We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms/View.... Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.585 Zhongshan East Second Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China (The Bund)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 3,741 hotels in Shanghai
Montreal, Qc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great rooms/View.... Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I would have given this hotel a 5 star review, but because of an issue encountered with their front desk staff and the restaurant, I had to hold back.

First, the good points: We booked a premium, river view room. The room was spotless, in great condition, well decorated. The bed was very comfortable (Not hard like other Asian hotel beds). The bathrooms were also spacious, and the shower with a view was a nice touch. Electronic toilet with all the bells and whistles.

Great in room tea and coffee selection. They had a french press with real coffee, not the ubiquitous Nescafe you find all over Asia. This scored big points for me.

Location is good (although not great). 20 min walk to the Bund, 10 minute walk to the Old Shanghai area where you can find restaurants, coffee and tea places, shops and fast food places.

Proximity to metro: about 20 minute walk (not so great in the winter).

Bad points: Some issues with the heating system. Had to crank it up to 26.5 to get any sort of heating. But after a few hours, the room was warm enough.

Biggest problem: Inconsistencies with front desk and restaurant. On the day we arrived, we asked the front desk staff what the cost was for breakfast. We were told it was 200 RMB for 2 people + 15%. That works out to be 115 RMB per person, which was reasonable.

Next morning we go for breakfast, and at first, we were not so impressed with the choices. Very few Chinese breakfast options, and mostly just bread and fruit. For eggs, we had to ask the waitress.

Bill arrives and it's 430RMB. We signed off and said we'll deal with this later (perhaps that was our mistake - should have dealt with it then).

Upon checkout, I asked the front desk staff if there was a mistake with the breakfast bill. I said that I asked the price, and was told it would be 200 RMB + 15%. Turns out, I was charged the "Rack Rate"... Which comes out to be 35 USD/person... a ridiculous amount for a buffet breakfast.

The front desk told me that if I wanted the 200RMB price, I had to ask for it! Which I find completely absurd. When we asked what the price was initially, we were not told it was a special, nor that we had to "reserve the special". After several minutes of back and forth with the manager, who then called the restaurant manager, they corrected the amount and charged us the 200+15%.

Having worked in the service industry myself for many years, I believe this hotel's management needs to take a serious look at how the front desk and restaurant work together. I get that they may be separate businesses, but more coordination is needed.

This fiasco really soured the experience, which would have been stellar.

I do thank the hotel for taking corrective measure to fix our bill, but considering the situation, and the fact that they kept insisting it was our fault for not "booking the special price", they should have comped the whole amount as a gesture of good faith.

Room Tip: Choose a premium room with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce_au, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hello LuayG,

Firstly thank you for taking some time to feedback on your experiences at our hotel. Glad of course that your experience was mostly positive. We are always disappointed when a guest feels that our service has not been up to their expectation as in the breakfast charges mix up that you experienced.
The special price available at our front desk is something we offer if the guest pays in advance (on check in) - a reduction in the normal price like any advance purchase offer. Clearly this part of the offer was not clearly communicated by the team and I will ensure that this incident is shared with all our hosts to ensure it doesn't happen again. The original price you paid was in fact correct and is our "rack" breakfast price - it is well inline with breakfast in upscale Shanghai and in fact Asia wide hotels. Our breakfast at Hotel Indigo is not strictly a buffet - in our open kitchen area we serve a large variety of fresh fruits, home baked pastries (and breads), cold meats and cheeses, many different cereals, yoghurts and fresh juices, a cold noodle bar and congee. On top of this an included in the price we a wide range of western and chinese a la carte items (including all types of cooked eggs) - cooked fresh to order to ensure the best freshness.
We also offer a full Illy espresso service and local Bund Tea Company teas.

Your comment about front office and the cafe being separate business's is interesting - at Indigo we actually have those teams crossing over - the lack of correct communication is something we will definitely take on board.........again many thanks for your feedback

Best from the Bund in Shanghai

Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    606
    152
    31
    10
    2
See reviews for
81
234
42
244
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I was totally wowed by the brand! First of all, this hotel targets itself at 4 Stars - no extravaganza about the service, just real, practical and welcoming staff.

The lobby and room are chic and eclectic which you can never tell from merely the outside of the building. I could stay in the room for the whole day! It's cozy and comfy. The gym was just magnificent - running on the treadmill with a panoramic view of the other side of the Bund? You'd end up exercising your fore-arms and biceps from taking shots of the views. No jokes.

Location wise is good and bad. Good: it's on the Bund - one of the historical parts of Shanghai, great view to the financial district (the Oriental Pearl Tower); Bad: it's at the end of the Bund, which is not quite reachable by public transports other than taxis. The hotel is located right at the corner of the modern side and broken down side of Shanghai. My suggestions: grab a cab or just walk along the Bund!

I am officially in love with this hotel and the brand!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce_au, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
hi JKWHO,

Thank you for your great review........the team, both ours and our global indigo colleagues will be thrilled to know we have an "indigo fan" !

We are also delighted you enjoyed FIT our gym. For those guests who like to work out it is indeed inspiring to run on a treadmill virtually on the river and looking at the Pudong architecture.

we hope to see you again

best from Shanghai

Bruce and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is my first stay at this Intercontinental property, a unique boutique hotel. First of all, the location is great both in term of the view and close vicinity to some major sightseeing attractions as it is right located on the north of the bund. I stayed at Premier Bund view room (after I did an upgrade from deluxe bund view room )The rooms's nicely appointed, unlike like most standard western 5-start hotel rooms,it is uniquely decorated & furnished - (e.g. on both side of bed, it has lantern-like lamp whose intensity can be adjusted according to your preference ), making it a very good choice for couples. The room I stayed offers great, if not breathtaking view of the bund as well as Pu dong Skyline. Make sure you you for Premier bund view room (not Deluxe bund view,which only offers limited view of partial Huang Pu river facing Pu Dong,). A nice touch is that room's equipped with Bose FM &IPOD ready stereo system.

It has a bar/lounge on the top floor (or near the top) of the hotel, on the patio, again, you will be impressed with the view of the bund.

The breakfast selections are OK, considering this is not intercontinental hotel.(meaning, don't expect lavish buffet breakfast you expected from a luxury 5-star hotel). It's semi-buffet, meaning it has self-sever some cold cuts, drinks.., you have to order the hot meal (if breakfast is included in your room rate, you can order one of the hot meals on the menu ).

There are some shortcomings I experienced during my stay:
1. The shower in the bathroom just didn't have enough pressure.
2. The room was kind of cold despite the fact I'd turned the Air-con temperature to the maximum (I don't think it was working properly)

Room Tip: Premier Bund View Room (not Deluxe Bund view room). it offers your much better view of the bund.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

A great hotel on the Bund. Great size rooms, comfortable beds and free wifi. The staff are really helpful and you have two restaurants within the hotel. The hotel bar is a must with great views and good cocktails.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The best value for money in the Bund. The hotel is on the river with panoramic views, its 10 minute walk from the financial center of the Bund, rooms are large and very well furnished with a nice modern touch, the shower room is huge with excellent shower equipment and the prices are very, very reasonable.
Very strongly recommend it

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were upgraded to a corner room on the 25th floor. The floor-to-ceiling windows gave us incredible views of Pudong, the Bund, and the river. At night, it was spectacular. The room was large (even a walk-in closet) and beautifully decorated. On the wall behind the king-sized bed, was a giant photo blow-up of a beautiful old building in the Old Town, adjacent to the hotel. The desk (with free wi-fi) was beautifully designed and flowed into a chaise lounge perfectly placed to enjoy the views. The large, marble bathroom had a glass-enclosed room that was a rain shower with a large tub. The window looked out on the river, but no need to close the blinds, the nearest voyeur would be a mile away, on the other side of the river.
The hotel corridors and room doors are light colored wood. The lobby is very modern and artistically designed. The whimsical statues brought smiles every time we went through the lobby. We had breakfast included in our rate. The restaurant had the same views as our room, but on a lower floor. The buffet was very varied, with asian and western choices, and made-to-order egg dishes. The staff throughout the hotel are gracious and very helpful. This was the best hotel experience we have ever had, and it was not expensive by today's standards.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This hotel is worth the price for its view (dude, we had a floor to ceiling window in our HUGE shower). The restaurant is supposed to be amazing, but we didn't get the chance to try it. All in all, even if you can't afford it, at least drop in to the lobby to see the cool design and art installations.

Room Tip: Of course, a bund view is the best. I can't remember which room type we have, just ask for the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Address: No.585 Zhongshan East Second Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 3,741 hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, Hotel Indigo's first property in Asia Pacific, sits directly on the Huangpu river front, Hotel Indigo assures not only spectacular views of both the historic Bund and dramatic Pudong skylines, but an upscale boutique hotel experience where the focus is on inspired service, fresh and vibrant design reflecting the local neighborhood, and providing guests with an authentic taste of today's shanghai, where old and new converge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.