We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.585 Zhongshan East Second Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China (The Bund)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 3,845 Hotels in Shanghai
New Delhi, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I was in Shanghai for a brief business trip and stayed here for 2 nights. The magic of the hotel starts with the location: a 10 minute riverside walk to the Bund area, and excellent river views from around the hotel.

The rooms are sensational. Kitted out with all the latest electronics, they still retain character. A highlight is the shower and bath area: bigger than most hotel rooms in big cities! And with a TV...

The coffee shop served excellent food and had decent variety, both local and international.

However, the real highlight of the hotel is the Char Bar , on the 30th Floor. Great cocktails and wines. And the terrace offers an absolutely breathtaking view of the Shanghai & Pudong skylines. Magical!

Finally, the 7th floor gym and pool area. The treadmills overlook the river. And so does the pool, which is indoor. Though I do wish that the water was a bit warmed up!

Overall , an excellent experience and I'll certainly stay there next time I am in Shanghai.

Room Tip: Ask for a river facing room; but be prepared for loud foghorns! Alternatively, they have some rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    160
    32
    11
    3
See reviews for
85
250
45
266
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Booked a favourable rate for this hotel and on arrival was prompted to upgrade to a corner Pudong view room across the Huangpu River. Accepted and at a total of £100 per night thought the upgrade was just about worth it. We were given 6 free drinks coupons for the Quay dining room on the 6th floor, which was a nice welcoming touch.

Room was a very good size with twin beds and very good views of the Bund from all rooms. Beds were very comfy and the bathroom had his and her sinks, a spacious bathroom with bath and high tech pressure shower. Complimentary products were of a high standard. The toilet was high tech with various bidet options and a heated seat!

Mini bar prices were high but at least one could remove items and chill ones own beer-sourced from a nearby "shop" on Waixiangua St. 600ml Tsingtaou beer at 3RMB. This is around the corner from the China bank on Dongmen Rd. where there is a 24hr ATM.
UHT milk is in the bar for coffee, but one can ask for real milk which is free.

On the fourth and fifth nights we were given complimentary "nightcaps" of brandy in the room which was a nice touch.

Bar and dining.
Char roof top bar has an outside area, which gives great views of the Bund etc and we visited here a couple of times. Drinks are expensive but the view is good. They have a happy hour -more later on this .
Another dining option is the uber posh Char restaurant-way out of my league so we did not visit.

Location
At the far South end of the Bund at the cross roads of Zhongshan South Road and Domgmen Rd. 15 minutes walk to Yuyuan Gardens, 20-30 minute walk up the Bund to East Nanjing Rd.

Transport
Bus stop nearby -Shi Liu Pu (Zhongshan South Road East Gate Road)
Buses 65 and 55 (2RMB) go to stop Zhongshan East 1st Road Nanjing East Road (Nanjing East Road the Bund) from which it's a 2 minute walk to the East Nanjing metro stop and start of the pedestrianised shopping area.

The expensive Big Bus tour also has a stop here £30 for 24hrs of hop-on\off. Covers a lot of Shanghai so if time is tight and you want to see ALL of Shanghai this may be for you.
Cheaper option is the City Sightseeing bus at £3.00

Dining
Quay is on the 6th floor and does Breakfast (150RMB) (didn't have) and also evening meals. Ate here twice and found the food to be good (as is the view) though small portions -but the service to be dire. Meals arrive at different times on cold plates and my partners starter + main were served together. Trying to pay the bill is tortuously slow. Eat somewhere else IMHO.

Drinks
Char bar
Good view, expensive drinks. Service was attentive and (mostly) friendly. One night went during the Happy hour as advertised in the room. Staff member tried to deny this when paying the bill-after several implausible excuses he flew off in a tantrum. The experience was rescued by JEFFERY and Aussie barman who smoothed things over and was very amiable.

Overall our best hotel stay in China with very good rooms, excellent views and (mostly) friendly staff.
Location is not perfect and dining options are a little disappointing but I would recommend this hotel and will stay again when in Shanghai.
Visited April 2013.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor. Consider the upgrade to a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Good location as the hotel is located next to the bund! Outstanding design and spectacular view from the room. Huge room & huge bathroom/bathtub — utilize all spaces with many unique furnitures. The amazing scene from bathtub / bed definitely make you relax and calm from a busy day.

The breakfast served with very unique "bento box" and colourful cups, plates, bottle, it makes my day!

Very good services from the hotel staff especially the efficiency for cab arrangement.

I would like to suggest if the hotel can consider to change the chairs at business centre (not too comfortable to sit if you stay longer), but still love the design.

Just a little problem that we have encounter - internet connection, not very stable especially on the mobile.

Room Tip: Get the river view room and you won't regret!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We read all the reviews and then booked. We had 2 rooms both overlooking the river. Beautiful!!! The room decor was absoloutely charming. Chinese touches with a European flair the result was fantastic. Very modern but wonderfully incorparated with the decor. Scrupously clean . The bathroom itself was a marvel! The bathtub was in a space as big as some hotel rooms, all glass walls overlooking rhe river, a tv on the wall. You just loll around in your bathtub and watch the river come to life or rhe beautiful glittering lights in the evenings, reception area is rather small and does not give you an idea of what a treat you are in for! the wc brought much excitement
To our boys, fully automatic heated seats and much more!! The bar with an open terrace
Was the place to be after dark. Standing out on the terrace you got to see for miles across the
Bund and the other side. Quite an experience! Service was good and staff helpful. The only
Aspect of the hotel we found dissapointing , was the food. it could do with improvement.

Room Tip: The rooms over the water are an experience more expensive but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Due to my wife becoming ill on the cruise ship Volendam we had to disembark at Shanghai and rushed to hospital where my wife underwent an emergency operation ( gall bladder ) remaining in hospital for seven days. She was not allowed to fly for a further week . All in all my wife had not seen daylight for over two weeks.On reviewing trip advisor to obtain a suitable hotel where my wife could at least look out of a window and see something of the city , would at least salvage something of our holiday .I contacted the hotel directly and was put through to Helen the sales director and explained our circumstance. Helen could not have been more helpful and personally arranged our booking and told us to arrive at our convenience following hospital discharge. From the moment we arrived until we departed some five days later and without any fuss the care and consideration provided was second to none. The corner room on the 25th floor was fantastic and the views over the city and bund must be the best Shanghai has to offer.Having spent a week between a ships hospital and a cabin and a further week in a hospital bed - the hotel bed was the best ever ( not just saying but genuinely ) and such a relief for my wifewho was in some discomfort. Due to the nature of my wifes condition she was on a strict fat free diet. The exec. chef Julie from Australia and the restaurant manager Christine from France were always on hand to suggest and prepare appetising dishes having not eaten for two weeks.On the morning of our departure 5.30am two packed breakfasts were waiting for us at reception.

The hotel provided us with a wheelchair for the duration which enabled me to take my wife around and see some of the old and new Shanghai. Must also mention Smith the doorman who assisted with the wheel chair and his welcoming smile.


The location of this hotel is superb and the staff who provide the service are simply " the best ".

We wouild have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone who appreciates quality and service.Thank you all for making our stay in Shanghaia memorable one.

Donald & Gloria

Glasgow ,Scotland

Room Tip: Higher floors ( corner ) looking up the bund and the river traffic are out of this world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce_au, Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Donald & Gloria,

Very warm greeting from south bund shanghai ! Hope you all had wonderful trip home.

Thank you so much for your comments, team and myself are very delighted and encouraged especially for Helen, Julie, Christine and Smith. we look forward to having you back with us for another neighborehood experinece, and taking a trip to Highland, Scotland is something which we are all very much desire for.

Many thanks

Philip and the hotel indigo team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

So good we stayed there twice!

This was our second trip to Shanghai as point of entry and exit to China during a three week trip, and we stayed at the Indigo both times. The rooms were amazing, admittedly we did upgrade to a corner room, but the extra size and fantastic views were worth every penny.

The rooms are very well equipped, super bath and separate shower. Fab tv and sound system, plus free wifi. We could have stayed in the room for ages, but Shanghai has so much to offer.

The location is great, very easy to walk to the Bund, or the very helpful staff will have a taxi for you within seconds, and the taxis in shanghai are so cheap!

Breakfast was fantastic, but for a real treat visit the Char bar and restaurant. Not cheap, but exceptional food and cocktails, with amazing views.

Next time we return to Shanghai it will be the place we will defiantly stay in.

Great start and end to our trip.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIlson, NC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Having been a first-time visitor to China and a little apprehensive I was very pleased with the location, service, and cleanliness of this hotel. While looking for a "Holiday Inn" to try and use some points I came upon this diamond -- amazingly it cost me less to stay four nights in this magnificent place (points) than it would have at most places in the US! What a wonderful rewards program Holiday Inn has. The staff spoke excellent English and were extremely helpful in offering assistance in many instances. The bar and restaurants in the hotel had excellent choices for both Western and Chinese tastes. Although things were a bit pricey - you got excellent service as well as food. Having not been able to gain an agreeable liking to true Chinese cuisine this hotel offered me some options - thank goodness! The rooms were fairly big (Chinese decor) and the scenery on the Bund and into the city were simply amazing - especially at night!! I highly recommend this location should you be traveling to Shanghai in the future. The Bund historic district and noteworthy shopping area are all within a good walking distance. Local tours (English speaking) picked us up in the lobby (on time!) and were able to give us educational and enjoyable passage around the city.

Room Tip: The higher up you can get the better views of the Bund!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Address: No.585 Zhongshan East Second Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 3,845 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, Hotel Indigo's first property in Asia Pacific, sits directly on the Huangpu river front, Hotel Indigo assures not only spectacular views of both the historic Bund and dramatic Pudong skylines, but an upscale boutique hotel experience where the focus is on inspired service, fresh and vibrant design reflecting the local neighborhood, and providing guests with an authentic taste of today's shanghai, where old and new converge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Ctrip DaoDao, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.