100m to Jinshajiang station, 5-6 stops to People's Square. Restaurants and street food at the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    26
    25
    9
    8
See reviews for
2
8
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Nice room,affordable price,good location near Shanghai Metro,but there is no wifi like they show in their website. They just provide internet LAN cable so I can't use any of my ipod,ipad,or cellphone. But overall this otel is quite nice!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Seems this hotel is owned locally but managed by Ibis... i saw cracks on the walls in my room! Cannot watch BBC / HBO on first night of stay... maintenance level is slighter lower than average Ibis.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Hotel is blended into its surroundings and it seems a bit weird like it's sharing common grounds in its compound with others.
Music from the shop infront of hotel in its compound is a bit loud when I arrived. Once I enter my room. I couldn't hear it, but mainly because of the location of the room I was given, but I'm sure I'll be able to hear it if I'm given a room facing the front.
Room looks clean, but noticed it's a bit dusty like it has not been used/cleaned for sometime. A quick wet tissue wipe on the desk revealed it all! Then had a look at he floor.. dusty too. Chair is a bit creaky.
On the whole, ok. It's near and a short walk to metro station 'Jinshajiang Road' of line 3/4. Not much to eat around but just 1 metro stop to station 'Zhongshan Park' and there will be a big shopping complex with shops, restaurants, fast-food restaurants, supermarket Carrefour, etc.
Noticed Ibis hotels and reservations made from accor-hotels website is not fully integrated.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

overall its a great experience. staff are friendly and nice :)

however, it can get a little noisy. u could hear people singing downstairs, or outside your room.. soundproofing is not really that gd. but if ure looking for value, this is it.

everything is the bare minimum. so dont expect anything more.

bottom line: i'll still stay there on my next visit :D

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

It's not that near MRT station, (nearby the rail but a few minutes walk), plus its not very easy for the taxi to find the place.
No hair dryer in the room and the first king size room's bathroom got water all over the floor...
24 hr service is not true, room service will be off after 11PM...and the hotel certainly doesn't trust people. (everything even borrow one hair dryer need deposit)
check-in and check-out process is very slow...and somehow the room and the whole environment doesn't feel safe enough for solo lady.
Stay away if you've got better choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moret-sur-Loing, France
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

The service was normal, something you'd expect from the Ibis. But what I did not like is that they were charging me for one night, when I've already prepaid everything with an online travel agent.

It is not that close from the metro station even if they say so. It is actually beside one, but the entrance/exit of this metro station is on the wrong side and therefore hard to get to.

The worst point was the rates when you just go book there is 100 RMB cheaper than if you prepay online on the Ibis website. So if you do choose to stay here, just go there and get a room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ibis Shanghai JinshaJiang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Shanghai JinshaJiang

Address: No.1111 North Kaixuan Road Putuo, Shanghai 200085, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Changshou Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,420 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Shanghai JinshaJiang 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your ibis Shanghai JinshaJiang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Shanghai JinshaJiang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.