We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills, but okay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Sanlin Shanghai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Sanlin Shanghai to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Sanlin Shanghai
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.215 Taihuan Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200123, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #365 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“No frills, but okay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

I stayed here for two nights in Jan. 2011, one night at a time.
Contrary to a previous review, the staff spoke a okay English, was friendly and tried to help where they could.
The hotel is located about 30 minutes by Taxi from the airport (costs 130RMB for a ride), and it is about 20-30 minutes by Taxi from downtown.
The breakfast is very basic. As it seems to be custom in China, the lobby, breakfast room and hall ways are not heated in winter. So take a jacket when you go for breakfast.
In China smoking is accepted nearly everywhere, therefore even a non smoking room might smell like smoke.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    43
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
3
1
6
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

First problem none of the front desk staff know how to speak english. Second problem we were given a smoking room when we requested a no smoking room and the unfriendly staff didn't want us to change our room when their housekeeping person could clearly smell how bad the room was. Third problem was that the new room was full of stray hairs. The fourth problem is the location of hotel is terrible. Its very very very far from anywhere. I think this hotel was built for future expansion of shanghai. The fifth problem was they would charge us 100 yuan deposit to borrow an umbrella. This is ridiculous considering it costs 10 yuan for an umbrella here. And they already took a 1200 yuan deposit for the rooms. Sixth problem was when we called to ask for additional toiletries and they couldn't understand us, instead of trying to find out our problem, they hung up on us!!! All these problems was compounded by an unhelpful manager who also spoke no english!!!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Good points:
(1) Generally clean as it is quite new
(2) Reception is quick to change door (card) keys which fail daily

Poor points:
(1) Housekeeping never made my bed for 3 days
(2) Check-in and check-out were time-consuming, there was one staff handling everyone, where two others in the reception were doing nothing.
(3) Very messy breakfast
(4) Location is difficult to find for taxi drivers, really remote

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

Pretty new hotel, but far from the city center. Check-in was a pain as many people were demanding the attention of the poor clerk. You have to be aggressive -- there seemed to be no concept of first come, first serve. The people who got what they wanted first just went up and demanded it from the clerk. Took me a while to figure that out as one by one people came and diverted the clerk's attention away from me. The rooms were nice though. Thin walls; I could hear the people talking next door -- in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sanlin Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sanlin Shanghai

Address: No.215 Taihuan Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200123, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#355 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sanlin Shanghai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sanlin Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sanlin Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Sanlin Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.