We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT at Holiday Inn level” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Jinqiao Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Jinqiao Central to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Jinqiao Central
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1359 Jinqiao Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200129, China (Jinqiao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #197 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 70 Reviews
Padova
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“NOT at Holiday Inn level”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

I stayed 9 nights, it has been a half disaster, I do not know from where to begin:
1. Personnel speaking poor English or not at all. One for all: in my request I put "far away from elevators and ice-machine", they asked me if I wanted an ice-machine in the room!
2. Credit card pre-authorization higher than the total amount.
3. Room not well cleaned.
4. Wall-to-wall carpet not clean and worn.
5. Furniture old and sometime broken.
6. Requested several times, to the reception (in English and in Chinese), to have a spare toilet-paper, without result.
7. Bathroom: stinking bad.
8. Bathroom: hires, not mine, in the ground.
9. Air-cond without possibility of regulation.
10. Windows full of dust.
11. First day, no coffee for breakfast, explanation: coffee beans finished!
12. Breakfast Chinese style, not American, not continental, only some sliced bread, butter and jam.
13. Breakfast: every day few forks and few knives, ok I need one, but some of the days I had to ask for one.
14. Breakfast: my colleague had a boiled egg, once opened the eggshell the "white" was yellow, he took anothe: the same, and so another one, then he gave up with the eggs.
15. Breakfast: restaurant tables not really clean.
16. Breakfast: in front of the breakfast desk there was a carpet dirty and sticky!
17. Two times the restaurant was closed all the rest of the day: lunch and dinner.
18. In the brochure of the room and in front the restaurant door is written 10.00 p.m. closing time. At 8.00 p.m. was regularly closed.
19. In the notes I put at the reservation, I asked for a quiet room. My room was in front of an enormous construction site! Surely not quiet.
20. Last, but not least, ok that the price was attractive, ok that there were extra points, but at the moment of reservation it must be said, at least, that is in front of a huge construction site.

Surelly I will not stay there anymore!

Room Tip: High level rooms and opposite to the construction site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WU O, IHG Social Listening Team at Holiday Inn Express Jinqiao Central, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns.We are very sorry that you experienced inconvenience due to our service. Rest assured that we are looking in to details, ensuring that we address and improve the necessary services to provide all our guests with an excellent experience while staying with us.We hope you'd give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is, and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again. Thank you!

IHG Social Listening Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    40
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
2
6
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

A very good hotel specially when you come business. Staff here are very cooperative. Near by metro is line 6 just 10 mins walk. Best part hotel gives you free Wi fi. Rooms are good but little congested. Near by Indian restaurant is Bollywood Indian restaurant which serves Indian vegetarian food.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is the definition of a business type hotel and it is my regular choice during my visits to Shanghai because it delivers great value for money. The rooms are quite spacious, very well appointed and the beds are very comfortable and with a range of pillows to suit different sleeping styles.
Efficient front office staff and clean rooms plus a good (but limited choice for westerners) breakfast round up a very pleasant experience that is offered at a very good value. One drawback is the excessive road works in progress now which limit road access. There was no noise level problem in my room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I and my mother come in group tour from Indonesia. Hotel is rather cold because the heater is turn off when spring comes. Outside temperature is below 15 degrees celcius. Because we are coming from country where temperature rarely goes below 25 degrees celcius, we hardly struggling cold. I explain our problem to the staff. Staff are helpful, one of them can speak good english. He and a nice lady help and provide us an electric portable heater in my room.
Bed linen quality is very good for this 3 star hotel. One of the reason I choose Holiday Inn express when stay in China, is their price, location, and their cotton bed linen quality. They provide 2 pillow you can choose their firmness. Or you can choose booth :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panvel, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I was on business trip in 3 rd week of March. I landed in hotel on saturday evening & got first surprice. The receiption inform that restaurant will be closed on weekend evenings & I need to venture out for dinner.
Luckely found out one Indian resturant Bollywood Indian within 2 km distence.
The room is good with all basic amminities. Do not select road side rooms as road construction work is going on & lot of noise is there.
The breakfast is average if you are veg. Only bread, corn flakes & fruits is available. Free ride cysle is avialble for first half hour. Afterwards chargable.
Compared to charges, facilites are good & maintained. Wired LAN connection is available. They informed WiFi is not available but for me, I was getting it on my Android very easily. On monday morning I requested for Taxi. The staff tried hard to get one for me but not sucessful. Then he gave me the guidence to use metro & provided with map in chinease & english which helped me lot.
Overall, Okay experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cissy z, IHG Social Listening Team at Holiday Inn Express Jinqiao Central, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear mayuresh123,


Thank you very much for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Jinqiao Central, Shanghai and taking your time to share your feedback about the hotel .We are always seeking feedback from our guests to understand what they value and what can be improved, so we are grateful for your comments and our problem will be improved in the coming months.Thank you once again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again. Thank you!


IHG Social Listening Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ningbo, China
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is a typical business hotel, but the difference is on the staff attitude which was fantastic, the very nice bkfst included in the price.
The fact that you cant bikes, and also the cleanless and the nice rooms.
Compared to what the Marriott or the Ramada charge you ( triple).
No doubt i will use this hotel often.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Due to business meeting, I've stayed in the hotel for 2 nights.

The hotel is in the middle point of my co's R&D centre & the city centre (putong), about 40 min taxi ride from the hotel to the town centre. So, it's one of my few choices for my trip. Yet, it's not bad - we simply need a clean & tidy room for us to rest after the whole day meeting - which it met the purpose perfectly.

The room is spacious & the toilet is clean. However, the room originally assigned to us was having a toilet door under repairing. Upon contacted the service deck, they swapped another room swiftly. I would expect as an international hotel group, they could do it better (mark down which room was under repairing?).

There is a 24-hr mini-store (faimly mart) right next to hotel. So, got hungry during mid-night is not an issue for us. Despite the hotel include western buffet breakfast but the quality is so-so. Yet, considering it's price, I would say it's fair.

For a business hotel, I would expect a higher speed wifi network, which the wifi there was only good enough for me to reply emails but not good enough for me to have facetime (video call) to my family.

The room is better & cleanner than my expected.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Jinqiao Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Jinqiao Central

Address: No.1359 Jinqiao Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200129, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jinqiao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Jinqiao Central 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, BookIt.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Jinqiao Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Jinqiao Central Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Jinqiao Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.