We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Bargain For Teppenyaki!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tairyo - CLOSED

Tairyo
3F Jiaxing Building, No.877 Dongfang Road, Shanghai, China (Lujiazui)
021-68755221
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Lujiazui
Shanghai
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Bargain For Teppenyaki!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Tairyo is one of those all-you-can-eat teppenyaki restaurants for a set price. There is a good selection of decent quality beef and seafood teppenyaki. Plus, sahimi, sushi and all sorts of other things to choose from. You can't leave the place not feeling completely stuffed. The only problem is that they tend to overdo it on the butter seasoning.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    12
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

My daughter and I visited this Tairyo for the first time, although we've eaten at other branches in Shanghai and generally had a good experience. However the first impression as we entered was the smokey atmosphere! We did not opt for the all you can eat option and selected some popular dishes instead. The sashimi was average - not very fresh while the beef was full of grizzle. At the end when we wanted to pay, they tried to charge us for the all you can eat option! We won't be going back to this particular branch!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“All you can eat...teppanyaki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

All you can eat and select from the menu including drinks for Y 168
freshly cooked on the hot plate in front of you, starters include excellent sushi and sashimi, deserts freshly flambed bananas..yummy! Service efficient and friendly...although limited English spoked there are pictures to point at...all in all a fun evening with great value

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ningbo, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best teppanyaki in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Classic! Need to book in advance though. All you can eat and drink, ask for the chef's selection menu if you hesitate.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Way Overrated. Read before you Go.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

"168 RMB All you can eat" place in the office area of Pudong, relatively close to Lui Jia Zui financial area. Run down building, 500% "local service". Place (Walls) and staff (Uniforms) in need of an energetic scrub and wash.

Food served corresponded "approximately" to food demanded. We (4 of us) were sharing a 10-seat Teppanyakki table with another 4 people local group. We ended up eating a mix of our orders and the other group's. Nothing dramatic, but we were a bit pissed off. Food and drink "timed" with longish intervals, I guess to tame your willingness to order more and reduce their margins. Waiters elusive and difficult to come by (we had Chinese speakers in the group, so language was not really an issue).

We went with our kids, who had reasonable fun at the food being cooked in front of them but, having substantially better options a short drive away, it will take a lot of convincing to get me back there again.

I am sincerely puzzled at the encouraging reviews by other members, but I guess beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tairyo also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tairyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.