We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very homely and central to the French Concession” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Bed & Breakfast Shanghai

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shanghai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magnolia Bed & Breakfast Shanghai
Save
You added Magnolia Bed & Breakfast Shanghai to your Saves list
No.36 Yanqing Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200031, China (Huaihai Road)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 584 Shanghai B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Very homely and central to the French Concession”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great spot as recommended by other trip advisor users. Central to the really interesting French Concession area. Markets, street food, gardens and locals make for interesting walks at any time of the day. Easy access to the subway. Looked after well by the staff with a homely feel to it. Stairs are a bit of an issue if you are not real mobile. Nothing else to complain about though.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    25
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
43
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spend one night at The Magnolia B&B Shanghai.

Positive aspects:
-Great location in the French Concession, plenty of great shops, restaurants, massage places etc away from big buildings.
-Great welcome and hospitality.
-Small hidden hotel with 5 rooms.
-Great coffee and breakfast included.
Negative aspects:
-Really expensive for what it is really. We had the 'red room' and it's a tiny room for 702RMB.
-Bathroom not impeccable in term of cleanliness.
-The 'red room' felt like a student bedroom. I expected more from the photos but it was a very bare room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We enjoyed our 3 night stay from having Collin arrange a pick up at PVG to organizing a taxi back to PVG. Suggest on a late night arrival at PVG that a car is arranged as it is far from the city centre and public transportation options are cumbersome. We stayed in the Green room that has a small balcony. There is street noise in the morning. Did not bother us as our house is in the city. The room and the bathroom are not large but clean and attractive. The shower is large with a rain head and the tolietries the best. The breakfast which is ordered the night before is made at the time you select. You can select Western or Chinese. The breakfast is served on the first floor. Each room has individual temperature control for heat and A/C. The location is close to two metro lines. There are several moderate to inexpensive restuarants in the area that accept credit cards. Upon arrival you receive a mobile to make free local calls. The staff is very helpful. Be warned there is no elevator. However, the staff will carry your luggage up and down the staris for you. A great B&B to enjoy Shanghai!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is a very difficult review because there were definite good things about the Magnolia and a few poor things as well.
The good is the location, which is in the French Concession and is a great neighborhood for a smaller, more intimate feel with some fine restaurants very close by. They serve a good breakfast, western style, and have a nespresso type coffee machine, which we appreciated. The rooms are quite small but ok. The bathroom is nice but the walls do not go to the ceiling so you can hear whatever is going on. They supply wonderful fluffy towels which is rare. You do climb stairs to get to any of the rooms but it isn't that difficult. The road outside does get quite noisy especially on the weekend. They do supply earplugs, which you need..
There was a major problem over the weekend because there was nobody there who could help or speak English and that left us in a fix as it is necessary to have someone write some key things in Chinese or explain something.
Once someone was there on Monday, things got on track but to ask us to call or email any questions while we were there, was a surprise and is not so easy as not everything can best be discussed that way.
Given the pros and cons, I thought the price was well over fair value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Magnolia B and B for 3 nights. It's a lovely house located in the old French concession, a quiet and interesting neighbourhood. The rooms are decorated with charm and taste, and the breakfast just beside the window at street level is the best way to start the day and plan the visit to the city. We stayed in the blue room, that is conveniently sized. And the bathroom was perfect!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Had a fantastic 3 night stay here in Sept 2012. Jessie the manager and the housekeeper went the extra mile to make our stay as comfortable as possible, including getting up ay 4am to make us a packed lunch for our early flight.
On the other mornings it was wonderful waking up in our large comfortable bed to the smell of our bacon and eggs cooking, going downstairs and sitting by the window to watch the world go past as we sipped our nespressos and savoured our breakfast. The WiFi was good and strong, and Jessie responded quickly to any questions we had via email. The stylish accommodation is in a 1930s period house in the former French concession, an ideal location for wandering around the shops and bars. All in all the perfect place to stay in shanghai.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

b4 my trip, i was choosing between this and another B&B which had an extremely good deal. it was a tough choice but i finally decided on magnolia becos the french concession area appealed to me. and i didn't regret my choice.

i stayed in the red room overlooking the road but it was quiet enough for a light sleeper like me. got wake up calls every morning from a bird in a cage kept by a neighbour (just outside the bathroom). housekeeper is a lovely friendly woman who helped me to carry my luggage up the stairs even tho i had not asked (contrast this with my experience in another B&B in nice where the owner just flatly refused).

1 good thing abt this place is its fairly flexible. i had to cancel 2 nights' stay at very late notice but I did not have to pay any additional rate unlike with other hotels.

Room Tip: red room is good for solo travellers. otherwise can b rather tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Magnolia Bed & Breakfast Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Bed & Breakfast Shanghai

Address: No.36 Yanqing Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200031, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 584 B&Bs / Inns in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic French Concession in a 1930’s structure on a small street, Magnolia Bed & Breakfast offers its guests a view into that famous era. Building and design elements from the Shanghai Art Deco period have been renovated and refurbished with an eye towards contemporary comfort. All the 5 rooms are individually designed to provide guests with everything you need for a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magnolia Bed & Breakfast Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Magnolia Bed And Breakfast Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Bed & Breakfast Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.