We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel 168 - Location is good but reception staff should be honest” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 168 Shanghai Pudong South Road Babaiban

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 168 Shanghai Pudong South Road Babaiban to your Saves list
Motel 168 Shanghai Pudong South Road Babaiban
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   No.1758 Pudong South Road, Pudong District, Shanghai 200126, China (Lujiazui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #477 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 91 Reviews
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Motel 168 - Location is good but reception staff should be honest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed in this hotel on April 7, 2013 due to its close proximity to Century Avenue Line 2 Metro. However while checking out on April 8 I got stuck in Shanghai traffic & could check out by 1.30 pm. The reception staff charged me 50% of 1 day tariff for my 1.30 hrs. delay in checking out & also he did not issue me the receipt for this 50% amount. As I had to catch my flight, I could not stay there to insist for the receipt.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    50
    24
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
1
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Being at the airport this was the ideal place to stay due to a early morning flight. The staff cannot speak English and the front desk service was really very bad. There was no sugar or coffee so this really isn't a coffee table for western visitors, clearly only for Asians, its a huge disappointed for me as thinking a huge international airport hotel would cater for English speaking people on a visit. The holding deposit was not return in 24 hours and has cost me double for this room and phone calls, don't pay on your card you wont get the money back easily. Pay cash and get cash back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

terrible staff. they dont know 1 word english. cleaning terrible. just good thinks there is internet in room and metro is not far from hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

To star with, the reception staff need to re train in customer service. They need to smile and no doubt to act in a poltie manner.

The room. Absolutly filty. the green carpet did not look green anymore it looked more
like black carpet. The coffee table was far outdated and filty. The bathroom ? the shower head was falling apart , Around the shower cubical it needed not a clean but a spring clean with stron cleaning agents to remove the scum sround. it was filty all around.
Dust and dirt under the bed. ( I moved the bed to collect an item I droped on the filty carpet and could not beleive the filth under the bed.
I have taken picture of waht I have described above. This is an unhealthy place to stay not even for 30 minutes. The hotel is too busy turning around people with no regards to their wellbeing . The breakfast. RMB it was cheap and nasty. Could not eat it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 168 Shanghai Pudong South Road Babaiban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 168 Shanghai Pudong South Road Babaiban

Address: No.1758 Pudong South Road, Pudong District, Shanghai 200126, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #477 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel 168 Shanghai Pudong South Road Babaiban 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Motel 168 Shanghai Pudong South Road Babaiban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 168 Shanghai Pudong South Road Babaiban, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.