We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.585 Zhongshan East Second Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China (The Bund)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Auckland N Z
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Outstanding hotel in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

After a month travelling we stayed at the best hotel on our trip! The Indigo has a great location, right on The Bund and at the end of the walkway. This means most rooms overlook the river and have no room noise unlike other hotels.
Everything was excellent. Check in was efficient and quick and personalised. Our room was outstanding..try to book 2709..a corner room with jaw dropping views over the river and up the Bund. We loved the modern furnishings, the very comfortable bed and quality linens and the little extras and the bathroom with its view directly over the river is gorgeous. Showering watching the river traffic is something else.
We loved the breakfasts which offer many choices leaning towards the healthy, think smoothies, juices, great variety of fruit and all the rest. Proper coffee made on an Italian machine too.
We dined at their upmarket Char Grill and it was a perfect experience with delicious food, good wine options and wonderful service. The Quay restaurant offers good food and great views too.
Try the roof top bar with a cocktail.
We would stay here anytime and commend the I H Group for creating such a fun upmarket quality new style hotel but one that is never stuffy or staid. Loved the art in the hotel too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    193
    34
    14
    4
See reviews for
99
281
51
317
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Just spent a long weekend at The Indigo (my second visit to this fantastic hotel). The staff and service are excellent and the views from the river rooms, and especially the Char Bar on the 30th floor rooftop, are definately the best views in Shanghai. You get a panorama view of both Puxi and Pudong sides of the Bund ....you cannot fault it, especially at night when all the buildings are lit up. The rooms are spacious and well equipped and breakfast is very good value (can recommend the English style cooked breakfast served in its own frying pan). Will not stay anywhere else in Shanghai now, and already looking forward to my next visit in October !!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have just stayed at the Indigo for 5 nights. It was a fantastic experience
I had requested a room with river views on a high floor after reading advice from Trip Advisor.
When we checked in they did not have the requested room and after a (gentle) push upgraded us to a suite. Top marks to the hotel for making this decision without fuss.

Our room was so enjoyable. The room was light and the view superb. It was so different to the average hotel room, the furnishings are rather funky but at the same time comfortable. Great bed looking at the view of the river and Pudong. The bath also looked out at the view.
Tea making facilities are a welcome bonus, not available in all hotels
It is worth swimming in the pool with a view.

The foyer is so welcoming, again rather different to the normal hotel which can often be predictable. The staff were at all times helpful and very friendly.

It is a little further down the Bund from the activity area and Nanjing Rd but that made no difference to us. The view was so worthwhile that a 20 minute walk to the Yu gardens Metro station was no problem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great hotel with excellent facilities. The view looking along the Huangpu river with The Bund on one side and the Pudong region on the other is spectacular particularly at night.
The nearest Metro station is a 20 minute walk, if that is a concern. The Metro is the best and cheapest way to travel around Shanghai. Having said that, taxi's are cheap. Using taxis is not a problem leaving from the hotel. For other journeys make sure you have a good map clearly indicating where you want to go. The taxi ride from the Maglev Station to the hotel is about 40 Yuan. Watch out for touts who want to take your luggage and bundle you into a taxi that wants to charge 300+ Yuan!
Incidentally, the Maglev train is the quickest way to the city, travelling at 300 kph.

Room Tip: North or East side rooms preferred for the view. North East or North West corner rooms have even mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Exceeded our expectations . Amazing corner room - spacious , modern , funky .
Concierge service - valuable help . Char Grill restuarant - world class .( Australian head chef )
Views down the river , down the Bund made this hotel stay amazing .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Hotel Indigo in Shanghai was one of our splurges on our round the world trip and it met and exceeded expectations! The hotel is relatively new, only having been open 3 years and is very modern, unique, comfortable and the staff were very helpful at every turn. We booked a standard deluxe room with a king bed and the room was well decorated and had all the amenities you expect from a hotel. The power points were universal, which was a change to having to scrounge around for adapters in hotels in Japan, the rain shower was massive, tv was equipped with many international channels and the bed was heaven... Mini bar and laundry was on the expensive side for China, but our stay was only short.

The hotel is located on the start of The Bund walkway along the Huangpu River and allows you to see traditional streets and modern shopping all in one place. The hotel also offers things above and beyond most hotels - TV booths that you can reserve to watch movies and a very helpful concierge took the cake for me. We travelled to remote China the next day and not knowing a word of English we asked the hotel to help us book bus tickets. Not only did they do that, they sent one of their staff to the bus station with us to ensure that we got there on time and got on the right bus. I wouldn't stay anywhere else if I visited Shanghai again...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel has got to be one of the more unique hotels that I have stayed at.

Was checked into room 1109 as recommended by the manager (who I must say is a great sales man). Absolutely stunning view. The room was spacious, and the bathroom was spacious too.

The rooftop bar overlooking the bund is a definate must. Not just for hotel guests but also for tourists.

One draw back: the concierge doesn't really know as much as they should know.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce_au, Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Gaurav K,

Thank you for your great comments about the hotel indigo shanghai ! We are delighted that you have enjoyed your room which was recommended by Jackson, one of our service star with great personality ! Your comments has been shared among the team during our staff gathering and it is absolutly encourging.

We also noted that your feedback about concierge service, our sincere apology that the service did not meet up our guest expectation. Rest assure that "be curious" is part of our hotel indigo service behavior to consistently help our guest exploring our neighborhood, we will definately look into it to ensure the improvment of our concierge service.

Thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back in many ocassions.

Philip - hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Address: No.585 Zhongshan East Second Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, Hotel Indigo's first property in Asia Pacific, sits directly on the Huangpu river front, Hotel Indigo assures not only spectacular views of both the historic Bund and dramatic Pudong skylines, but an upscale boutique hotel experience where the focus is on inspired service, fresh and vibrant design reflecting the local neighborhood, and providing guests with an authentic taste of today's shanghai, where old and new converge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.