We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Bed & Breakfast Shanghai

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shanghai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magnolia Bed & Breakfast Shanghai
Save
You added Magnolia Bed & Breakfast Shanghai to your Saves list
No.36 Yanqing Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200031, China (Huaihai Road)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 582 Shanghai B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We enjoy very much our stay in Magnolia - The place is clean and the rooms are simple but very nice. The breakfast was also a very pleasant moment. The staff is very nice and always available for help.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    25
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
41
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

The Magnolia is in a quiet section of the French concess, close to restaurants and subway. The owner and the housekeeper are helpful and very kind. Good bathrooms, wifi in rooms, fully functioning AC, and excellent breakfasts - coffee and toast and scrambled eggs. Would recommend with enthusiasm and will return here when visiting Shanghai. The rooms are a bit small, but since you will be out and about in glorious Shanghai not a probem.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

This intimate B&B was a quiet and convenient stay within the French Concession district of Shanghai. The owner of the B&B was very well versed in English and helpful in answering questions. She provided a phone for use while in Shanghai, which can be very useful.

It is located about a 3 minute walk from Line 1 or 7 of the subway system, and about 10 minutes from line 10. The neighborhood has many wonderful restaurants nearby.

Breakfast was good but sparse, lacking any fresh fruit. But, there are a number of markets just outside the door where you can purchase fresh fruit very reasonably and bring back to eat for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, bc
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I had the Red Room, small but all the necessities were there. The property is an old house with about 5 rooms on the second and third floors. We faced the street but there was no problem with noise. The old French concession area is picturesque and has some good restaurants. It's close to two metro stations. Price for two in April was about $103 Candian and included breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Stayed in the Blue room for 2 nights. The room is small but the bed was really comfy and the decor was delightful. It had everything you needed. The little balcony overlooked the bustling street which made you feel part of the French Concession life. Breakfast was delicious. The Nespresso machine priceless and the endless supply of books a treat. The housekeeper was really kind and Miranda (the owner) was helpful and entertaining. Easy walk to lots of great eateries. Free wi-fi. Will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in Green Room for one night.
What I really feel sorry Is that I couldn't spare my time enough for staying inside of this B&B. Quiet, well-maintained, good design. I wish I were able to be more.

Owner always reply quickly about my reservation and questions, and welcomed with warm smile.
5minutes away from nearest subway station, there are some local restaurants, bars, cafe, and 24hour small grocery stores, but quiet at night.
Room maybe a little bit of small for 2 persons, but comfortable, clean and unique-designed.

There is SOMETHING you never get from 5 star hotels.
I recommend Magnolia B&B to the travellers who want to seek unusual beautiful stay in Shanghai.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

My favorite place to stay in Shanghai, after trying out a number of Bed and Breakfasts in the French Concession. The rooms are nice, not fancy, but what makes it for me is the sitting area downstairs. I've stayed as the only guest where the sitting area turns in my living room, and I've stayed in a full B&B where we've had spontaneous wine evenings and outings amongst a few guests.
Step outside, and you're really in China, not like when you stay in a hotel in Pudong, like all my colleagues. Loads of bars and restaurants around the corner as well.
Finally, Miranda, the owner also has a cooking school - if you have a bit of time and would like to learn more about Chinese food that's the perfect place to spend a few hours on a Saturday morning.

Room Tip: For single travelers I highly recommend Chocolate or Red. For couples the room on top (not blue or g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia Bed & Breakfast Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Bed & Breakfast Shanghai

Address: No.36 Yanqing Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200031, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 582 B&Bs / Inns in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic French Concession in a 1930’s structure on a small street, Magnolia Bed & Breakfast offers its guests a view into that famous era. Building and design elements from the Shanghai Art Deco period have been renovated and refurbished with an eye towards contemporary comfort. All the 5 rooms are individually designed to provide guests with everything you need for a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magnolia Bed & Breakfast Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Magnolia Bed And Breakfast Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Bed & Breakfast Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.