We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Bed & Breakfast Shanghai

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shanghai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magnolia Bed & Breakfast Shanghai
Save
You added Magnolia Bed & Breakfast Shanghai to your Saves list
No.36 Yanqing Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200031, China (Former French Concession)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 642 Shanghai B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We enjoy very much our stay in Magnolia - The place is clean and the rooms are simple but very nice. The breakfast was also a very pleasant moment. The staff is very nice and always available for help.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laetitia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Clinton, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

The Magnolia is in a quiet section of the French concess, close to restaurants and subway. The owner and the housekeeper are helpful and very kind. Good bathrooms, wifi in rooms, fully functioning AC, and excellent breakfasts - coffee and toast and scrambled eggs. Would recommend with enthusiasm and will return here when visiting Shanghai. The rooms are a bit small, but since you will be out and about in glorious Shanghai not a probem.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KHD5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

This intimate B&B was a quiet and convenient stay within the French Concession district of Shanghai. The owner of the B&B was very well versed in English and helpful in answering questions. She provided a phone for use while in Shanghai, which can be very useful.

It is located about a 3 minute walk from Line 1 or 7 of the subway system, and about 10 minutes from line 10. The neighborhood has many wonderful restaurants nearby.

Breakfast was good but sparse, lacking any fresh fruit. But, there are a number of markets just outside the door where you can purchase fresh fruit very reasonably and bring back to eat for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoMoreTuition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, bc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I had the Red Room, small but all the necessities were there. The property is an old house with about 5 rooms on the second and third floors. We faced the street but there was no problem with noise. The old French concession area is picturesque and has some good restaurants. It's close to two metro stations. Price for two in April was about $103 Candian and included breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thecanadian20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Stayed in the Blue room for 2 nights. The room is small but the bed was really comfy and the decor was delightful. It had everything you needed. The little balcony overlooked the bustling street which made you feel part of the French Concession life. Breakfast was delicious. The Nespresso machine priceless and the endless supply of books a treat. The housekeeper was really kind and Miranda (the owner) was helpful and entertaining. Easy walk to lots of great eateries. Free wi-fi. Will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieAMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I stayed in Green Room for one night.
What I really feel sorry Is that I couldn't spare my time enough for staying inside of this B&B. Quiet, well-maintained, good design. I wish I were able to be more.

Owner always reply quickly about my reservation and questions, and welcomed with warm smile.
5minutes away from nearest subway station, there are some local restaurants, bars, cafe, and 24hour small grocery stores, but quiet at night.
Room maybe a little bit of small for 2 persons, but comfortable, clean and unique-designed.

There is SOMETHING you never get from 5 star hotels.
I recommend Magnolia B&B to the travellers who want to seek unusual beautiful stay in Shanghai.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomo0227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

My favorite place to stay in Shanghai, after trying out a number of Bed and Breakfasts in the French Concession. The rooms are nice, not fancy, but what makes it for me is the sitting area downstairs. I've stayed as the only guest where the sitting area turns in my living room, and I've stayed in a full B&B where we've had spontaneous wine evenings and outings amongst a few guests.
Step outside, and you're really in China, not like when you stay in a hotel in Pudong, like all my colleagues. Loads of bars and restaurants around the corner as well.
Finally, Miranda, the owner also has a cooking school - if you have a bit of time and would like to learn more about Chinese food that's the perfect place to spend a few hours on a Saturday morning.

Room Tip: For single travelers I highly recommend Chocolate or Red. For couples the room on top (not blue or g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A_Traveler_from_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund
Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund
#46 of 4,068 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#5 of 4,068 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 1,146 reviews
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#65 of 4,068 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#15 of 4,068 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 808 reviews
Hongkou
Astor House Hotel
Astor House Hotel
#102 of 4,068 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 964 reviews
Former French Concession
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
#142 of 4,068 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Bed & Breakfast Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Bed & Breakfast Shanghai

Address: No.36 Yanqing Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200031, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 642 B&Bs / Inns in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic French Concession in a 1930’s structure on a small street, Magnolia Bed & Breakfast offers its guests a view into that famous era. Building and design elements from the Shanghai Art Deco period have been renovated and refurbished with an eye towards contemporary comfort. All the 5 rooms are individually designed to provide guests with everything you need for a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magnolia Bed And Breakfast Shanghai
Magnolia Bed & Breakfast Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing