We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Shanghai, China, Nice Hotel, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.585 Zhongshan East Second Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China (The Bund)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 913 Reviews
Guadalajara, Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Shanghai, China, Nice Hotel, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is a very nice Hotel, if you are looking for a quiet location, no many people around, close to the excursion boats, just in the river and very nice views to Pudong.

Not very close to shopping areas and restaurants, shows, bars, or discos.

The place is a kind of a large boutique hotel, good breaksfast, nice bar at the top 34th floor, not easy to communicate with the staff, because not every body speak english, They look to charge you as much they can, I try to get a upgrade with the Platinum Priority Club card and I got nothing.

The rate is the same or higher than other hotels in the shopping and walking area-

Room Tip: Ask for Rooms with a view to the river, it is more expensive but it worth,s .!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    177
    33
    13
    3
See reviews for
92
259
48
289
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Hotel Indigo is a small, funky top quality hotel on the Bund in Shanghai. Service, amenities, restaurants and bar with amazing views of the Bund are second to none.

If your looking to somewhere cool to stay and are over staying with the large hotel chains, then Indigo is a must to try - you will not be disappointed.

A steak at Char Grill where you get to select your "special" steak knife, followed by a drink at Char Bar will keep a smile on your face.

Room Tip: Corner room are a little larger - with a nicer layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My friend and I stayed separately in deluxe and premiere rooms for 2 nights in January. Both rooms are beautiful, unique and very Shanghainese. I liked the rooms a lot, which were also spotlessly clean.

Service was generally mediocre at best, though there was a less senior male host with glasses with impeccable service. We were surprised when we were asked to head down to the lobby at 1am to get new room keys because we requested a 4pm checkout, instead of sending it up to us.

When we went down to the lobby, there was no one at all, so we decided to sit down by the front desk and timed how long till someone came out. It took 10 minutes, but it was only when the phone rang (I suspect it's security informing the front desk 2 guests are waiting for service). While we were waiting, I was appalled to find the entire hotel's guest list with names, room numbers and I think phone numbers placed on the front desk visible to everyone.

We also ordered room service at 2am, and was shocked to find that only roughly 10% of the already minimal late night menu items (10% of the full menu) were available. The guy taking orders barely spoke English and shamelessly said no to everything I tried to order.

The hotel is actually located at the far end of the Bund, which I had trouble believing it is actually inside the Bund.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce_au, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hello mobarnone,

Firstly many thanks for taking the time to review Hotel Indigo on tripadvisor. We are very glad that you enjoyed our room.

We take constructive feedback seriously and reviewed a number of areas that you mentioned with team members at Indigo. It is not acceptable that there was no one at the reception desk at 2 am and this situation has been reviewed and the team members that worked that night have been counselled accordingly.
We also reviewed the "Home delivery" situation that night. Its is true that the menu is more limited after midnight however we maintain a high quality selection of both western (6 dishes) and local Chinese favourites (4) plus desserts. The pasta selection should always be available and we apologize for the fact that it was not when you ordered.

Our location is in fact on the southern edge of the Bund (or embankment) which spans 2.5 kilometers along the Huangpu River in Shanghai. This gives us unparalleled views of the river, the Bund, Yu Gardens and Pudong.

Once again we appreciate that you took time to give us your feedback

very best from the indigo team

Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed at Indigo for 3 nights. Very impressed by extremely attentive service, generous rooms, outstanding breakfast buffet and attention to detail. Staff went out of their way to be helpful. In good weather, a stunning walk along the river to M-on-the-Bund where the Literary Festival took place.

Room Tip: Get a high floor with a view towards the Bund. Spectacular views from 2707 e.a.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights during a work trip and it was really good. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was very tastefully decorated. Very good location as well. It's a little pricey but its really worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Should be 10 stars!

We found this hotel last year when we ate at Char (which is similarly excellent) but never stayed. This year we booked again for dinner at Char in order to celebrate our anniversary. What set this hotel apart from all the others not only in Shanghai but elsewhere in the world was the service we received.

Barthelemy assisted us from the moment we first booked the restaurant and in total I received over 10 emails from him to ensure that the reservation was exactly what we wanted and no detail was overlooked. This in turn led us to book at the hotel for one night. Our agent booked us in for the wrong night and where as some hotels would view this as an opportunity to take free money Berthelemy went way beyond expectations to help us resolve the issue with minimum of fuss and stress. This is the mark of world class service, training and customer focus.

Wow!!! What a hotel. NY Soho and London cool hits Shanghai chic. Some hotels advertise designer this and that. Indigo just exudes cool and style. The minute you enter the lobby you are hit with a feast of colour and design. No detail is too small and the welcome is genuine. When we checked in the receptionist knew our names, the time of our dinner reservation, our preferences without prompting. Checkin was fast smooth and efficient.

The rooms are incredible. Book a Pudong river view room and savour the vista. We have stayed in 10-15 hotels in Shanghai and they do not even come close. The bed - huge. Choice of pillow - check. Easy chairs and table for snacks and drinks - of course. The bathroom is incredible with floor to ceiling views of the river and bund with a great egg chair to sit and enjoy the view. A beautiful free standing bath sits in the middle with should you so choose a TV. Everything is decorated in true boutique chic including two gorgeous lanterns which serve as bed side lights.

Other facilities - international satellite channels, pretty much all of them. Extremely fast FREE broadband WiFi.

The rooftop bar probably offers the best views of the bund outside of the private clubs directly on the banks of the river. The drinks are cool, reasonably priced and genuinely excellent.

Downsides - there are none.

I could go on gushing about Hotel Indigo but I will leave it to you to book and find out for yourselves. All I can say is that I have only ever experienced courtesy and helpfulness like this once before and that hotel was 3 times the price of this one and part of the Mandarin Oriental Group. We will never stay anywhere else in Shanghai now.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the River View room. You have come this far - it is so worth it. Book into Char...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Its my fourth time staying at Indigo Shanghai. Its like a second home when I go to Shanghai. I love the cozy and contemporary design of the guest room. Most of all I enjoy that magnificent million dollar view of the amazing skyline of shanghai whilst soaking in the bathtub ! The breakfast buffet has a good spread with an interesting choice of main courses presented in a beautiful way. I also enjoyed the bar which I would go every evening after my meetings if I have the chance. The view of the shanghai skyline at dusk is breathe taking. As for service, the staff is always attentive. Strongly recommended if you are in shanghai

Room Tip: If you can, chose the room with the view of the bund
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Address: No.585 Zhongshan East Second Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, Hotel Indigo's first property in Asia Pacific, sits directly on the Huangpu river front, Hotel Indigo assures not only spectacular views of both the historic Bund and dramatic Pudong skylines, but an upscale boutique hotel experience where the focus is on inspired service, fresh and vibrant design reflecting the local neighborhood, and providing guests with an authentic taste of today's shanghai, where old and new converge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.