We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai to your Saves list
Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 1108 Mei Hua Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 201204, China (Shanghai New International Expo Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% on your stay!
Ranked #35 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
seoul
1 review
“Great location and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Surprising hotel with very comfortable facilities and rooms. Swimming pool and Jacuzzi are perfect after a long day for business meetings.
The rooms were very clean and my colleagues loved how it was decorated. All the staff we encountered were very pleasant and helpful. We'll stay there again when we go to shanghai, hopefully for longer next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_John_Roberts, General Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Jieun1207,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to read that you had enjoyable stay with Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai, and that you were pleased with the service and facilities. I have communicated your feedback to all Departments in the hotel and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated. I am certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration, I appreciate you have made Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai as your first stay choice when you were Shanghai. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,

John Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    89
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
23
24
16
242
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

While I was staying in Jumeira Hotel, I was given warm hospitalities and facilities.
And every hotelmen in Hotel, They greated with nice attitute and words.
If I go there again, I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_John_Roberts, General Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Joseph0226,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor, following your recent stay at Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai.

I am very pleased to see that you were so happy with your stay in the hotel. Thank you for acknowledging those positive elements of your stay - especially the hotel facilities and the hosipitality of our colleagues.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai, hopefully in the very near future.

Sincerely,

John Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I've stayed last month for 7 days. I was very impressed of being clean and convenient for staying. Above all, bathroom must be wonderful place for taking a rest after hectic schedule of my business trip. Everything is prepared. But the problem is location little bit far from the center of Shanghai.If you have to take subway to trip, it could be a long journey to get to the hotel especially at night.

Room Tip: perfect place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_John_Roberts, General Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear 8891Anna317,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay at Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai.

I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and had such positive comments of the experience. Thank you once again for your comments. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Jumeirah Himalayas in the near future.

Sincerely,

John Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I celebrated my birthday at the captioned restaurant on the 26th July. We were a group of 18 persons, and everyone of us enjoyed very much. The food was superb and adequate, the restaurant team as well as the kitchen team were so friendly but professional. Special praice should go to Ms Denise Matthijisse, she came around twice to ensusre everything was in order. Knowing it was my birthday party, she was so sweet by presenting me a birthday cake with candle light which was a highlight of the evening.

For sure we will come back.for both dinning and accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_John_Roberts, General Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Josephine8882013,
Belated Happy Birthday! I am delighted that you enjoyed your birthday celebration with us at Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai.

Thank you for posting your valuable feedback following your dinner in J-Mix Restaurant.

I am pleased to read you were so satisfied with the quality of the food and service provided in our Japanese restaurant. I have passed on your thanks to Denise, our Assistant Food & Beverage Director – and the Kitchen and Service team. They very much appreciate your praise.

Thank you once again for your comments and support and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back and to continuing to ensure that your visits to us exceed expectations and provide such fond memories.

Sincerely,
John Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I staid here for 3 nights and was really impressed. I was upgraded to a junior suit with a huge bathroom and ballroom like bedroom. Great wellness area, superb restaurants, good breakfast, even though a bit crowded, and very good service overall.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_John_Roberts, General Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Jan S,

Thank you for staying with as at Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai and for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

It gives us such great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We very much appreciate you highlighting the many aspects of your stay which exceeded your expectations.

I will definitely share your feedback with the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
John Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great location with a wonderful array of restaurants and shopping close by. Train station out the front door to take you anywhere in Shanghai you need to go. The service was amazing with suggestions on restaurants and shopping that were spot on. The rooms are very clean and modern with fantastic bathrooms. There is a great range of restaurants in the hotel that cater for most tastes if you do not want to venture outside and a day spa that is well priced and with great therapists.

The indoor pool and gym are of the highest standard with a tranquil garden to perform your morning Thai chi. I would highly recommend this hotel and would put it in my must return list.

Room Tip: Stayed in 1207 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_John_Roberts, General Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear wantbetterservice,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to read that you had enjoyable stay with Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai, and that you were pleased with the service and facilities, also with the convenience of the location. I appreciate you recommending Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai very much, and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,
John Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

from the minute you enter this hotel, the look, the feel, the genuine and perfect service, you wont want to stay anywhere else in Pudong. The rooms are large, spacious and very light with the floor to ceiling windows. The Japanese restaurant here is also a must as the food is to die for from the great chef and the lobby has a fantastic luxurious feel to it.
Thanks to all for looking after me and see you again next year

Room Tip: if you can, the suites are a must with even a guest bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_John_Roberts, General Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear babyvic,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor, following your stay at Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai.

I am very pleased to see that you were so happy with your stay in the hotel, and especially appreciate your comments concerning the fabulous feeling of the stay experience.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai, hopefully in the very near future.

Sincerely,
John Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai

Address: No. 1108 Mei Hua Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 201204, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai is perfectly placed for business and leisure. Located in the heart of Pudong, the hotel is directly opposite the Shanghai New International Expo Centre and close to the green expanse of Century Park. Metro line 7 is accessed directly from the basement of the Himalayas Centre, allowing easy citywide connections. The Maglev train station is just a short walk away for speedy seven-minute transfers to/from Pudong International Airport. Construction of the Himalayas Centre started in 2006 under the direction of world-renowned architect Arata Isozaki, who also created the Barcelona Olympic Stadium and Los Angeles MoMA. Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel opened in March 2011. Inspired by Chinese cultural elements and traditional feng shui principles, architect Arata Isozaki designed the landmark Himalayas Center, where Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel is located. A three-dimensional Urban Forest comprising dramatically sculpted columns defines the central section of the Himalayas Centre. It also carries an important loading capacity function and provides an arresting entrance to the Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel. Tien Shu Patterned Walls Wrapped around the base of the two towers presents a conceptual interpretation of ancient Chinese characters from the Tien Shu by Cang Jie. Special windows have also been custom made to subtly insert between the characters allowing light to flood the hotel interiors. The Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel tower is constructed in the form of the Yu Cong, an ancient Chinese ritual object formed from an outer square representing earth, and inner circle representing heaven. The cylindrical atrium stretches 14 levels through the centre of the tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.