We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, chic but dirty” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Modena Putuo Shanghai

Save Saved
You added Modena Putuo Shanghai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Modena Putuo Shanghai
4.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   No.1, Lane 58, Tongchuan Road, Putuo District, Shanghai 200333, China (Caoyang / Zhenru)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 3,843 hotels in Shanghai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Modern, chic but dirty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Was in Shanghai for a conference with my colleague. Conference venue was in Putuo, so we decided to stay here after researching the area.

Booked ourselves into a Deluxe Loft.

Check-in and front desk service: We arrived late at night so we didn't have the issue of busy front desk as mentioned by the others. Quick check-in, friendly staff. There are two Macs for guests to use. Printing was RMB$5 per page, this is not cheap, but similar to other hotels I stayed in. When you are desperate, you really don't have a choice, do you? That being said, staff at front desk was very helpful when I had problems getting the document to print.
We also checked ourselves out early in the morning, so didn't have any issues too.

Transport and environment: There's a shopping centre right next to the hotel with lots of food options and a supermarket too. A couple of convenient shops nearby and a Starbucks next to the hotel. Train station is right opposite to the busy road outside the hotel. We mainly took taxi. Can be a bit hard to wave one down, but just be patient. Our longest wait was about 10mins.

Room: very nice and modern room! We had a deluxe loft with 2 queen size beds. One on first floor and one on second floor. There is a kitchenette on the first floor and the bathroom is on the first floor too. The second floor has a working desk. Both floors have wardrobes.
It was very nice at first sight, but if you look carefully, the room was a bit dirty. There were lumps of dust in the corners of the bathroom and the room. Wardrobe door was a broken. The bathroom mat was very moldy...

Breakfast: Yes, there is a spread. But we had difficulty finding what was appetizing enough. There was beef brisket for breakfast one morning!! (The breakfast spread was more like lunch to me). Cold cut section was a bit sad... The plus side is, you do get eggs made to order.

Amenities: the gym looked great! Buy we didn't get time to go.

All in all, considering what we paid for per night, you really pay for what you get. If you are not a clean-freak and can avoid looking at the room corners and shower mat, I would recommend this place to you.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Y, Guest Relations Manager at Modena Putuo Shanghai, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for having taken the time to share your positive feedback about your recent stay at Modena on tripadvisor.com.

We do apologize for the room cleaning issues. You may rest assure that we take your feedbacks in the most serious manner and refreshment trainings have already been arranged in order to make sure all of our guests are having an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to hopefully welcome you back soon again.

Best regards,

Carol Yang
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    45
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
12
9
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

very good experience! room is comfortable and the staff are so friendly!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Y, Guest Relations Manager at Modena Putuo Shanghai, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for having taken the time to share your positive feedback about your recent stay at Modena on tripadvisor.com.

We appreciate all your kind comments in regards to our product and our staff.

We look forward to hopefully welcome you back soon again.

Best regards,

Carol Yang
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed in this serviced residence for 3 days with 10year old daughter and elderly parents. Utilized the room and breakfast only.

Location - good location as located just opposite the subway. However if you want to go to the central area, need to change line on the subway which requires a pretty long walk in the station. Opposite the road, there is a 3 storey mall and underground mall with lots of food options (subway, mcdonald's, food court, udon noodles etc etc). Also has a Lotus supermarket selling groceries.

Room - stayed in family room (2 double beds) with a loft. Great for the 10 year old as she loved climbing up and down. Note that this room is not suitable for young kids! Room came with all necessities for cooking (cultery and microwave). Looked like a really modern room and feel BUT the problem was housekeeping. The room was cleaned daily but if i wiped the floor with a tissue, it was BLACK. All throughout the room you could see dirt and it was quite filthy. Stay only if you are not a cleanliness freak.

You get 2 bottles of water and if you want more, the housekeeper will ask you to call the front desk.

Breakfast - good assortment and starts from 7am to 10am. Costs RMB68/adult if it was not included in your room (you can have a good breakfast opposite, so i guess if you did not get it included in your room, it is better to just walk across the road for breakfast). Some of the items change daily so it did not get boring.

Service - the front desk was crowded most time and they looked short handed. There is no other service provided (no business centre) and we had to go out ourselves to buy train tickets (at another hotel i stayed in, we could get them to help buy train tickets for a fee). It was a few stops away (Shanghai station) and cost only RMB6 (RMB3/trip) but it took quite long due to the walk between connecting stations.

Children room - there is a children room on the 2nd floor but only suitable for young children.

Gym - good gym located on 2nd floor but did not use it.

Washing machine / dryer - located on 2nd floor but costs RMB20/each (total RMB40 for both washing machine & dryer).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Y, Guest Relations Manager at Modena Putuo Shanghai, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for having taken the time to share your positive feedback about your recent stay at Modena on tripadvisor.com.

We do apologize for the room cleaning issue and we will make the necessary changes in order that our guest can receive the best service possible.

We look forward to hopefully welcome you back soon again.

Best regards,

Carol Yang
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

It is the most modern service appartment in SH for good price!! Clean, nice, quiet, central AC, good windows!! Line 7, Starbucks, food court, MC Donalds, supermarket, wine bar, copy shop, swimming pool, everything directly beside. Taxi always present, 20 minutes to Nanjing RD. What else do you need if to stay in SH.

Room Tip: corner suit is nice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Y, Guest Relations Manager at Modena Putuo Shanghai, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for having taken the time to share your positive feedback about your recent stay at Modena Putuo Shanghai on tripadvisor.com.

We appreciate all your kind comments in regards to our product and for calling us “Best value in Shanghai!!” .

We look forward to hopefully welcome you back soon again.

Best regards

Carol Yang
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Staff were helpful and friendly, breakfast was good, and apartments were beautiful and comfortable. Coin operated washer and dryer was a little expensive (20 yuan each with washing powder provided), and stoves in the apartments took very long to heat up (it took us an hour to cook 2 bowls of instant noodles), The hotel is located close to a metro and a mall, and approximately 4 stops (and 3 transfers) to nanjinglu and the bund.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Y, Guest Relations Manager at Modena Putuo Shanghai, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for having taken the time to share your positive feedback about your recent stay at Modena Putuo Shanghai on tripadvisor.com.

We are delighted to know you call us "Modern and comfortable”.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best regards

Carol Yang
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Modena Putuo is a great place to stay. Here's my review of my 7 nights stay at Modena.

Booking: Emailed the hotel for higher levels rooms and they replied within a day. Cool.

Entrance of hotel: Small hotel lobby but with good front desk staff with prompt service.
Lift: In order to get to any floors, room access cards are required to be scanned. Security wise, not bad.

Suite: Booked Loft Studio Deluxe and Loft Studio Deluxe Twin. Upon entering the Lofe Studio Deluxe suite, saw the kitchen at first floor. Second floor is our living room with balcony. Just a few steps and that's where the bedroom and toilet is located. As for the Loft Studio Deluxe, there is a queen size bed at the first floor and another queen size bed at the second floor. There is no living room with sofa for this suite. However, the other facilities are similar.

Within the suite: Individual room WIFI that allows access to Facebook! Also, huge TV with international channels to surf. Big comfortable sofa that can be a bed if there is a 3rd guest for Loft Studio Deluxe. 2 sets of telephone (one cordless and the other is with cord). Study table with chair as well as reading lights. Iron and board to smoothen wrinkled shirts. iPlayer to play music and act as alarm clock (we did not use and so we unplugged it from the power socket). Bedside lights for more dim atmosphere. Safe, bath robes, bedroom slippers, umbrella. Ample clothes hangers for about 5-7 clothes.

Toilet: Shower area has a little bench to rest on. Strong water jets. Digital weighing machine in the toilet. Usual toiletries.

Kitchen: Full kitchen set ready for cooking. Pot, pans, spatula, heat mat, apron, knife, can opener, wine opener, fridge and oven and eating utensils etc.

Within Hotel: 2nd floor, Gym, cafe, kids playroom, clothes washer

Nearby Hotel: Langao Train station is very nearby (Line 7) within 5mins walk. Shopping mall with Watsons, MacDonalds Subway, Pizza Hut, Happy Lemon, foodcourt, kids stuff, supermarkets and restaurants. There's stores selling clothes, dresses, shoes, lingerie, umbrella. 24hr Family Mart is also within 5mins walk from hotel. Starbucks just right below hotel.

Overall my friends and I enjoyed the stay very much.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Y, Guest Relations Manager at Modena Putuo Shanghai, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for having taken the time to share your positive feedback about your recent stay at Modena Putuo Shanghai on tripadvisor.com in such a detailed manner.

We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay and satisfied with our service.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best regards

Carol Yang
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong SAR
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

There are many hotels in Shanghai,at the first becoming,it is really hard to choose.Because the mixed comments on forum.But compared to others,this one almost have all the positive comments by Asians and foreigners. So we just go for this hotel and it is the right decision.

This hotel locates in a quiet area,not the city centre,but it is just several mins away from the metro station.And you can access to the attractions easily.

The hotel is new and clean. We've booked a studio,has a kitchen,living room and bedroom.The room is spacious for 3 people as well. In the kitchen,they have all the utensils,the pot,electric stove and microwave.The bathroom also provide the toiletries.

And the WiFi is available in the room and public area. And there is a food court and convenience stores downstairs.So everything just convenient.

Room Tip: Stayed at upper floor is better and maybe could request a room facing city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Y, Guest Relations Manager at Modena Putuo Shanghai, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for having taken the time to share your positive feedback about your recent stay at Modena Putuo Shanghai on tripadvisor.com in such a detailed manner.

We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best regards

Carol Yang
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Modena Putuo Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Modena Putuo Shanghai

Address: No.1, Lane 58, Tongchuan Road, Putuo District, Shanghai 200333, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Caoyang / Zhenru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#94 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#96 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#122 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Modena Putuo Shanghai 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Modena Putuo Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modena Putuo Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Modena Putuo Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.