We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai to your Saves list
Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 1108 Mei Hua Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 201204, China (Century Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% on your stay!
Ranked #28 of 3,987 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

It was an excellently managed hotel, and in an ideal location, next to the Expo in Pudong. The Concierges were absolutely excellent and most helpful. It is however not in Central Shanghai, so not so good for tourists, but for business visitors visiting the Expo, it as marvellous.

I would definitely return to the Hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a Room near the elevators, as the ones in the opposite corner are somewhat far and it is qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHS_Pudong, Hotel Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear VINOD110
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you were pleased with the service as well as the facilities at Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai. I have shared your comments with the team, especially concierge colleagues and they are equally happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and appreciate your praise. Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel, Shanghai.

Sincerely,

Alice Mafaity
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    103
    27
    6
    5
See reviews for
26
28
17
273
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I was greeted at the airport by Harry from the hotel. Such a nice guy. Loved the hotel from the moment I arrived after a long flight from Chicago. Once I arrived I was greeted by Taylor as soon as I got out of the private car. Check in was in my room. The view was beautiful I especially loved the button near my bed to open the shade. Everyone at the hotel was courteous and helpful. Best hotel I have stayed in Shanghai so far! So relaxing to walk back to the hotel after a long day at the expo across the street.

Room Tip: The Korean BBQ across was inexpensive and fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHS_Pudong, Hotel Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Burke56,
I am delighted to read your comments and on behalf of the team, I would like to sincerely thank you for acknowledging so many positive elements experienced throughout your stay; from the service and facilities that we provided at the hotel to your feedback in regards to the team. They certainly play a significant role throughout in ensuring that your stay is memorable and I will definitely share your feedback with Harry and Taylor, they are equally delighted to learn that you remember and appreciated all their efforts. Your feedback is always very important as it helps us to continue evaluate and improve our services and product range. Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel, Shanghai.

Sincerely,

Alice Mafaity
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

After a month of travel I am beck to my home country. I was in Shanghai for business purpose a beautiful city. I stayed in Jumeirah a unique hotel. Hotel was busy because of exhibition and world cup, but everything organized. Beautiful lobby with such antique items. The room was beautiful, clean, and very functional. This is top quality. Everyday housekeeping girl cleaning my room with a smile on their face that really makes a good day. I often tried to eat out to discover Chinese cuisines. The gym is great and the sauna fantastic. I really enjoyed the hotel. The lobby is amazing with an LED ceiling. Well in the evening I used to come back to hotel to have some drinks and back to room. I met Paul a brit guy. First day he served me and he is so friendly to check my satisfaction, I am so pleased that next couple of days when I went atomically my drinks is in front of me of my choice because he remembered each drink that I like. It really make you to think that AM I so important guest. All the staffs are very friendly my each moment is valued in the hotel. I really want to come back and next time I will come with some of my friends from UK to experience the hospitality. Thanks Jumeirah.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHS_Pudong, Hotel Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Chris H,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel, Shanghai. Our “Stay Different” promise is to create luxury environments where our guests can enjoy unique and memorable experiences and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with the services provided by our colleagues. Paul our management trainee is indeed one of our stars. His attention to our guests’ needs is an innate part of the way Paul performs his duties, and we fully recognize his value to the hotel. I will be sure to pass on your comments to Paul, he will be very appreciative. Once again, sincere thanks for recommending Jumeirah Himalayas to your friends, we certainly look forward to the opportunity to serve you again, hopefully in the very near future.

Sincerely

Alice Mafaity
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia, Italy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I'm here for a trade show. The hotel is superb with people extremely kind and helpful. the location is not in the core of the city but it's literally in front of the exposition center. so perfect location for the fair

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for quite a few times. I love this hotel and one of the best city hotel I've been to.

I stayed in a de luxe room. The bed and pillows are very comfortable. I love the fact that the window blinds is electronic. Just a button away and you can close your window blinds!
The room decor is fantastic. I love the asian-modern decor of the room and the whole hotel itself.

Bathroom is the best! Rain shower head, reminds me of when I was a kid playing in the rain!

There is a Chinese restaurant in the hotel and the food is delicious! Even room service menu has good selection and tasty too!

Gym is amazing and big.

Usually I don't really stay in my hotel room, I'd rather eat outside or explore the city. But in this hotel, I'm always happy to just stay in my room comfortably or just order room service while watching the tv. (lots of english channels like nat geo, lifestyle network, history channel, discovery channel and much much more)

Free wifi and internet is fast. Staff are courteous.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHS_Pudong, Hotel Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear asb_9theTraveller

Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel, Shanghai. First of all I would like to thank you for your continued patronage Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel, Shanghai and I am delighted to read that every aspect of your experience was excellent. I am pleased to read you were so satisfied with the quality of the food and service provided in our Shanghai restaurant and room service menu. Our constant effort at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel is to create a relaxing environment and offer efficient, warm, friendly and unobtrusive service to all our guests and I am happy to hear that you were overall happy with the services provided by our colleagues. I certainly look forward to welcoming you back at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, hopefully in the very near future.

Sincerely

Alice Mafaity
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

A stunning hotel that pays attention to the small details. Room and bathroom are huge and very clean.
Great location with lots of small shops and massage spas opposite the hotel.
The metro is right outside of the hotel entrance.

Also, look up in the hotel lobby to see a nice little surprise.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHS_Pudong, EAM at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Sabwills,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel, Shanghai and for acknowledging so many positive elements about the hotel from the hotel facility to the design of the lobby and the location of the hotel. I have shared you comments with the team and they are equally happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel, Shanghai.


Sincerely

Alice Mafaity
EAM Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stayed there a couple of times and every time it was a new experience for me. The hotel is just great! Rooms are huge equipped with all the things you might need.The bed is from the heaven, so nice and soft, I slept there like a baby.
Staff is very friendly and helpful.
The buffet dinner is yummy, they are making special dinners, like Arabic, Brazilian, Mediterranean etc. where you can enjoy in the food from all over the world, but you can always find a delicious asian dishes as well.
The only thing, there's nothing around the hotel, except massage salons and a shopping mall with a Starbucks coffee shop.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHS_Pudong, EAM at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear BojanaBles,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent visit with us at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel, Shanghai on Tripadvisor. First of all I would like to thank you for your continued patronage, I am delighted to read that every aspect of your experience was excellent. Your kind comment about our colleagues is highly appreciated. I am very proud that I am surrounded by these wonderful individuals who exactly know how to deliver a good quality service to all our guests. I have shared your comment with the entire team including the Kitchen and Service team and they are equally happy to hear that you had an amazing stay with us. Hope you can visit us again so that our Concierge team my guide you in various activities you may find in the Pudong area from our Movie Theater in the Himalayas center to the Century Park 5min walk from the hotel and many more. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel, Shanghai hopefully in the very near future.

Sincerely

Alice Mafaity
EAM Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Century Park
Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai
Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai
#11 of 3,987 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 642 reviews
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#114 of 3,987 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Century Park
Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century Park
Radisson Blu Hotel Pudong Century Park
Century Park
Jinjiang Inn (Shanghai Maglev Station)
Lujiazui
DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai

Address: No. 1108 Mei Hua Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 201204, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Century Park , Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 3,987 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai is perfectly placed for business and leisure. Located in the heart of Pudong, the hotel is directly opposite the Shanghai New International Expo Centre and close to the green expanse of Century Park. Metro line 7 is accessed directly from the basement of the Himalayas Centre, allowing easy citywide connections. The Maglev train station is just a short walk away for speedy seven-minute transfers to/from Pudong International Airport. Construction of the Himalayas Centre started in 2006 under the direction of world-renowned architect Arata Isozaki, who also created the Barcelona Olympic Stadium and Los Angeles MoMA. Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel opened in March 2011. Inspired by Chinese cultural elements and traditional feng shui principles, architect Arata Isozaki designed the landmark Himalayas Center, where Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel is located. A three-dimensional Urban Forest comprising dramatically sculpted columns defines the central section of the Himalayas Centre. It also carries an important loading capacity function and provides an arresting entrance to the Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel. Tien Shu Patterned Walls Wrapped around the base of the two towers presents a conceptual interpretation of ancient Chinese characters from the Tien Shu by Cang Jie. Special windows have also been custom made to subtly insert between the characters allowing light to flood the hotel interiors. The Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel tower is constructed in the form of the Yu Cong, an ancient Chinese ritual object formed from an outer square representing earth, and inner circle representing heaven. The cylindrical atrium stretches 14 levels through the centre of the tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.