We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary Views of the magnificent Shanghai!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.585 Zhongshan East Second Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China (The Bund)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 3,740 hotels in Shanghai
WIlson, NC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Views of the magnificent Shanghai!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Having been a first-time visitor to China and a little apprehensive I was very pleased with the location, service, and cleanliness of this hotel. While looking for a "Holiday Inn" to try and use some points I came upon this diamond -- amazingly it cost me less to stay four nights in this magnificent place (points) than it would have at most places in the US! What a wonderful rewards program Holiday Inn has. The staff spoke excellent English and were extremely helpful in offering assistance in many instances. The bar and restaurants in the hotel had excellent choices for both Western and Chinese tastes. Although things were a bit pricey - you got excellent service as well as food. Having not been able to gain an agreeable liking to true Chinese cuisine this hotel offered me some options - thank goodness! The rooms were fairly big (Chinese decor) and the scenery on the Bund and into the city were simply amazing - especially at night!! I highly recommend this location should you be traveling to Shanghai in the future. The Bund historic district and noteworthy shopping area are all within a good walking distance. Local tours (English speaking) picked us up in the lobby (on time!) and were able to give us educational and enjoyable passage around the city.

Room Tip: The higher up you can get the better views of the Bund!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    604
    152
    31
    10
    2
See reviews for
81
234
42
244
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I spent a weekend in this hotel with my family. The room are good and the view is indeed quite unique. However, we were very disappointed by the management of this hotel. I had an argument with the payment of a breakfast that was supposed to be included in the room rate (but not in the bedroom). The amount was very low especially given the money we spent in their restaurant and bars. However their attitude was really not at the level of such hotel. So much choice for hotels in Shanghai... I can't recommend this one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We debated for ages trying to select the right hotel in Shanghai and we were so glad that we chose the Indigo.

The place is awesome, with amazing views across to the Bund, we had a river facing room, the room was awesome and one of the most comfortable beds we have slept in and the decor was very modern and unique.

The breakfast spread was fantastic, staff super friendly and well trained. It's the little things that make a difference. A special shout out to Christine the restaurant manager.

Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel.. Breakfast one of the best... Room very comfortable.. Taxi around the city very reasonable.. Hire a tour guide but not a car.. Use the taxi's for the city tour.. You can walk to the old city... Less than 15 minutes. Good shopping ..fabric market 5 minutes walk ... Not cheap but a good choice

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund is simply stunning. From the moment we were greeted at the front door our experience was amazing, friendly and efficient. The lobby is inviting and has an impressive "art" theme - I understand they change the art (paintings, installations, sculptures on a monthly basis)...would love to see next month. The rooms are gorgeous and have a subtle Asian feel, the beds are wonderfully comfortable and you have a choice of pillows (gotta love that). The bathrooms are spacious and the toilets can be heated (if you so desire) and have a few novelty functions that my sister loved. Christine (the Assistant Manager) couldn't have been more helpful and was always there to greet us with a smile, interesting options for a days outing around Shanghai, and if it was the end of the day she knew exactly what we wanted...two tall glasses of gin and tonic with plenty of lime and ice (thanks Christine).

The breakfast area is well designed, super cool and the food delicious - plenty of choices to chose from. Again, this area had the "art" theme, which really impressed us, and two groovy cocoons with a rather large day bed in each that you enjoy the view, read the paper/watch televison or just chill.

The pool area (although we didn't use it) was again very impressive and the gym was clean, bright and had plenty of equipment available.

The only problem I now have is .... I want to move in permanently!

Thanks for making our stay so memorable and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Very clean, great service and great location. Getting a taxi is easy. Location on the bund but not in the hustle and busstle of the bund. Very helpful and considerate staff who genuinely care about the guests. Rooms are very clean, great beds and pillows, showers, good views from hotel room. Could do with a with club lounge after hard days work. I have stayed at Indigo the last three trips to shanghai. Evene when travelling an hour away for work we go back to the hotel at night as we find we have a great rest. Breakfast is excellent, the staff are extremely considerate, the chef has come out after spending so much time at this hotel and has even prepared us some snacks to take with us knowing our required travel commitments, this level of service I have never received in any hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

I don't think I have said this before but 10 out of 10.
Great views, Great room size, Great service, Great Coffee, Great food. Last and most importantly absolutely fantastic soft bed and slept like a baby!
We stayed here after a 10 day trip of China, which included some different styles of transport and accommodation. So it was wonderful to finish the tour on a very positive note. We arrived early 9am after arriving on the Xian overnight train and the staff were eager to assist and help settle us in quickly by offering shower and coffee.
Tip, roof top bar is a must during the day for a photo. There is no one there and you have great views.
Suited mainly to business and couples but families would find it very comfortable as well.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Address: No.585 Zhongshan East Second Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 3,740 hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, Hotel Indigo's first property in Asia Pacific, sits directly on the Huangpu river front, Hotel Indigo assures not only spectacular views of both the historic Bund and dramatic Pudong skylines, but an upscale boutique hotel experience where the focus is on inspired service, fresh and vibrant design reflecting the local neighborhood, and providing guests with an authentic taste of today's shanghai, where old and new converge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.