We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Pudong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Pudong

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Pudong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Pudong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.8 Century Avenue, Lujiazui, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200120, China (Lujiazui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 USD Credit & More
Ranked #21 of 3,734 hotels in Shanghai
Dunbarton, NH
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Pudong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I had never been to Shanghai until this trip (16 - 19 November, 2013). What a city! The hotel is gorgeous, people very friendly. Was a little surprised at the lack of English or understanding English as well as i would have expected for Shanghai. Rooms were unbelievable - lived like a king! I had been upgraded to a river view and could see the magnificent skyline from my room. You walk in and the drapes automatically open for you. There is a bath tub that is contoured to fit your body in the bathroom and where you can look out of the windows or watch your own private flat screen tv at the foot of the tub! Additionally everything is controlled by a touch of a button makes it very easy to open/close the drapes, turn the lights on/off, etc. Food in the restaurant was excellent (a little pricey but to be expected in a Ritz Carlton and in Shanghai, China). I will definitely come back to the city and to the hotel. It is definitely a very modern and luxurious hotel. .

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade to a river view - well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    257
    95
    21
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
53
13
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed here for a week on business and took along my wife and baby for the trip. We thoroughly enjoyed staying at this hotel.The hotel staff could not have been more accommodating. They were friendly, polite and helpful. The staff really looked after my wife while I was working and made such a fuss of my daughter. The hotel itself is spotless and very luxurious, the rooms are very well appointed and ours had good views over the river. The gym, pool and bar areas are also second to none, particularly the rooftop bar.

Room Tip: River view rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Very good service with modern facilities, nice location, fabulousness decoration, good breakfast, very good Italian restaurant, pretty attendants, professional door man and concierge guys. Nice painting in the hotel lobby. Very good car services.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is truly a luxurious hotel. The decor and rooms were very well designed and the design extends to the adjoining IFC mall to which it is connected. By the way, the mall interior is an attraction in itself. The service overall was great except in Scena, the lobby restaurant, where I had breakfast. The staff weren't anticipating your needs. They weren't clearing our tables fast enough and had to ask twice for my coffee. There was chit chat in one of the food stations (noodle station to be specific). But all this could be rectified with more training. I'm sorry if I'm nit-picking, but this is the Ritz Carlton after all. Not your typical hotel. The rooftop bar, Flair, gave amazing views of the city. The hotel is ideally located in Pudong and you can walk to the Pearl Tower, Aquarium and ferry station (for 30 cents) to go across the Bund. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

For HK$2,000 (USD250) I stayed at probably my most luxurious hotel experience in China to date at the Shanghai Ritz Carlton Pudong Hotel. This is my first experience of the brand and I am very impressed - please read on.

I think that these hotel rates could only be obtained as I was at a 2 day conference at the hotel. Somehow, for this rate they further upgraded me to a Corner Suite (double the normal size) which had panoramic views from the 49th Floor of the Bund.

I can only assume that they upgraded me on the basis of my ordering the hotel limo from the airport - a black Mercedes Benz S Series. I had sprained an ankle on the night before the trip and felt like a cripple, and so wasn't looking forward to any late night fun and games at the airport taxi queue, or after the Maglev with taxis.

It costs so much to catch the Maglev train; and then another taxi trip after that. The limo is about RMB800- if you had 3 or 4 people you would break even for a luxurious door to door service.

I was given the royal treatment on arrival, bypassing normal checkin processes - met by Vicky their relationship manager and whisked up to the 52nd Floor sky lobby and then straight to my room on the 49th Floor (on the club floor and another lift away) . She did an in suite check in which took minutes.

The suite (4923) was non smoking ldivided into public and private areas - office; lounge room; bedroom and bathroom/shower area.

The hotel design is modern and stunning with subdued art deco and classics, with extensive use of marble, and detail oriented by the designers to the max. It has made extensive use of sliding panel doors which can close off different rooms, and there are electronic controls ( the German Schneider brand) which allow for mood lighting, opening of drapes and curtains and split zone climate controls.

I made extensive use of most of the hotel facilities during my 3 day stay:

- the gym - open 24 hours. All new Technogym equipment - PTs on hand to help with stretching
- the gift shop - ordered gifts for the children - pajamas monogrammed with the hotel logo
- the housekeeping service - I lost a button on my coat and the housekeeper insisted on sewing a replacement on when she discovered why I had requested a sewing kit
- the room service - they must have used the crockery and cutlery from one of the signature restaurants in the hotel as it all looked quirky and designer style
- the Club Room - I wasn't a club member but even so the receptionist allowed me in as I needed a quick coffee and a bite to eat, before rushing out to a meeting - that's service and lateral thinking - she could have said no
- the conference facilities
- the concierge service
- the hotel limo service - perfect comfortable quick journeys; I finished meetings earlier than expected and so the concierge (who said Hi in the lift) quickly rescheduled the limos arrival to 1/2 an hour earlier. The driver walked across 2 busy lanes at the departure entry to get me a trolley and then pushed it to the main door

I couldnt find fault on the services; and staff went out of their way to help me; greet me; take me out to the lift lobby and press the button for a lift for me. I am an average level Mandarin speaker and this may have helped. Admittably, some of the staffs English is not the best.

However the place exudes luxury and exclusivity, and sits on top of the Shanghai IfC Mall (luxury brands on the higher floors but has reasonably priced clothes options, food and a City Super market on the lower floors). This is all linked to walkways which link to the nearby scenic sights of the Pudong Business District ( eg Oriental Pearl Tower, museums and aquariums). It is also connects to the Shanghai MRT underground so if you enjoy effective public transport options, you are close to everything in Shanghai.

I have tried the Park Hyatt at Jinmao tower, Sofitel in Puxi but this is far superior.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCPD, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to read such positive review of your recent stay at our hotel.
It is always rewarding to know that the genuine care offered by our Ladies & Gentlemen are not gone unnoticed. We already look forward to welcoming you back to The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Pudong soon.

Warm regards,

Antonio Saponara
Hotel Manager
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hotel is located just right at the heart of the city, linked with IFC mall, subway underground the building, walking distance to the pearl tower and the riverside opposite the bund. Good location. The building is stunning and you almost couldn't get lost in pudong as the building is so tall.
The hotel Lobby is located at 52 floor (if I remember correctly), we were upgraded to executive room facing the bund and can see part of the pearl tower. The interior of the hotel is nice, luxurious.
The room was clean and spacious, with internatinal plug built in the wall and bed side, so no worries about bringing own adapter for phone or camera charger. Loved the remote control curtain, simply awesome feature. TV is filled with bundle of channels worldwide and wide selectino of channels with few languages.
The swimming pool is amazing! love the hot water jacuzzi at the end of the corner! The fitness centre is very nice, spacious and with enough choices of machines.
We got a welcome card and chocolate pralines too, good turn down service!
The staffs speak good english and they always deliver their friendly smile and very helpful when seeking for assistance such as direction or recommendation. The lady who escorted us to the room did a wonderful introduuction about the room and she remember our name and address us by name the next day! Impressive and personalised.
The breakfast spread was good and it is international 5 star standard.
Although during our stay, there was this auto car show & flu issue, the hotel was full house but the service we received were not compromised at all.
Love the hotel for both infrastructure & service, will stay here again for return trip!

Room Tip: Must go up to the FLAIR, there is open air balcony bar! MUST GO!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur,
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was my first time in Shanghai and I was staying at The Ritz-Carlton Pudong from 24th to 27th October in room 5002. The room was superb, it was one floor above the Club Lounge. Upgrade to Club Room, it's worth it. They serve good choices of food and drinks at the lounge, and it offers privacy and great view of Shanghai.
It is even more imperative for you to take the Club Rooms if you are there for business because the meeting rooms on the 49th floor, though a bit small, are well equipped and cozy. And in between meetings you can just go for a short break at the lounge for coffee or tea just a few steps away on the same floor.
On the 58th floor rooftop there is a club called Flair, it's half indoors, half in open air. We had our introduction meeting there, on the open air side. The weather was around 13 Celsius so it wasn't too cold yet, a perfect place for you to have a cup of tea and snacks. The view was just fantastic.
The breakfast at Aura was quite good too, the food was good and the waitresses were very attentive and efficient. Breakfast is until 11am so you could really stuff yourself and skip lunch. The hotel is connected to IPC mall, a high-end shopping center, so if you are bored, you can just take a short walk and window shop next door. I didn't have the opportunity to try out the swimming pool and Spa as my schedule was full.
The only negative side I can say about the hotel is that it is quite pricey. But then, which good hotel in Shanghai is not pricey, so, what you pay is what you get.

Room Tip: Pay extra to upgrade to Club Rooms. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Pudong

Address: No.8 Century Avenue, Lujiazui, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#19 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#21 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#21 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#44 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#358 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Pudong 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong is Shanghai’s ultimate destination for uncompromising style and luxury. Positioned in Pudong’s social and commercial hub at the top of Shanghai ifc with views over the Bund, the hotel is designed by world famous Richard Farnell and is situated on the top 18 floors of the ultra-modern, 58-story Tower 1 of Shanghai ifc in the heart of the city’s Lujiazui Finance and Trade Zone, offering luxury commercial, residential and retail space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Tingo, Marriott, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Pudong Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Pudong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.