We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Hotel at its best state” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Star River Pudong Shanghai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Chateau Star River Pudong Shanghai to your Saves list
Chateau Star River Pudong Shanghai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2588 Jinxiu Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200125, China (Shanghai New International Expo Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 3,928 Hotels in Shanghai
Tekirdag, Turkey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Luxury Hotel at its best state”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We had stayed two nights at this hotel and the decorations were amazing. You feel like you are entering a real modern palace instead of a hotel. The service was perfect comparing with all other hotels we had stayed in China. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. It was very clean. The beds were perfect for my expectations. The decorations in the lobby or even in the elevators were exaggerated. So much marble, gold and wood.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    17
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gorgonzola
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel is new, highly decorated, with large and well equipped rooms. At the time I staied there, the hotel was almost empty making it rather depressing. The location is somehow unfortunate, far away from everything. Be ready to make a good taxi ride to get a restaurant or the shopping areas. Perhaps because the hotel was new the personnel is not yet prepared to deliver the degree of service you expect from a 5 star hotel. English communication is sometime a challenge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Arrived here on a business trip and was brought there by chinese partners because the hotel originally booked was full.

Very good first impression, large facility with more buildings that are apparently used as appartments in a large complex. Nice decorated lobby with fast service. Staff spoke good english and was able to communicate and answer all questions.

Had a room on the 8th floor that was huge. Large bed and bathroom with shower and tub. The bathroom even had a TV included in the mirror. Room had every amenity you can think of, bathrope, slippers, safe... Minibar use was free and re-stocked every day. In the evenings the room was prepared for the night, the bed was made up, new towels were brought, slippers and bathmat were put in front of the bed, small sweets and a card with next day´s weather were set on the bed. Service made a very good impression.

Cleanliness of the room and bathroom were exceptional good, nothing to complain about. Interesting thing about the room that the wall to the bathroom was made of glass, but could be closed with a blind.

On the basement floor is a buffet restaurant located, offering chinese style and european cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Quality of the food was ok, not 5 star but you usually don´t eat there while in China. There is also a german bar in the hotel and a large outdoor swimming pool.

Location is in Pudong, a bit away from the downtown area. Cost of a taxi was about 30-35 RMB one way. The hotel offers to usual cards with destinations for the taxi driver.

Overall a expensive but nice hotel which was worth the money. Internet worked excellent on wifi-basis in lobby and the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here on business, couldn't fault the hotel for service, cleanliness, cuisine infact it excelled in all areas.
The hotel has a grand feel without being pretentious, you are looked after from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave.
It has good wifi coverage in the bedrooms and is free, can't ask for more than that.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Excellent 5 star hotel. Beautiful building, large room, excellent amenities, free soft drinks and water, tea and coffee, nespresso in room, free internet, excellent varied buffet breakfast, excellent friendly service from all staff. Good location 10 mins walk to subway, 7 stops to downtown/bund. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I just ended my family summer holiday in Shanghai .The hotel arranged a very comfortable pick-up service free for my family,that's great!And there is a very beautiful outdoor swimming pool,my kids got very happy.My wife says that we will also spend our next summer holiday here,thanks for chateau star river hotel !

Room Tip: The room is bigger than other hotels,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This is billed as a 5 star hotel, and in some ways it is. It's large and imposing, and provides both indoor and outdoor swimming pools, an imposing reception area, attentive staff and very large rooms. The style is supposed to be European, but it's not. It’s Chinese, with loads of marble and gold and wood. They clearly have no idea what European is like. The surroundings are OK, but it's far from any life, so you're trapped here, unless you want to try a suicidal taxi, or take the Metro. The most obvious thing you notice, apart from the player pianos that endlessly clonk out the same tired old fashioned tunes, day and night ("How much is that doggie in the window?" repeats every 5 minutes or so, as does "Daddy wouldn't buy me a bow wow", but that's the end of the dog theme) is the lack of guests. The staff to guest ratio must be something like 200:1, and everywhere you go, there is a smiling staff member every 10 metres or so, wanting to help, or say good morning/evening. Actually, the staff are the high point: they are unwaveringly pleasant and helpful.
Putting your finger on what's wrong is harder, because it's not that obvious. Yes, eating alone in a huge restaurant, with counters full of various types of food, and dozens of staff is a bizarre experience, and going to the German (in name alone) bar, where you are completely alone in a huge, marble-floored cavern, with MTV blaring out from the gigantic screen, sipping a large glass of very stale and cloudy beer is also a little unnerving. It's the same at breakfast, but if you stick to the Chinese food, then it's excellent fare. There's no fresh fruit salad, which would be a given in most hotels, and the tinned peaches and pineapple let the side down, as does the fruit juice which is nothing like fruit juice. More like flat lemonade..
It's the 'what they get so strangely wrong that gets you in the end, and it's a culture clash thing, where they just don't 'get it'.
It reminds me of those publications you get from Chinese (and other) companies, where they try to translate into your language, but don't get someone of the mother tongue to check it out before printing, so it's clunky, and wrong. This hotel is like a bad translation of a five star hotel - a pastiche.
The layout is the first thing.
You arrive in a lobby, as you would expect, and check in.
But the elevators are in a completely different area, and it turns out that there are actually 2 lobbies, on the same floor, but not interconnected.
So, you leave lobby number one, go down to the basement, where the empty e-Cafe restaurant, "German" bar and Chinese restaurant are located, walk a tortuous path through various staff-lined corridors, past the pool and spa, and finally to the elevators that take you to your room. Bizarre.
You get the impression that they didn't think the original lobby was imposing enough, and decided to build another afterwards, but could only join them through the basement. I was here for a week, and after 2 days I worked out it was quicker to exit from Lobby 2, and walk around the outside to the main lobby to order a taxi.
Then there are the details. They claim to have banking facilities, but they can't change your Traveller's Cheques? What's that all about? I explained I needed to get a Taxi the following morning, so I needed some RMB, so they suggested I took a taxi to a Bank to change them.... Clearly missed the flaw in that logic. Eventually, I said I'd walk to the nearest bank, and they suggested Tescos, which didn't sound too promising for exchange. Then they thought Bank of China wasn't too far away, and 45 minutes later I was sweatily joining the queue, having been issued with my ticket number by helpful staff. Another 15 minutes, and I was at the counter being told they were the wrong kind of cheques (Visa is the wrong kind of cheque?).
This being China, they didn't simply send me on my way, and instead of telling me there was no hope in hell of getting them cashed in Pudong, they sent me on another wild goose chase, that took another hour and a half, and another 2 banks (Construction Bank and ICBC), neither of which was in tune with the concept that Travellers Cheques are supposed to be sacrosanct, and acceptable anywhere. It was at this point that I cursed my stupidity in not changing money at the airport, but a 20 hour trip and jetlag does that to you.
Dripping in sweat, and squelching in my soaking shoes, I finally arrived back some 3 1/2 hours later, to fall into a cold shower, and then to bed, where I was awakened by an electrical storm, and later by a small earthquake.
The room looks luxurious, with Chinese restaurant style flock wallpaper, marble and dark wood, although the carpet is stained. You also get a balcony, but although I would have liked to sit out there, it's locked, and nobody has the key. There are plenty of power sockets, and in various formats, including the squinty Chinese 3-pin, round and flat Euro/USA 2-pin, and even UK 3-pin (which used to be popular in China).. But they put them in the wrong places. Why? The desk has only a single power point, so you can have your laptop, or the desk light, but not both. In contrast, the bedside has no fewer than 4, which is great if you want to work in bed, but I don't. The bed is huge, and would sleep 6, width wise, but my feet still stuck out the bottom. Mattress is comfy, but pillows are completely unsupportive, and collapse into cases when you stick your head on them. The bedside tables are miles from the bed, so you can't reach your glass of water or the light switches. You have to get out of bed for that, which isn't an aid to restful sleep. When I arrived, my room was at 22 degrees centigrade, far too hot for a Northerner, and so I stuck the air-conditioning on, only to find it was only a fan. The room stubbornly stayed at 22 degrees throughout my entire stay.
The bathroom is swish, with a glass wall (and a blind, if you're shy and not alone), a huge rain shower and claw foot bath. Tiled floor and neat TV built into the mirror, and plenty of towels, bottles of stuff and emergency razor, sewing kit, and all the other paraphernalia. The shower works, and the sink drained, which is a bonus, as so many don't.
Wardrobes: there are 2, and they are both tiny. One is full with 2 dressing gowns, ironing board and iron, so not much space left. The other has a small chest of drawers inside, so it has no height. I was on my own, and didn't have much with me, but ended up removing the ironing board, and stacking all my shirts on that, so I could get my business suit in.
There's a huge TV, but a quick flick through the channels didn't encourage me to use it.
My specially negotiated (by our local guy) rate was about RMB1250 a night, including breakfast, and they threw in some vouchers for the stale beer too.
If I was the kind of person that goes swimming and using the gym, indoor golf and spa, maybe I would have got more from it, but I don't do that kind of stuff when I'm travelling on business.
The internet was slow, but acceptable. No Facebook or forums of course, as they're blocked.
So, there you are. A huge and sumptuous hotel, with terrible design but nice staff, infuriating clunky pianos but a nice breakfast, luxurious bed with nasty pillows, switches you can't reach and sockets in the wrong place, an unusable balcony, nice enough bathroom, and a laundry service that sends you a nice letter to tell you they just faded your shirt. Oh, and a chocolate on your pillow too, and complimentary soft drinks in the minibar, which you'll need to cool you down when the aircon doesn't work (I suspect they don't turn it on until it gets much, much hotter than this, as locals were complaining it was a bit chilly out there...).
It's not a disaster, but it's not five stars either, and unless they get some more people through those doors, it's guaranteed to be a very strange experience for you.
They are trying, and I hope they accept constructive suggestions to raise the standard to the level people should expect.

Room Tip: I hd a West view - good for sunsets, but otherwise not very picturesque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Star River Pudong Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Star River Pudong Shanghai

Address: No.2588 Jinxiu Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200125, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#61 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#136 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#251 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Star River Pudong Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Ctrip DaoDao, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chateau Star River Pudong Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Star River Pudong Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Star River Pudong Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.