We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.585 Zhongshan East Second Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China (The Bund)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 913 Reviews
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved this home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Genuinely caring staff and management, great property with deep soul and tastefully decorated rooms. Truly a great home away from home.

Don't miss a visit to Char bar on the 30th floor -- a great place to admire the Bund and lively landscape at night.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    177
    33
    13
    3
See reviews for
92
259
48
289
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I've stayed at the hotel indigo on the bund multiple times. Not once, have I had a reason to complain.

The hotel itself is very hip and modern and you are wowed from the moment you step into the lobby. Food is very good and room service is quick, the views of the huangpu and pudong is probably the best in shanghai with the hotel just overlooking the pier.

As a priority club member with IHG I've been upgraded to fancy suites, the staff know and call me by my first name, I had handwritten notes and gifts from management - really its hard to find a place that can match the level of service at indigo.

Everything works perfectly and if you do encounter a problem, it would be solved in minutes. This is definitely on top of the many hotels in the city.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Even the first impression and experience in reception disappointed us, later I was amazed with room design and amenities. The service is too good with every staff, in front office (They spend more time to chit chat then even during guest in front of them and laughing which I never saw in such high standard hotels.) The service in all other areas are highly appreciable, particularly in the quay lounge, I need to Mention Ms.Catherine, duty manager for her attentiveness and support in getting high speed train ticket even in late hours are really need to be mentioned here. The food is good, don't miss the view from 31st floor, it gives you a 360 degree shanghai skyline and you could enjoy the open air from river. I love the hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was all it said it would be and the views are superb! The breakfast is generous and caters to all food tastes and the staff are friendly and excellently trained. All in all, an e cell ent experience!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We booked the Indigo for the last 3 nights of our China adventure as a treat, having seen the excellent reviews on here. Initial impressions were great - it’s a quirky, cool and individual boutique hotel set on The Bund and a comfortable 10/15 walk from the Metro.

Check-in staff were pleasant, if a little cold, but they are there to get you into your room as quickly as possible and we were whisked up to our room on floor 28 with minimal fuss. Cases were taken up in a separate elevator and delivered to us. The room itself was impressive - not huge but big enough and completely unlike anything we’ve stayed in before. Huge comfy bed, individual fixtures and furniture along with a big tv, Bose system, great air con and a really nice toilet and shower area. Our room was lucky enough to face across the river and even though we couldn’t justify the price difference of ensuring a view toward the business end of The Bund, we were more than pleased with this - especially cool is the shower room that has the same view with a floor to ceiling window.

First night we took a trip up to the Char Bar and I have to say it’s a stunning view down toward the Pearl and across the river and city. Staff here were incredibly efficient and warm, and drinks, although pricey, we didn’t think it was outrageous. Bottle of important beer (Asahi) about £6 which isn’t cheap but you are also paying for that stunning view. We’ve been charged a lot more in London for lot less view and service. They also give free bar snacks (peanuts, wasabi nuts) which is a nice touch and don’t actually charge for service itself, which was nice to see. It does get busy mid evening as it’s open to the public but never uncomfortable.

Breakfast both mornings was a mixed affair. The quality of food is exceptional - lots of choice and well made and presented. As breakfast was included with our room cost, we were entitled to one hot option and I chose an omelette. After 25 mins I had to ask where it was and they apologised and told me there had been a “rush on the kitchen”. It eventually arrived and was completely the wrong filling so had to be sent back again. After three quarters of an hour I finally had the right one. We also had to ask for coffee refills. Second morning our coffee order was completely forgotten and had to be asked for..twice. It’s not even a huge dining room and Omelette and coffee have to be one of the easiest things to knock up.

Now don’t get me wrong, these might sound like minor issues, but the hotel is rightly proud of it’s “number one boutique hotel” awards and prominently displays these across the hotel. The breakfast room, at times, is a little chaotic and whilst there are lots of staff, no one actually seems to be controlling things and we noticed several other people having to ask for things again, or send incorrect orders back. Perhaps a little more attention to detail and a bit more structure here would make all the difference. Staff were, I have to add, extremely pleasant and apologetic so absolutely no issues on that. Majority of staff speak excellent English too.

We tried the pool out which is a bit on the small side and seems a slightly missed opportunity but it does the job, especially the views across the river and the gym room looked modern and well equipped. Poolside could do with some more seating though.

We didn’t eat at the Char steak restaurant because, to be completely honest it’s hugely expensive. We’ve eaten at Hawksmoor in London and thought that was pricey but we simply refused to pay £80+ for steak with no sides, no matter what the view and there is such fantastic food in China right outside your door it just seems needlessly excessive. We did, however, do Happy Hour at Morton’s - £5 a cocktail from 5 > 7pm and all the filet mignon sandwiches you can eat....for free... Look it up, you won’t be disappointed.

Overall if you’re looking at this hotel and hovering over the “book” button, my advice is absolutely book it. It’s brilliant and you will not be disappointed. There were just a few areas that we thought they need to address to really make it a 5/5 rated hotel for us and I really think if they lowered the Char restaurant prices a little, more people would give it a go.

Room Tip: It's possible to get a river view in the opposite direction from the more expensive Pearl facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

For both business and pleasure this hotel is well located on the one end of the Bund allowing for views of both Puxi and Pudong.

Tastefully decorated rooms with emphasis on Chinese artistic themes will make your stay enjoyable.

The chat bar and restaurant are ideal venues for pre and post dinner drinks and a sumptuous meal respectively.

I would stay here over most, if not all, five star establishments in Shanghai

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Loved this first hotel stay in China. Great service, decor , food and views to make you know you are in Shanghai. Just gorgeous. Bar on rooftop is so much fun and the bathrooms one of the best I have experienced.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Address: No.585 Zhongshan East Second Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, Hotel Indigo's first property in Asia Pacific, sits directly on the Huangpu river front, Hotel Indigo assures not only spectacular views of both the historic Bund and dramatic Pudong skylines, but an upscale boutique hotel experience where the focus is on inspired service, fresh and vibrant design reflecting the local neighborhood, and providing guests with an authentic taste of today's shanghai, where old and new converge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.