We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blooming good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Bed & Breakfast Shanghai

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shanghai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magnolia Bed & Breakfast Shanghai
Save
You added Magnolia Bed & Breakfast Shanghai to your Saves list
No.36 Yanqing Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200031, China (Huaihai Road)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 584 Shanghai B&B and Inns
Adelaide, South Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Blooming good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Magnolia B and B which is located in an interesting street in the French Concession. The rooms are small but character-filled and the lounge/dining area equipped with a book exchange, coffee and tea and a nice ambience. The breakfast is good (cooked or not) and there is delicious unsweetened yoghurt. Plenty of restaurants to walk out to of an evening but save room for the local branch of Lillian's of Macau for the famous Portuguese tart (Huahai Middle Road). Magnolia is also close to metro station. You can get cheaper in Shanghai but everything here is worth the little extra for a real neighbourhood experience, a great host (Miranda) and staff. Grab one of the complimentary Shanghai Art maps in the lounge and start exploring. We will stay again.

Room Tip: there is street noise in all rooms but earplugs are supplied if you really need them. We did not as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    25
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
42
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Well located with secure entry. Friendly owner. Amazing and well thought out breakfast (you get to order each afternoon/evening off a card, and are served in the small dining area at your nominated time, great home cooked food). Stunning decor, beautiful and unique art combined with some modern and some antique furnishings. Small rooms but very comfortable and cosy. We had a wonderful stay and were sad to leave... Small touches mean a lot such as providing us with a mobile phone for local calls or to contact the owner anytime day or night if needed & a business card in Chinese character as well as English to show taxi drivers etc. would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Magnolia is a place for the confident, seasoned traveler who wants something other than the usual hotel experience. The rooms are modest in size, but very clean and comfortable. Try one of the higher floors for a quieter night. The proprietor, when she is there, is extremely helpful with excellent English; she provides you with a local phone to use, much appreciated by us foreigners. The Wifi is terrific, as is the bacon!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

I stayed in the so-called "Blue room" for 5 nights: for 120 US Dollar per night it is clean, but very small indeed, you have no cupboard to hang up or lay down clothes, which means you live out of your suitcase. Instead you have a wooden ladder, memorable but a very poor substitute. The balcony is tiny, you can just stand on it and watch the street, the last morning they killed alive chicken on the other side of the very lively street, not that I mind, good cinema. My daughter came for the last night to share the room with me (the double bed takes up practically all the room there is), but there is no second chair to sit on. The breakfast room is the tiniest I have ever seen, with two very small tables, not exactly comfortable, people eat in shift. Miranda, the owner, has taste, spent time in the US, and knows well how to hide the shortcomings of this place: but she should drastically lower the price for what it is. You walk down the road, and find two versions of a large elegant hotel, one less expensive, one very stately with a big park around it, and very comfortable rooms, breakfast any time you like (and not to be ordered the night before for a defined half an hour next morning : a room there costs as much as mine in the tiny Magnolia!! also around 800 Yan! The outside of Magnolia is so ugly and tiny, that you will be surprised when you find the door, next to it a bench in the street with sushi.
Miranda provides you with a local phone, at which she can be reached, but she was around only for settling the bill. The lady serving the breakfast speaks no English but is charming.
Anne Quene-Ritter, Amsterdam

Room Tip: don't chose the blue one, I have not seen the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Magnolia in September. We stayed in the Blue Room, and found everything to be just fine. This was our first time to Shanghai and my wife was there for business (staying at the Shangri-la) but since we decided to make it a long weekend, we opted for something in the French Concession...not to mention the fact that accommodation in Shanghai can be very expensive and the Shangrila would have set us back significantly more than Magnolia.
The rooms are basic, but very clean and they serve the purpose well. Our bed was comfortable, AC worked fine - although figuring out the buttons in Chinese characters was a bit difficult. Breakfast was simple, but good and the system of ticking off boxes for your choices always seemed to work well. Having Wifi in the B&B also came in quite handy.
Before our arrival, we swapped several e-mails with Miranda - would provided excellent details and directions, and who we had no issue communicating with. The house staff spoke very limited English, but we were able to get along fine with gestures and using Google translate (good thing for the wifi).
The neighbourhood is just wonderful. Bicycles and electric scooters whiz by the window in the morning as you eat breakfast downstairs, and it's a great place to witness life in Shanghai and people watch. The house is within less than 10 minutes walk to the subway, but certainly near a number of food and sightseeing options within the French Concession. I would certainly recommend this B&B for another couple traveling to Shanghai.

Room Tip: Rooms are a bit noisy due to proximity to the street, but earplugs are supplied. We didn't need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

One of the reasons we prefer small guesthouses is because of the friendly chats that develop around the breakfast table, with both the owners as well as fellow travellers. Our first B+B in Shanghai was going through renovations, so we totally missed that.

We stayed in the French Concession, near to the Changshu Road Metro. A beautiful part of the city - tree lined avenues as far as the eye can see, made for some lovely strolls, even if my feet did feel like bricks in my Birkenstocks.

Luckily our stay at Magnolia seemed to make up for it. Miranda, the owner, was available every morning and we had some lovely long chats with her about Shanghai and its people. It's those kind of connections with locals that really help give us a sense of place…

I loved the little touches of cute Muji dispensers in the shower, as well as their comfy slippers.

We wanted to watch some of the DVDs we bought from a secret pirate shop :) down the road, and they kindly set one up for us in our room.

She gave us 'crib sheets' to help navigate the city. Lists and maps of local places of interest with the names in both English and Mandarin. Very useful for catching a taxi… the taxi's were very reliable and affordable. 12RMB for a flag drop of 2km, which gets you quite far.
The metro was also super efficient and clean, you could pretty much get anywhere in the city via subway. Only thing, the doors opened and shut so quickly, that everyone has to get a little pushy shovey in order to get onto/off the train. It's every person for themselves! And the grannies were the worst pushers…
Shanghai is an amazing, affordable city to visit, with great cappucinos on every street corner and very friendly and helpful locals.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. The room was small but adequate as was the breakfast. The location cannot be beat, right in the middle of the French concession. What realy makes the stay however are the innkeepers.

They were extremly helpful in helpiung us to make travel arranements and to get a cab. Good place for the money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia Bed & Breakfast Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Bed & Breakfast Shanghai

Address: No.36 Yanqing Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200031, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 584 B&Bs / Inns in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic French Concession in a 1930’s structure on a small street, Magnolia Bed & Breakfast offers its guests a view into that famous era. Building and design elements from the Shanghai Art Deco period have been renovated and refurbished with an eye towards contemporary comfort. All the 5 rooms are individually designed to provide guests with everything you need for a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magnolia Bed & Breakfast Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Magnolia Bed And Breakfast Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Bed & Breakfast Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.